LumberJocks

Liogier Joinery Float

  • Advertise with us
Review by rdwile posted 02-26-2013 01:09 PM 2761 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Liogier Joinery Float No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I was asked a few months back to review a new tool for Liogier rasps from France. They were thinking of starting a line of joinery floats and wanted the opinions of some users to refine the product before offering it for sale.

I am pleased to see some of my feedback was incorporated into the final design which is now available for sale.

These tools were very popular in days of yore, I think the reason is that they are so easy to use, modern woodworkers do not commonly use these, I think this should change. A float is much easier for general joinery work than other options. As in the video, its easy to adjust the sides of mortises and cheeks of tenons, because of its substantial flat surface making it easier to register and stay flat in use.

And yes I paid for this float.

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/




View rdwile's profile

rdwile

141 posts in 865 days



9 comments so far

View lysdexic's profile

lysdexic

4892 posts in 1377 days


#1 posted 02-26-2013 01:37 PM

Thanks for teaching me something. I can easily see the value.

-- It isn't the mountains ahead to climb that wear you out; it's the pebble in your shoe. - Muhammad Ali

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4351 posts in 1802 days


#2 posted 02-26-2013 01:57 PM

Thank you for the review and the teaching,
Before the video, I had no idea what a float is made for.

-- Bert

View Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist's profile

Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist

5281 posts in 2062 days


#3 posted 02-26-2013 03:39 PM

Good info…I have several rasps that I occasionally use when shaping boxes and they are most useful. I also have have some huge massive rasps that never get used but make good wall decorations.
I also never heard of a rasp being called a float. To me a float has Ice Cream in it….

-- Each step of every Wood Art project I design and build is considered my masterpieceā€¦ because I want the finished product to reflect the quality and creativeness of my work

View rdwile's profile

rdwile

141 posts in 865 days


#4 posted 02-26-2013 03:58 PM

mmmm – ice cream….

Not sure how they got named. I have a number of flat rasps that I often try to use on flat surfaces with mixed results, this is very much like a file, it is easy to know when it is flat on your surface as all the ridges are exactly the same height.

I have wall decoration tools also, this is not one of them, I am finding new uses all the time for this tool.

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/

View Arminius's profile

Arminius

304 posts in 2557 days


#5 posted 02-26-2013 09:12 PM

The difference between a rasp and a float is rasps have multiple teeth over any given cross-section, and generally the more irregular the spacing the better the finish. Floats are more like files with a single rip saw tooth at any given cross-section.

No idea what the origin of the term ‘float’ is.

View StephenPrunier's profile

StephenPrunier

19 posts in 815 days


#6 posted 02-27-2013 08:50 PM

Great, now I have another tool to buy! LOL

P.S. Do you live any where near Bridgewater N.S.? My nephew plays hockey for the Lumberjacks, not to be confused with the Lumberjocks! LOL

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11688 posts in 2442 days


#7 posted 02-28-2013 01:10 AM

Thanks for the video and the schooling : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View rdwile's profile

rdwile

141 posts in 865 days


#8 posted 02-28-2013 05:20 PM

I am very pleased to see that others see the value in this new/old tool, it is a lot easier to control and get predictable results than say a paring chisel or a shoulder plane on smaller surfaces and deeper mortises. It is very hard to screw up with this tool, and very easy to get repeatable results. I think other makers offer and will be expanding the availability as popularity increases.

Stephen – I am near Halifax which is about an hour’s drive from Bridgewater.

-- Richard D. Wile, http://richard-wile.blogspot.ca/

View cagenuts's profile

cagenuts

35 posts in 974 days


#9 posted 05-01-2013 11:05 AM

If you have ever floated a concrete floor then you will know that to float is to smooth, hence the name. Used originally to smooth wooden planes.

-- Weekend Wood Wrecker

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase