« back to Woodworking Trade & Swap forum
| Forum topic by RVroman | posted 156 days ago | 1101 views | 0 times favorited | 11 replies | ![]() |
![]() |
|
156 days ago |
Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with the Machinery Max auction site? I had never heard of them, and they were mentioned in another thread http://lumberjocks.com/topics/44136> There are a couple of things I am interested in at a decent price, but I am not sure if this is a reputable site or not. -- Robert --- making toothpicks one 3x3x12 blank at a time! |
11 replies so far
|
#1 posted 156 days ago |
I have bought a couple of machines through that site. The site takes a 10% premium from both buyer and seller. They do answer the phone. Among the worst case scenarios are the seller won’t honor In one case I paid cash when I picked up the machine. In |
|
#2 posted 156 days ago |
Thanks. It was actually your post in the jointer thread that led me to the site. :-) -- Robert --- making toothpicks one 3x3x12 blank at a time! |
|
#3 posted 156 days ago |
They are my neighbor and yes they are reputable. I just bought a Shopsmith with bandsaw and jointer today for $100. If you look at some of my past posts, I also bought 12,000 BF of hardwood from them for $1700. This site is great for me because if stuff is heavy, they bring it down to my shop on a forklift. But if you have to get it delivered, then shipping really adds to the price. Not all of their stuff is at their main warehouse in Tracy, CA. Everything I bought came from there, but you’ll see that some of those items are all over the Country. -- Mark Smith, Tracy, CA., http://www.markscustomwoodcrafts.com |
|
#4 posted 155 days ago |
I’ve been getting their emails for a long time. over a year at least i think. Problem is all the stuff is over on the west side of the continent and i’m on the east. Don’t know anything else about them. -- In the end, when your life flashes before your eyes, will you like what you see? |
|
#5 posted 155 days ago |
Can we keep these little jewels a secret? -- Oldworld, Fair Oaks, Ca |
|
#6 posted 155 days ago |
John, I would like to have kept it secret, but the website is getting more popular. One thing to watch for is small shop type items. The site is generally selling large scale production type machinery so most of the people watching it are looking to buy big stuff. I bought a near brand new Jet 14” bandsaw for $200, a brand new Oliver 6” jointer for $213, and a Shopsmith with bandsaw and jointer for $100. There are bargains to be had still on there. -- Mark Smith, Tracy, CA., http://www.markscustomwoodcrafts.com |
|
#7 posted 153 days ago |
This is the parent company that owns the Machinery Max website. They also sell new and used equipment on the Professional Machinery website, but it isn’t in the auction format. -- Mark Smith, Tracy, CA., http://www.markscustomwoodcrafts.com |
|
#8 posted 152 days ago |
I have also bought a few items from them. My Delta 22-101 13” planer and a nice Speedaire 60 gallon 2 stage compressor. They did try to charge me premium fee as well as sales tax on an item that was located out of state, the planer, but after reminding them it was NOT located in CA and the site stated no sales tax, they did honor it. There was also some confusion on getting an item picked up. But it was worked out without much problem. I have noticed they are getting more traffic and prices are reflecting the increase. -- My job is to give my kids things to discuss with their therapist....medic20447@gmail.com |
|
#9 posted 151 days ago |
I’ve purchased several items thru Machinery Max. Not a single problem. BTW, on two occasions, I have visited their warehouse and physically examined their offering. I have not found them to be deceptive. But the opposite. It seems as if they are carefull to state the correct information. Since I have 3 ph electricity, I constantly monitor their site, shopping for extreme value on heavy production type equipment. -- Rustfever, Central California |
|
#10 posted 151 days ago |
Thanks all. The bid on the machine I was watching got to the point that it plus shipping would have only been $25 cheaper than a new one. However it seems it is a good site to watch. Thanks for the input and confirmation it is legitimate. -- Robert --- making toothpicks one 3x3x12 blank at a time! |
|
#11 posted 151 days ago |
If you’re anywhere near Tulsa, Oklahoma, they have a 48” wide industrial belt sander on the site right now. There are no bids on it yet and the auction closes in 1 day and 16 hours. It’s 8’ high and 9’ sqaure and it says it weighs 10,000 pounds. If nobody else bids it can be all yours for $10. If you’re not near Tulsa I bet shipping would run you a few dollars. -- Mark Smith, Tracy, CA., http://www.markscustomwoodcrafts.com |
Have your say...
|
You must be signed in to reply.
|
| Forum | Topics |
|---|---|
Woodworking Skill Share
|
8784 |
Woodturning
|
219 |
Woodcarving
|
28 |
Scrollsawing
|
61 |
Joinery
|
77 |
Finishing
|
1522 |
Designing Woodworking Projects
|
3542 |
Power Tools, Hardware and Accessories
|
15755 |
Hand Tools
|
2029 |
Jigs & Fixtures
|
494 |
Wood & Lumber
|
2833 |
Safety in the Woodworking Shop
|
808 |
Focus on the Workspace
|
900 |
Sweating for Bucks Through Woodworking
|
766 |
Woodworking Trade & Swap
|
2736 |
LumberJocks.com Site Feedback
|
1547 |
Coffee Lounge
|
6148 |



















