LumberJocks

Anyone have experience ordring from Peachtree Woodworking Supply?

  • Advertise with us

« back to Power Tools, Hardware and Accessories forum

Forum topic by BlankMan posted 1033 days ago 2093 views 0 times favorited 22 replies Add to Favorites Watch
View BlankMan's profile

BlankMan

1487 posts in 1856 days


1033 days ago

I ordered a couple of blades that Topa posted the sale on a week ago. Have not heard a single thing from Peachtree except the order confirmation at the time of placing the order.

I’ve only ever bought from Peachtree at the Woodworkers Shows, this is the first order I ever placed an order with them.

Least to say I’m not at all impressed so far, I actually would have expected it delivered by now.

-- -Curt, Milwaukee, WI


22 replies so far

View YanktonSD's profile

YanktonSD

187 posts in 1035 days


#1 posted 1033 days ago

I have only looked at their website. I preferr Rockler, but I am a little new.

View Minorhero's profile

Minorhero

196 posts in 1108 days


#2 posted 1033 days ago

I have ordered a couple of things from them, both directly through them and more often through amazon (which uses peachtree as a supplier for some things).

I didn’t have any trouble as far as I remember but I am also in Maryland and I am a little closer to them (they are in Georgia). If it has only been a week I wouldn’t worry about it. Sometimes things can take more then a week for shipping depending on where they start and where they need to end up. If you don’t see it after 2 weeks give them a call.

View WayneC's profile

WayneC

11996 posts in 2600 days


#3 posted 1033 days ago

Did you give you a tracking number when the item shipped?

-- We must guard our enthusiasm as we would our life - James Krenov

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2181 posts in 1386 days


#4 posted 1033 days ago

similar experience; ordered something and then waited about 2 weeks, expecting it to arrive. Finally got an email from them saying that they needed to charge me more to ship to Canada. My response was that if it took them two weeks to figure that out and email me, I’d take my business to someone that did business a bit more efficiently.

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View David Grimes's profile

David Grimes

2071 posts in 1142 days


#5 posted 1033 days ago

I ordered a few things through amazon through Peachtree as well. I got the items that week. Give them a call and have a little prayer meeting over the phone. Can’t hurt and might get it for you sooner.

-- If you're going to stir the pot, think BIG spoon or SMALL boat paddle. David Grimes, Georgia

View BilltheDiver's profile

BilltheDiver

215 posts in 1388 days


#6 posted 1033 days ago

I have ordered from them a couple of times and never had any problems.

-- "Measure twice, cut once, count fingers"

View BlankMan's profile

BlankMan

1487 posts in 1856 days


#7 posted 1033 days ago

Minorhero: Shipping from their address to my address via UPS Ground is 2 days, just checked on UPS’s site by entering their address and mine. A week from GeorgIa to Wisconsin? Naa… According to UPS if they shipped on a Monday I’d have it Wednesday.

And no tracking number, like I said, only the order confirmation minutes after ordering. Haven’t heard a thing since.

I emailed them tonight, we’ll see if and when I get a response.

Very disappointed in this. I order stuff from all over the country, not usually woodworking stuff though, never takes a week to Wisconsin from anywhere in the country using Ground delivery, let alone longer.

-- -Curt, Milwaukee, WI

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

14412 posts in 2179 days


#8 posted 1033 days ago

I had forgotten about them. Thanks for the reminder. They haven’t shown here either, but I am in WA. Let us know what they say if you email them.

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View BlankMan's profile

BlankMan

1487 posts in 1856 days


#9 posted 1032 days ago

Got 2 separate replies from them already this morning:

———-

Sorry for the delay in the shipping of your order. The trucking company delivered the incorrect pallet of product to us. They hvae re-shipped the correct pallet to us and it is due in to us today. Your order will be shipped today. Sorry again for the delay.

———-

Sorry for the delay in shipping your order. The trucking company mixed up the freight and we received somebody else’s product. They have found our pallet and it is due in to us today. We will be shipping all orders as quick as possible. We will get them shipped all by end of day tomorrow. You will receive a UPS tracking number by email once UPS picks up. Thank you again and sorry for the delay.

———-

So maybe we’ll see them soon

-- -Curt, Milwaukee, WI

View Minorhero's profile

Minorhero

196 posts in 1108 days


#10 posted 1032 days ago

I got to tell you, it is a very rare day that UPS can ship something in 2 days that is not specifically 2 day shipping. I have ordered things from virginia to be delivered to maryland via ups ground and it still takes 4 days. Judging from the tracking information UPS will sit on stuff for a few days at one of their warehouses, probably so that folks will use their 2 day shipping instead of just always using their ground shipping and getting their stuff in quicker.

Either way glad to see peachtree is responding to you.

View brtech's profile

brtech

643 posts in 1425 days


#11 posted 1032 days ago

I ordered the Delta blade on the sale too. I’ve never gotten an email from them. I did call them yesterday and was told the same thing; they sold a ton of them, ran out of stock, ordered more, had a one day delay on the shipment, and expect to ship today.

I’ve ordered from them two times before, and it was a good experience. I did note that they don’t have an on-line order status mechanism. You have to call them. How primitive.

Minorhero: I regularly get stuff shipped by UPS in one or two days when the service paid for is regular ground. Depends on how far it’s coming from, but it they get it to the New Stanton Depot by 2 or 3 am, I get it the next day. I have Amazon prime, which is 2 days, but not the real UPS 2 day service; it must be something special. I often get next day on that if it comes out of an Ohio or Kentucky warehouse.

View MSD's profile

MSD

17 posts in 1343 days


#12 posted 1032 days ago

I know they had some issues on receiving the delta blades. While I don’t order from them, they are less than 3 miles from me, I’ve never had a problem with them. They stand behind everything I’ve purchased from them. Great folks to do business with!

-- If it's true that we are here to help others, then what exactly are the others here for?

View Gene Howe's profile

Gene Howe

4788 posts in 1931 days


#13 posted 1032 days ago

I’ve ordered several items from them. All by phone, though. Delivery was within 10 days. Although, they always warned me it would be 7-10 working days.
Things move a little slower in GA. I don’t mind.

-- Gene 'The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.' G. K. Chesterton

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

14412 posts in 2179 days


#14 posted 1032 days ago

Thanks for checking on that and the info.

Not having online order status means we will get personalized service from a small company ;-)

Not having things the next day or 2 doesn’t usually matter to me, I’m not in a big hurry unless it is for an emergency repair at a production facility.

One day when the overpass in town was in the planning stages, I was waiting for a train to pass. I felt sorry for those who don’t have time to wait for a train to pass. It is sort of pleasant inconvenience, a surprise break in the day. ;-))

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View Domer's profile

Domer

238 posts in 1869 days


#15 posted 1032 days ago

I also have ordered several things from Peachtree. I have not had any problems with them. Whenever I thought there might be a problem, I called them and they were very helpful.

Sometimes their internet specials are really special.

They do describe the items correctly but you have to make sure what you are ordering is the quality you want. I am not at all saying they are doing anything wrong but at least once I did not do my due diligence and ordered an item that was a lot lesser quality than I normally do. Not their fault at all, it was my fault.

They are nice people to work with.

Domer

showing 1 through 15 of 22 replies

Have your say...

You must be signed in to reply.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase