Unique idea for workholding

  • Advertise with us
Review by kshipp posted 11-04-2009 11:20 PM 2054 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Unique idea for workholding No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I saw a lot of press about these online as I’m sure that many of you have. I was at Rockler one day picking up some other things and I picked these up also just to check them out.

I used them for the first time yesterday and I was really impressed. I was working on a 40” x 8” board so I put a bench cookie in each of the corners. I was able to use a random orbit sander and a belt sander with no problems at all. I’ll admit that I was nervous when I first set the belt sander on it because I didn’t trust them but I do now. I didn’t try them with edge-routing like they show in all the ads but I imagine they would work for that also.

The performance didn’t seem to be diminished by having some sawdust on them either. I just wiped them off on my shirt a few times during use to be sure.

I gave them four stars because I still don’t really feel like I trust they are going to hold all the time. But they have so far so maybe its just me getting used to them instead of an actual fault with the product.

Rockler Link

-- Kyle Shipp,

View kshipp's profile


179 posts in 2817 days

11 comments so far

View Lenny's profile


1369 posts in 2565 days

#1 posted 11-05-2009 01:17 AM

I have been hoping to hear from one or more LJers on this product. Glad to hear you made out well with them and thanks for the post.

-- On the eighth day God was back in His woodworking shop! Lenny, East Providence, RI

View a1Jim's profile


113725 posts in 2616 days

#2 posted 11-05-2009 01:44 AM

Thanks for the review. There was a post a little while ago were someone made there own at a low cost he called his brownies.

-- Custom furniture

View Pete_Jud's profile


424 posts in 2791 days

#3 posted 11-05-2009 03:50 AM

I had a lot of 4 1/2 inch disks left over after making my dust collector pipe hangers out of 3/4 ply, and just glued some spinlock shelf liner pieces on both sides. I don’t know where I bought the spinlock, but it was only a buck or two a roll, and have used it on the boat for years as an anti slip shelf lining. It seems to be the same stuff that rockler and western tool sells as matts.

-- Life is to short to own an ugly boat.

View Joe's profile


185 posts in 2432 days

#4 posted 11-05-2009 04:57 AM

I also thought about how they would work after getting some saw dust on them? I guess you answered it.

-- Senior Chief

View araldite's profile


187 posts in 2442 days

#5 posted 11-05-2009 05:43 AM

My bench top is a little slick because it’s varnished. If there’s enough sawdust on there these cookies will slide around. If the bench is clean and the cookies brushed off they work fine under a ROS. I don’t trust them enough to use them with a router, but maybe I’m just overly cautious.

-- Failure is the road to success if you learn to learn from your mistakes - Vince, Greenville, SC

View Bret's profile


162 posts in 2533 days

#6 posted 11-05-2009 04:52 PM

I’ve got a set of 4 of these and use them almost every time I’m in the shop. They don’t lose adhesion no matter how dusty they get. Sure I could’ve made a set myself but for $12 it fell squarely (for me) on the buy side of the build/buy line. Kind of like the Bridge City KM-1 I just received in the mail and may be reviewing shortly.

-- Woodworking is easy as 3.14159265358979323846264338327950288419716939937510...

View mikedddd's profile


146 posts in 2268 days

#7 posted 11-05-2009 05:39 PM

I haven’t seen the bench cookies up here in Canada yet, but I’ve been using a left over piece of drawer liner for a mechanics tool box for awhile now, works great for sanding, I haven’t and probably won’t try it with a router.

-- Mike

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2924 days

#8 posted 11-05-2009 06:37 PM

I received a set of the Rockler Bench Cookies and like them so much that I bought another set. No problems here with sawdust they actually stick like little suction cups to my unvarnished Maple work bench.

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View kosta's profile


946 posts in 2393 days

#9 posted 11-06-2009 02:16 AM

im gonna try that

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA

View Rustic's profile


3206 posts in 2635 days

#10 posted 11-08-2009 03:26 AM

I have used them with my belt sander and trim router and I love ‘em

--, Rick Kruse, Grand Rapids, MI

View dustyal's profile


1260 posts in 2514 days

#11 posted 11-09-2009 02:53 AM

I have and use four of these things… I thought they were a bit pricey as I can accomplish just about the same with non-skid mats. On the other hand they are convenient.

Generally I use them with ROS sanding. I haven’t really had the courage to try with router but I suspect they will work fine.

-- Al H. - small shop, small projects...

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics