LumberJocks

Who's got two thumbs and loves to staple?

  • Advertise with us
Review by gizmodyne posted 02-02-2008 05:55 AM 3475 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Who's got two thumbs and loves to staple? Who's got two thumbs and loves to staple? No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This guy.

This stapler shoots 1/2” to 1 1/2” narrow crown staples.

Have you ever had to remove a freakin’ narrow crown staple. It is not coming out. Staples resist racking.

I use this for reinforcing cabinets and attaching their backs. Very strong.

Also it is awesome for building lattice. Brads and finish nails will pull out. Staples hold strong. (Use galvanized for outdoor.)

I would definitely buy another P.C. gun. No jams. No problemo.

4 stars because how exciting should a staple gun be?

Price: Around 90 U.S. from Amazon.

-- -John "Do I have to keep typing a smiley? Just assume it's a joke." www.flickr.com/photos/gizmodyne




View gizmodyne's profile

gizmodyne

1763 posts in 2727 days



10 comments so far

View Peter Oxley's profile

Peter Oxley

1426 posts in 2512 days


#1 posted 02-02-2008 06:47 AM

Thanks, John. A stapler is my next pneumatic purchase – I’ll have to give this one a look.

-- http://www.peteroxley.com -- http://north40studios.etsy.com --

View Karson's profile

Karson

34871 posts in 3038 days


#2 posted 02-02-2008 07:24 AM

I got a couple but they are harbor Freight, and haven’t had any problems.

good review.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View cajunpen's profile

cajunpen

14381 posts in 2703 days


#3 posted 02-02-2008 10:24 AM

Thanks Giz, I’ve been thinking about one of these and wondered how good they were. You have the Harbor Freight models Karson and like them? That will be the cheapest way to go for me – so I’m on my way to HF on Monday. Thanks guys.

-- Bill - "Suit yourself and let the rest be pleased." http://www.cajunpen.com/

View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2512 days


#4 posted 02-02-2008 12:12 PM

Staples are indeed very useful. Thanks for writing the review.

View Moose's profile

Moose

9 posts in 2748 days


#5 posted 02-03-2008 07:12 PM

I have the same gun and love it. I bought it for attaching cabinet backs in my kitchen (and other projects) and now find it and my PC BN200A to be the lightest and most reliable guns I’ve ever owned.

I’ve never had a misfire or jam with this stapler and it’s super easy to adjust and clear (not that I’ve needed to clear it). I bought it to replace a HF stapler when I found the NS150A on sale and had a pile of stapling to get through.

Highly recommended if you need a reliable stapler that will last.

-- Scott, Pickering/Ajax, ON

View gizmodyne's profile

gizmodyne

1763 posts in 2727 days


#6 posted 02-03-2008 08:15 PM

I kind of want a pin nailer too. I am interested in that bn200a. Been watching Norm build kitchen cabs this season using it for moldings.

-- -John "Do I have to keep typing a smiley? Just assume it's a joke." www.flickr.com/photos/gizmodyne

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19402 posts in 2489 days


#7 posted 02-04-2008 10:20 PM

I have an electric stapler (Metabo) similar to yours Gizmo. It can be used as a brad gun as well. Very useful tool.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View Al Killian's profile

Al Killian

273 posts in 2390 days


#8 posted 02-28-2008 09:04 PM

I have one and love it. I have already run a couple hundred staple thru it and it is only a month old.

-- Owner of custom millwork shop

View Rob's profile

Rob

43 posts in 2071 days


#9 posted 12-31-2008 08:57 PM

I also have one of these along with the brad and finish nailer in the set that came with a porter cable compressor from Ho-De for under $300. I’ve had great success using the stapler to finish a kitchen cabinet and this and all the porter cable guns have not misfired. I even shot a finish nail into a piece of hidden metal and it kicked and the soft rubber nose flew off, but the gun was totally unharmed and worked perfectly. Very impressed with this and with all of porter cable’s products so far.

View FlWoodRat's profile

FlWoodRat

732 posts in 2547 days


#10 posted 12-31-2008 09:02 PM

Hey Giz, was that a ‘two thumbs” up rating of the gun OR did you run staples through them? LOL.

-- I love the smell of sawdust in the morning....

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase