LumberJocks

Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw

  • Advertise with us
Review by a1Jim posted 04-26-2017 11:02 PM 3224 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Ryobi ONE+ 18-Volt 7-1/4 in. Miter Saw No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Yes I know RYOBI. The last Ryobi product I bought was 20+ years ago and have always thought of them as homeowner specials and not something a contractor of 30 years would use that has always tried to work with “Big Boy” tools.
So why did I try this out? I needed a lightweight miter saw to cut some trim in a remodel I’m working on and I didn’t want to keep dragging around my Bosch 12” sliding miter saw nor did I want to keep traveling back and forth to the Bosch either. I spotted this little guy on a fix it show and thought what the heck for $99 bare tool cost plus the $59 for the battery and charger I could always return it if I didn’t like it. The good thing is that it’s cordless, no cord to keep dragging around. Would I call this a powerful saw? NO. Is it powerful enough to cut a 2×4? Yes! .Would I cut 2×4’s all day with it? No way, all the trim I had to cut was 3” or smaller and it works great on all of that material but you need a spare battery(another $32) if you’re going to do a job that’s going to take more than a couple hours.
All and all It’s a good little saw for smaller work but I wouldn’t buy it for my only miter saw. I give it 5 stars.
If you want one it will take a lot of shopping around because they seemed to be out of stock most of the places I shop at, even many of the sellers on ebay.

It has lots of positives:

light weight
handy handle
it uses a standard circular saw 7 1/4 blades.
It has a bag for dust collection
It uses 18v Lithium Ion batteries
it has a laser
3-year limited warranty

Areas in need of improvement:
a little longer battery life
a 40 tooth saw blade instead of the 24 tooth it comes with

-- https://www.artisticwoodstudio.com/videos wood crafting & woodworking classes




View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

117234 posts in 3722 days



10 comments so far

View Roger's profile

Roger

20948 posts in 2949 days


#1 posted 04-26-2017 11:32 PM

Nice review for what looks to be a decent saw for trim material, like you said. Makes good sense to me.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View patcollins's profile

patcollins

1687 posts in 3010 days


#2 posted 04-27-2017 12:19 AM

I have used one of these to cut 1x before, it was a capable little saw. Ryobi does have a better grade of battery that lasts longer but costs more. I use one of their battery powered string trimmers at my moms to do the little bit of trimming she has. I really like that one+ battery system.

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

7702 posts in 2188 days


#3 posted 04-27-2017 01:54 AM

It is a good little saw Jim. I purchased one years back to do jobs for relatives. Like you, I got tired of carrying around the big miter saw. It was perfect for those jobs and I also had Ryobi batteries so it was a no brainer for me. I ended up giving it to my son when he bought his house. Now he loves it for his small projects around the house.

-- Dave, Downers Grove, Il. -------- When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams.

View steliart's profile

steliart

2802 posts in 2833 days


#4 posted 04-27-2017 08:21 AM

excellent solution for light work !!!!!!!!

-- Stelios L.A. Stavrinides: - I am not so rich to buy cheap tools, but... necessity is the mother of inventions !!!

View michelletwo's profile

michelletwo

2756 posts in 3160 days


#5 posted 04-27-2017 11:04 AM

goo.d review ..As we all get older, having a light alternative is a great idea for those smaller jobs

View oldrivers's profile

oldrivers

1432 posts in 1711 days


#6 posted 04-27-2017 11:22 AM

Thanks for the report, good review.

-- Soli Deo gloria!

View Cedar Furniture Lodge 's profile

Cedar Furniture Lodge

819 posts in 2417 days


#7 posted 04-27-2017 03:10 PM

Wow that looks cool, would come in handy on job sights where power is a challenge.

-- "The Cedar King"

View Tedstor's profile

Tedstor

1678 posts in 2777 days


#8 posted 04-27-2017 05:08 PM

I have a 7.25in Craftsman sliding miter saw that I am am quite fond of. Its not cordless, but its definitely easier to carry around than a 10/12” saw, and is perfectly suitable for accurately cutting smaller stock. And there is a wide variety of affordable 7.25” saw blades.
I think a lot of woodworkers could get by with, and benefit from, a 7.25” miter saw. Cordless sounds even better.

View Fallon's profile

Fallon

91 posts in 3273 days


#9 posted 04-28-2017 03:01 AM

I’ve got their little circular “skill” saw. Light little gutless toy. But it gets the job done well enough for light work up to 2x & plywood. I’ll grab it over my beefy corded Rigid for quick & dirty jobs hands down. I’m a huge fan of the Ryobi One+ battery ecosystem. Have a couple chargers in the house & a 6 port charger out in the shop with a pile of batteries scattered about. Generally their gear is mid range, but for 50% the price of a Dewalt or Makita you get 75% of the tool. Makes it easy to have a few drills around so you don’t need to switch out bits & always can rob a battery from another tool nearby if one dies on you.

View Blackie_'s profile

Blackie_

4883 posts in 2657 days


#10 posted 04-30-2017 05:51 PM

Good to Know Jim thanks.

Ryobi has a few tricks up it’s sleeve, I found one of those tricks that no other manufacture makes, Dewalt, Milwaukee, Bosch, Makita, you name it none of the major brands carry it and that is a corded electric drill that has both a variable speed and a speed clutch, they carry them in their cordless drills but not the corded drills.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Ryobi-5-5-Amp-3-8-in-Variable-Speed-Reversible-Compact-Clutch-Driver-D48CK/205216292

-- Randy - If I'm not on LJ's then I'm making Saw Dust. Please feel free to visit my store location at http://www.facebook.com/randy.blackstock.custom.wood.designs

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com