LumberJocks

Jet Parallel Clamp

  • Advertise with us
Review by alaskan79 posted 10-12-2009 12:28 AM 2267 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Jet Parallel Clamp No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I got a pair of 12” clamps last winter and they are really nice. I was using pipe clamps and was having trouble with my glue ups not staying flush. I was getting a lot of cup and would have to clamp some 2 X 2 on each end to stop it from happening. I got these clamps and now I don’t have that problem. About a month ago I got a pair of 31” because the 12” where a little short for some of my glue ups. I really like them also. Really easy to move the movable jaw on the bar. Right now I am making some cutting boards and they are in the clamps. You can put a lot of pressure on the clamps and I have used both hands to tighting them up and have had no trouble with them cupping the glue up. I read a review from wood mag. and these where their top pick so that is why I got them.

-- alaskan79, Michigan




View alaskan79's profile

alaskan79

74 posts in 2104 days



9 comments so far

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1835 posts in 2423 days


#1 posted 10-12-2009 12:31 AM

These are what I own, great clamps!!

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112933 posts in 2328 days


#2 posted 10-12-2009 12:38 AM

Thanks for the review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Bovine's profile

Bovine

114 posts in 2079 days


#3 posted 10-12-2009 04:22 AM

Thanks for the review. I own several of them…now I won’t buy anything else.

-- Kansas City, KS "Nothing is as permanent as a temporary solution"

View Innovator's profile

Innovator

3584 posts in 2165 days


#4 posted 10-12-2009 06:32 AM

I’ve got a few of these also and they work quite well.

Thanks

-- Whether You Think You Can or You Think You Can't, YOU ARE RIGHT!!!

View Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist's profile

Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist

5273 posts in 2060 days


#5 posted 10-12-2009 07:26 AM

I have an excessive number of clamps by different manufacturers and I find the Jet K style clamps to be the absolute best. I prefer them over all others.

-- Each step of every Wood Art project I design and build is considered my masterpieceā€¦ because I want the finished product to reflect the quality and creativeness of my work

View degoose's profile

degoose

7052 posts in 2106 days


#6 posted 10-12-2009 12:15 PM

I have 4 of the 24” and 2 of the 50” Just love them and I go a set of cross docs too.
Dearer than pipe or sash clamps but way better.

-- Drink twice... and don't bother to cut... @ lazylarrywoodworks.com.au For lovers of all things timber...

View woodworm's profile

woodworm

14134 posts in 2342 days


#7 posted 10-12-2009 03:18 PM

Agreed!

-- masrol, kuala lumpur, MY.

View woodbutcher's profile

woodbutcher

592 posts in 2917 days


#8 posted 10-13-2009 02:27 AM

I’ve got several in different lengths as well with cross docks and legs as well. Mine are no longer made and were closed out about a year or two ago, I was told that the newer ones basically just weighed less. I’m very happy with them. They do weigh quite a bit is the only thing.

-- woodbutcher north carolina

View JasonWagner's profile

JasonWagner

523 posts in 1931 days


#9 posted 10-13-2009 02:56 AM

I got the cabinet set (4 clamps, blocks and dogs) on Amazon last winter and they’re working great. Watch there for price drops.

-- some day I hope to have enough clamps to need a clamp cart!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase