LumberJocks

Exceptionally smooth countersinks

  • Advertise with us
Review by sry posted 10-02-2009 03:42 AM 2499 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Exceptionally smooth countersinks Exceptionally smooth countersinks No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Woodcraft product page

I had always heard that this style produces a very smooth cut, so I decided to pick some up when I was at Woodcraft. I bought the #6, #8, and #10. It really is amazing how smoothly and effortlessly they cut.

The second picture I uploaded shows just how smooth these things cut (#10 is shown, but the results are typical). On the far left is the Wood River single flute countersink, middle is one from HD (can’t remember the brand), and right is from a Ryobi countersink set. Lower board is poplar, upper is walnut. You can pretty clearly see that the single flute is the best, followed by the Ryobi, with the brand-less one in a distant third.

Gripes
  • I wish they had a 1/4” hex shank, simply for the incredible ease it offers
  • If you try to drill too deep (ie counter sink then bore if you wanted to put a plug over the screw hole) the waste exit hole will drop below the work surface and it will clog

Score: 4 stars due to the clogging issue
5 stars otherwise




View sry's profile

sry

146 posts in 2259 days



10 comments so far

View Karson's profile

Karson

34874 posts in 3051 days


#1 posted 10-02-2009 04:29 AM

It looks like the hole does not go all the way to the point. Is it hard to use in hard wood. How about in a portable drill or a drill press. Any difference?

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View sry's profile

sry

146 posts in 2259 days


#2 posted 10-02-2009 11:14 AM

That’s a really good point Karson. Since the cutting edge does not go all the way to the tip you need to make sure that you drill the pilot hole first. If you don’t drill the hole first it won’t work (might be able to force it on the drill press, but why would you want to?). If there is a pilot hole it cut like a hot knife through butter with both the drill press and a cordless drill.

View patron's profile

patron

13033 posts in 1992 days


#3 posted 10-02-2009 11:46 AM

thanks for the review ,
i always wondered about these ,
the star-point ones chatter ,
and leave a hex hole !

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View treeman's profile

treeman

208 posts in 2100 days


#4 posted 10-02-2009 12:02 PM

I just got a similar set from Lee Valley and I agree with Steve. These are by far the best countersinks I have ever used.

View Rev_John's profile

Rev_John

93 posts in 2539 days


#5 posted 10-02-2009 02:53 PM

Wow, I wondered about these myself. It seems like there is now something else added to my shop list. (I’m sure my wife will thank you.) Thanks for the review.

-- John from Jackson, Michigan

View Greg Wurst's profile

Greg Wurst

781 posts in 2483 days


#6 posted 10-02-2009 04:17 PM

It is a much better countersink. Certainly the best I’ve used. The HF star-shaped ones are terrible!

-- You're a unique and special person, just like everyone else.

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11657 posts in 2339 days


#7 posted 10-03-2009 02:08 AM

Isn’t it strange that the more cutting edges there are , the worse the hole is.?
I also wasted too much money on the “star” shaped multi-cutter countersinks in the past.
I’ve had great results with my Insty-Bit combination (drill and countersink) bits , and they’re 1/4” hex drive as well : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Greg..the Cajun  Box Sculptor's profile

Greg..the Cajun Box Sculptor

5076 posts in 1959 days


#8 posted 10-03-2009 05:50 AM

I bought a set of these about a month ago after reading several positive reviews. I completely agree that they are the best countersinks I have used. I threw my old star type countersinks away after the first use of the new ones.

-- If retiring is having the time to be able to do what you enjoy then I have always been retired.

View Roger's profile

Roger

14552 posts in 1455 days


#9 posted 11-07-2010 02:05 AM

thnx for the info. I’ve been ponderin pickin these up. Appreciate the review

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View spudhogg's profile

spudhogg

86 posts in 211 days


#10 posted 05-15-2014 11:52 PM

Thanks for the review. I need to pick up a set. The flute not going to the tip is a plus as it would make it easier to center in the pilot hole.

-- Spudhogg Woodworks

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase