LumberJocks

My Set up and Review of the Saw Stop Table Saw

  • Advertise with us
Review by bobmayfield posted 02-21-2017 06:06 PM 4318 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
My Set up and Review of the Saw Stop Table Saw My Set up and Review of the Saw Stop Table Saw My Set up and Review of the Saw Stop Table Saw Click the pictures to enlarge them

Right out of the box and pretty impressive machine:

PROS:
T-squre fence
Excellent directions on set up
Pretty Good dust collection.
Overall a solid machine
OBVIOUSLY THE SAFETY FEATURE (which can be turned off.)

CONS:
Needs really aggressive dust collection or the interior gets messy
Little plastic on switch is too easy to lose.
My 1.75 hp is a bit underpowered for me.
Won’t allow you to use a molding head but I never do anyway.
The support legs for the table extension need more lateral support.

Just a thought: Its great to have such a good solid machine around that you know will help keep you safe, however, there are probably a lot of other machines we use everyday that have just as much potential for injury. OWNING A SAWSTOP TABLE SAW IS NO EXCUSE FOR EXERCISING DUE DILIGENCE.

IF YOU’D LIKE TO SEE MY ENTIRE PROCESS WATCH THIS:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tff0eHCmFQw

-- Bob




View bobmayfield's profile

bobmayfield

7 posts in 454 days



11 comments so far

View playingwithmywood's profile

playingwithmywood

413 posts in 1591 days


#1 posted 02-23-2017 04:31 AM

just linking to a YouTube video does not cut it. This is Lumberjocks not YouTube you at least need to type something here

View JCamp's profile

JCamp

563 posts in 544 days


#2 posted 02-23-2017 03:42 PM

Im the same way. I prefer to read stuff. I did watch the video though. You got me wanting one now. Mayb in a few years when everything settles down Ill be able to justify paying the price for one.

-- Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with all thy might

View bobmayfield's profile

bobmayfield

7 posts in 454 days


#3 posted 02-23-2017 04:57 PM

Okay, can do that.


just linking to a YouTube video does not cut it. This is Lumberjocks not YouTube you at least need to type something here

- playingwithmywood


-- Bob

View Woodbum's profile

Woodbum

812 posts in 3059 days


#4 posted 02-23-2017 09:44 PM

Just curious; why did you buy the 1.75 hp saw and not get the more powerful 3 hp? Was it cost, or no access to 240v in your shop, or what?

-- "Now I'm just another old guy wearing funny clothes"

View bryce12's profile

bryce12

6 posts in 451 days


#5 posted 02-24-2017 01:03 PM

I assembled my Sawstop 3hp 52” saw yesterday. One difference I did notice is the extension table is now a black mat finish instead of the glossy black. Like this much better.

-- Hiram

View bobmayfield's profile

bobmayfield

7 posts in 454 days


#6 posted 02-24-2017 06:26 PM

Hey woodbum, I bought the 1.75 for two reasons. Cost and the fact the i’d been using a jobsite saw recently that seemed to work fine for me. My garage is set up for the 3 hp model and that’s what I had before. When I get rich maybe i’ll swap it out.
Bpb

-- Bob

View mrg's profile

mrg

823 posts in 2993 days


#7 posted 02-24-2017 10:07 PM

Thanks for the review. The YouTube video was good.

-- mrg

View Woodchuck2010's profile

Woodchuck2010

707 posts in 852 days


#8 posted 02-26-2017 09:40 PM

I liked your video. It was funny and informative.

-- Chuck, Michigan,

View bobmayfield's profile

bobmayfield

7 posts in 454 days


#9 posted 02-27-2017 04:35 PM

Thanks woodchuck, I just retired myself and have made $1.30 doing youtube videos. That’s about .5 cents per hour. Subscribe and help my retirement plan.

-- Bob

View CyberDyneSystems's profile

CyberDyneSystems

259 posts in 2182 days


#10 posted 02-28-2017 10:26 PM

Thanks for your review.
It seems to be mostly positive, may I ask why only two stars?

-- Without the wood, it's just working

View bobmayfield's profile

bobmayfield

7 posts in 454 days


#11 posted 03-01-2017 12:22 AM

What? Only two stars? It must have been a mistake. I give it 4.

-- Bob

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com