LumberJocks

Review of Pennstate Industries PSI Collet Chucking System..... Item LCDOWEL

  • Advertise with us
Review by Jim Jakosh posted 12-09-2016 10:02 PM 3277 views 0 times favorited 16 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Review of Pennstate Industries PSI Collet Chucking System..... Item LCDOWEL Review of Pennstate Industries PSI Collet Chucking System..... Item LCDOWEL Review of Pennstate Industries PSI Collet Chucking System..... Item LCDOWEL Click the pictures to enlarge them

I finally ordered one of these collet systems from PSI because it has more range than the collets I how have and they can be used in the wood lathe or the metal lathe .
All the collets came wrapped in plastic bags and oiled and the whole set is in a red plastic box.
The collet holder is threaded for 1”-8 and it has a 3/4- 16 adapter for use on a mini lathe too.
I thought the best way to evaluate them was to use an indicator and check for run out with a ground pin of the nominal sizes of the collets. I used hardened ground dowels and had to use an Adapter on the 1 1/4”-8 Nova Lathe and the 1 1/2”-8 Southbend lathe.

The first thing I did was to check the runout of the collet holder on the adapter. In both cases, there was .001 runout. That will add to the collet runout and I measured and reported the total here that you would see on a part used in the collet.

The numbers I posted here is the TOTAL INDICATOR RANGE of each collet and THE RUNOUT IS HALF OF THAT. I also have a set of Southbend collets and nylon collets I made for use in the 4 jaw chuck and added them all for comparison to see if I will have an improvement by buying this system.

TOTAL INDICATOR READING FOR ALL MY COLLETS
PSI on Nova— PSI on Southbend—Southbend collets on Nova— Nylon collets on Nova

1/4” .0035 .004 .0035 .014

3/8” .004 .006 .002 .015

1/2” .002_.0025 .004 .004

5/8” .003.003 n/a _ .006

3/4” .002.007n/a_ .021

If needed, some of these could have been tapped to bring them closer to right on, but they are more than adequate for wood working and very good for metal working as well. I would highly recommend these collets for the price of $90 for the set . There are other sets for sale as much as $160 and I doubt they will be any closer to concentric than these.

I have posted pictures below of the product and the readings on the various machines. The last shot show a 1/2” piece extending all the way through the Nova lathe. I drilled out the Penn State Adapter to 17 /32”.

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!




View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days



16 comments so far

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

23219 posts in 3689 days


#1 posted 12-09-2016 10:11 PM

Great review Jim & lucky you.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View lew's profile

lew

11846 posts in 3593 days


#2 posted 12-09-2016 10:48 PM

I’ve been drooling over this set for a while. Thanks for proving an accurate comparison/review.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View peteg's profile

peteg

4193 posts in 2661 days


#3 posted 12-09-2016 11:13 PM

They should have gifted you the set after this detailed review, that’s great looking set Jim.
well done Bud
cheers
Pete

-- Pete G: If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

6849 posts in 1881 days


#4 posted 12-10-2016 01:06 AM

This is the set I had my eye on since I took my first try at some invisible wooded hinges. These should do the job centering the rod without distorting it. Good to know they are very much in comparison to others.
Well, if Santa doesn’t get it for me, I’ll have to get it for Santa. Now I see what I missed before. You actually drilled through the adapter so the rod can extend way back through the lathe. Bravo. Do you think that may weaken it any? Great review machinist man.

-- Dave, Downers Grove, Il. -------- When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams.

View jeff's profile

jeff

1059 posts in 3303 days


#5 posted 12-10-2016 03:26 AM

Nice review Jim.I have the set and do like it.It has come in handy for some projects.

-- Jeff,Tucson,Az.

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days


#6 posted 12-10-2016 03:47 AM

Thanks. I was pleasantly surprised how accurate they were on the Nova using the PSI adapter. That is good for steel work!! I, too have looked at it many times and then compared to other brands and prices and thought I’d better jump on it before the price goes up. this little exercise showed me where my other collets were as well and those nylon ones may not come out for a long time now!!

Cheers, Jim

here are the other reviews on the PSI site:
https://www.pennstateind.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=LCDOWEL&Store_Code=PS&showreviews=1

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3355 posts in 3022 days


#7 posted 12-10-2016 11:46 PM

So these can clamp around the outside of round things? Would you first round something between centers to an exact diameter, then use a matching collet?

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days


#8 posted 12-11-2016 01:20 AM

Hi Allen. That is correct. You have to round them parallel so there is no taper to the part going into the collet and get them real close to nominal size, so you don’t have to force them into the collet or crank the collet way down to get them tight. Either of those conditions can “spring” the collet- force it out of shape. A digital caliper really helps for that job!! I buy them for $10 at harbor Freight and have about 4 of them spread around the shop.

For instance, if you have to make 5 items that can be finished turned in the collet, you can put a long piece in the lathe between centers and turn five areas on that piece to a nominal size, cut them free with a saw and then turn each one holding it on that turned area. They are very useful in wood or metal turning!!

Cheers, Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View splinterbubba's profile

splinterbubba

74 posts in 718 days


#9 posted 12-11-2016 08:24 PM

Review is a great piece of work, you sound very satisfied with your purchase, and a bargain at that.. Another job well done Jim.

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days


#10 posted 12-11-2016 10:12 PM

Hi Bruce, Thanks. I do really like these collets and they will be used all the time now in making rings instead of those nylon bushings I made. .

cheers, Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3355 posts in 3022 days


#11 posted 12-12-2016 10:41 PM



Hi Allen. That is correct. You have to round them parallel so there is no taper to the part going into the collet and get them real close to nominal size, so you don t have to force them into the collet or crank the collet way down to get them tight. Either of those conditions can “spring” the collet- force it out of shape. A digital caliper really helps for that job!! I buy them for $10 at harbor Freight and have about 4 of them spread around the shop.

For instance, if you have to make 5 items that can be finished turned in the collet, you can put a long piece in the lathe between centers and turn five areas on that piece to a nominal size, cut them free with a saw and then turn each one holding it on that turned area. They are very useful in wood or metal turning!!

Cheers, Jim

- Jim Jakosh

Thanks for the info. Does it work better than a regular 4-jaw chuck for holding rounds? Or maybe it avoids marring the rounds?

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days


#12 posted 12-13-2016 07:59 AM

The problem with using a regular 4 jaw woodworking chuck is that is does not go down small enough on the outside of the jaws- unless you get those special jaws used for drilling pen blanks. Also the 4 jaw chuck will not have the accuracy of holding the round pieces on center and the collet will not put pressure marks in the piece like a chuck will.

Cheers, Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

17525 posts in 3027 days


#13 posted 12-13-2016 06:43 PM

Ditto, Great review Jim & lucky you.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19794 posts in 2943 days


#14 posted 12-13-2016 07:16 PM

Thanks, Ken.

Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3355 posts in 3022 days


#15 posted 12-16-2016 06:41 PM



The problem with using a regular 4 jaw woodworking chuck is that is does not go down small enough on the outside of the jaws- unless you get those special jaws used for drilling pen blanks. Also the 4 jaw chuck will not have the accuracy of holding the round pieces on center and the collet will not put pressure marks in the piece like a chuck will.

Cheers, Jim

- Jim Jakosh

That sounds really useful, actually. I always end up with crazy collet marks and trying to use the pin jaws is really inaccurate for small stuff. Might have to get one of these someday.

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

showing 1 through 15 of 16 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com