LumberJocks

made in Taiwan

  • Advertise with us
Review by joez posted 10-04-2016 05:42 PM 2065 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
made in Taiwan  No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

self explanatory




View joez's profile

joez

120 posts in 2681 days



12 comments so far

View Bill_Steele's profile

Bill_Steele

193 posts in 1509 days


#1 posted 10-04-2016 05:59 PM

This may be the shortest review I’ve read so far. So….not a good experience? Was it missing parts or did it break?

View JoeinGa's profile (online now)

JoeinGa

7709 posts in 1784 days


#2 posted 10-04-2016 06:02 PM

Sooo. I see a non-descript bracket of some sort.

What’re we lookin’ at? Is the bolt stripped? or was it threaded crooked?

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View Ted78's profile

Ted78

312 posts in 1777 days


#3 posted 10-04-2016 06:20 PM

https://www.amazon.com/LINE-INDUSTRIES-PALS-CTS-alignment/dp/B0036B0V22#Ask
It’s a guide for setting up a table saw and getting things aligned properly. Looks like the factory needs a bit of help themselves lining things up straight. :-P

-- Ted

View Brazz04's profile

Brazz04

18 posts in 643 days


#4 posted 10-04-2016 08:47 PM

I have a set of these for a Craftsman 10” saw and have a much different opinion on the alignment tool. For my use it has been great and makes micro adjusting and fine tuning a breeze. It looks like Joez PALS has been stripped out due to not loosening the rear trunnion bolts. I would suggest drilling and tapping the bracket and simply using a bit larger bolt for the alignment.

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1168 posts in 992 days


#5 posted 10-04-2016 09:23 PM

Yeah! Ted and Brazz- It is is not easy to fool someone on this site…..

-- Desert_Woodworker

View joez's profile

joez

120 posts in 2681 days


#6 posted 10-05-2016 02:51 AM

sorry for little detail thought the picture displayed should enough, that the product was defective

View Ted78's profile

Ted78

312 posts in 1777 days


#7 posted 10-05-2016 02:03 PM

Love me a good mystery! and it continues. Is Brazz04 correct in his assesment that joez had a DOH! moment and forgot to losen a bolt mangling his PALS all to heck? Part of me wants this to be the case, to know other people besides myself have these expensive lapses of judgement. Or should we take joez word that it was shipped defective with a wonky threaded hole? peopele here are generaly honest right? Looks like it’s been used though, it wouldn’t have worked even once shipped with the cockeyed bolt hole.

My money’s still on a defective part shipped and a lapse in quality control at the factory.

Either way Brazz04 suggestion for fixing seems like it would work.

-- Ted

View joez's profile

joez

120 posts in 2681 days


#8 posted 10-05-2016 10:13 PM

if the thread hole was straight, it would not have stripped. Its Jerry’s business to have quality control not mine.

HOW CAN YOU STRIP IN A STRAIGHT HOLE!

View AZWoody's profile

AZWoody

1090 posts in 1001 days


#9 posted 10-07-2016 12:48 AM



if the thread hole was straight, it would not have stripped. Its Jerry s business to have quality control not mine.

HOW CAN YOU STRIP IN A STRAIGHT HOLE!

- joez

Not inserting the screw straight and continuing to drive the screw in, even though it’s extremely hard to turn?

View Ted78's profile

Ted78

312 posts in 1777 days


#10 posted 10-07-2016 09:00 PM

I have ample experience in cross threading and striping threads in straight holes, especially steel screws in brass or aluminum holes.

-- Ted

View Ted78's profile

Ted78

312 posts in 1777 days


#11 posted 10-07-2016 09:32 PM

Although on further inspection that sure looks so out of whack it almost HAD to be made wrong to start with.

-- Ted

View MadMark's profile

MadMark

979 posts in 1230 days


#12 posted 10-07-2016 10:53 PM

5/16-18 is Almost interchangable with M8-1.5. Forced looks a lot like the pic.

M

-- Madmark - Madmark2150@yahoo.com Wiretreefarm.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com