LumberJocks

Harbor Freight Tools Work Bench affordable and useful

  • Advertise with us
Review by PKP posted 07-10-2009 09:11 PM 25957 views 2 times favorited 20 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Harbor Freight Tools Work Bench affordable and useful No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this Bench on sale for 159 dollars. plus tax for a total of 175.( I know TN sales tax is high). The Bench was easily put together in about 2 hours. I have to say for the money I dont think you could buy the wood to make your own workbench.

I needed a workbench instead of using a door setting on top of 2 old speakers as a work table.

The table top is flat and is finger jointed oak, The drawer sides and bottoms are not solid oak but MDF. All the rest of the bench is oak. The instruction manual was easy to follow but the drawers were a little tricky to get into place. The table top is not as thick as it looks in the picture. But that didn’t really matter to me. The vise holds work firmly in place with the bench dogs provided.

Overall all I think this would make a great bench for the beginning woodworker. The bench is sturdy and weights about 115lbs. I gave it 4 stars becasue of the draw sides and bottoms not being solid oak and it ’s lack of a front vise. This may have been the way it was designed to account for wood movement? NOt sure

I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable workbench.

I’m still not sure what the oak bench dogs are for that are shown in the picture?
If anyone has a guess please make a post.




View PKP's profile

PKP

94 posts in 2142 days



20 comments so far

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2344 days


#1 posted 07-10-2009 09:22 PM

nice!

those bench dogs you are asking about are planing stops I believe. for planing with the grain without the need to clamp/hold the wood between dogs, or clamps.

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112363 posts in 2273 days


#2 posted 07-10-2009 10:15 PM

Looks like it will work fine. Just thinking isn’t crazy that to build a bench you need a bench.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Randy Sharp's profile

Randy Sharp

351 posts in 2368 days


#3 posted 07-10-2009 10:58 PM

For sale: One used door and two speakers. Been there…oops! Still there.

Thanks for the review. I’ve eyed that product myself. This is helpful information.

-- Randy, Tupelo, MS ~ A man who honors his wife will have children who honor their father.

View davidroberts's profile

davidroberts

1003 posts in 2182 days


#4 posted 07-11-2009 12:54 AM

You’re gonna love those drawers. I’m getting reading to build a cabinet of drawers under my bench. But at 105F today, I’m kinda lazy. Your right, $159 is a good price. You can always add a little support if necessary. MDF is stable so your drawers probably won’t stick. Those broom handle cut offs stuck in the table is to show the bench actually has precut dog holes. Otherwise they wouldn’t show up well in the photo. Just a guess. Even drilling the bench dog holes yourself is no a brainless task, so that is a really good deal. Hey, wait a minute, that bench is made for woodworking, not just another garage work bench!

-- God is great, wood is good. Let us thank Him for wood......and old hand tools.

View michaelray's profile

michaelray

196 posts in 2150 days


#5 posted 07-11-2009 03:01 PM

Thanks for the review. I’ve looked at this myself wondering if it would be worth it if only to save the time of building a new bench.

-- http://dbcww.wordpress.com

View Workbench_Warrior's profile

Workbench_Warrior

47 posts in 1949 days


#6 posted 07-11-2009 03:55 PM

Those bench dogs appear to be the ones that go in holes on the legs to hold long items. On my bench they are on the vise side so that you can put one end sideways in the vise and the other end rest on the dogs.
I have some benches very similar but with two vises each but no drawers that I got at JOB Lot on sale for $60.00. A great deal either way I whish mine had some drawers but such is life! I’ll have to check out my local HF to see if they have any.

-- SAEPE EXPERTUS, SEMPER FIDELIS, FRATRES AETERNI - "Often Tested, Always Faithful, Brothers Forever"

View GEORGE6149's profile

GEORGE6149

32 posts in 2293 days


#7 posted 07-12-2009 04:20 AM

I also own the same work bench.It’s a great deal and very sturdy. I thought that the long wooden dogs were for holding taller projects on end. The drawers are roomy.

-- GEORGE

View Greg Wurst's profile

Greg Wurst

781 posts in 2528 days


#8 posted 07-13-2009 02:35 PM

I’ve seen that bench at HF and it looked like a decent deal for the money. If I didn’t already have a bench or had room for another one I’d pick one up.

-- You're a unique and special person, just like everyone else.

View alt_bob's profile

alt_bob

1 post in 2304 days


#9 posted 12-25-2009 12:08 AM

Looking into building a workbench and found this review. Can I assume the bench-dog holes are 3/4 inch diameter? If so this appears a great deal just for the top to put on my current stand and then add on the tail-vise I am sort of dreaming to build with new one in concept stage. I can use the stand lumber for it or part of it.

-- Bob - Springfield VA

View Steve's profile

Steve

119 posts in 1826 days


#10 posted 01-11-2010 07:06 PM

I would have liked a bit bigger bench but after this review and others I decided to pick one up. It won’t be here for a week or so as it’s being drop shipped. I may end up buying another and bolting them together as 20” sounds a bit small to me. I just didn’t want to build a bench right now though.

View Jeison's profile

Jeison

947 posts in 1803 days


#11 posted 01-15-2010 06:57 AM

I just saw a coupon for this in the latest Wood magazine, think I’ll go take a look at it, was planning on building two workbenches about that size but at that price (the cost of the plywood alone for what I had in mind was $150) I may get it. I’d try enclosing the shelf and making that area into cabinet storage. I don’t mind the MDF drawers. If nothing else as Bob said I can just mount the top to a bench of my own design, plus get a vise and some oak lumber out of the stand for other projects out of the deal.

Meh, no sense planning too far ahead, I’ll stop in this weekend and take a look, the coupons good until May anyways LOL.

-- - Jei, Rockford IL - When in doubt, spray it with WD-40 and wrap it with duct tape. The details will attend to themselves.

View Jeison's profile

Jeison

947 posts in 1803 days


#12 posted 01-17-2010 03:36 AM

I went in to take a look at this today and decided against it, its not a bad bench for the money but was much smaller than I imagined (only 20” deep) the drawers were around 12” deep on 3/4 slides. Like he mentioned in the original review the top was not as thick as pictured (the edging on the sides is about 1 1/2” thick, but the top itself seemed maybe 3/4”. Seemed fairly sturdy, and if you need an auxiliary bench or worktable its pretty good for the price ($140 with the latest coupon) but for what I have in mind wouldn’t work out unfortuanetly.

-- - Jei, Rockford IL - When in doubt, spray it with WD-40 and wrap it with duct tape. The details will attend to themselves.

View badger's profile

badger

62 posts in 2041 days


#13 posted 03-17-2010 11:39 PM

Thanks for the details on this, I was curious about the thickness of the top of the bench.

I need something thicker, but at that price it was a little tempting.

badger

-- "I'm just a simple man trying to make my way in the universe." -- Jango Fett

View WmD's profile

WmD

2 posts in 1484 days


#14 posted 10-07-2010 04:10 PM

I’m having problems getting the drawers into the bench. They have gone in 1/2 way and are stuck. I’m new to this sort of thing, obviously. What’s the fix for these drawers?
Thanks in advance!

View Abbott's profile

Abbott

2570 posts in 1999 days


#15 posted 10-07-2010 04:18 PM

I have good luck with Silicone spray from the hardware or auto parts store. The stuff I use is made by Prestone but I imagine other outfits make it as well.

Welcome to Lumberjocks!

-- Ohh mann...pancakes and boobies...I'll bet that's what Heaven is like! ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣

showing 1 through 15 of 20 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase