LumberJocks

Fantastic little tool

  • Advertise with us
Review by b2rtch posted 08-01-2016 10:07 AM 2009 views 1 time favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Fantastic little tool No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Many years ago I already wrote a review of the Micro Jig Splitter Steel Pro.
Last weekend I had to change the Zero Clarence insert on my Delta Unisaw and so I also had to re-install the Micro Jig splitter.
I just want to write: what a fantastic little tool this is !!!!
I have been using mine for many years and it works perfectly every-time.
A simple and in-expensive tool that does what it it supposed to do perfectly and every time.

-- Bert




View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4861 posts in 3043 days



8 comments so far

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

8029 posts in 2323 days


#1 posted 08-01-2016 01:02 PM

Thanks Burt… I really need to get a splitter on my TS and have considered the micro-jig

I guess I need to bite the bullet and actually purchase one.

-- It’s the knowledge in your head, skill in your hands and motivation to create in you heart that makes you a woodworker. - Mainiac Matt

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4861 posts in 3043 days


#2 posted 08-01-2016 01:05 PM

How much to do you care for your safety?
The micro jig Splitter pro is only around $25.00, a no-brainer in my opinion.

-- Bert

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4861 posts in 3043 days


#3 posted 08-01-2016 02:56 PM

View Bill_Steele's profile

Bill_Steele

297 posts in 1726 days


#4 posted 08-01-2016 05:37 PM

Thank you for posting this review b2rtch. I’ve seen this product in magazine reviews and considered buying one. Right now I have a homemade splitter.

I often leave the factory provided guard off the machine (even though I know it provides the best protection). I do feel that a splitter is very important and so I made one from one of those single slot adjustable shelving brackets.

I cut it down in size and drilled/enlarged the existing hole to fit the bolt that secures the factory guard/splitter. I also shimmed it with washers so that it ends up in the center of my blade once installed. A benefit of having it installed below the table is that it follows the blade when the blade is tilted.

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3319 posts in 1792 days


#5 posted 08-01-2016 10:08 PM

I love mine.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1353 posts in 1209 days


#6 posted 08-02-2016 04:46 PM

Great product. Thanks for posting this, for it may help someone who is thinking about this product.

-- Desert_Woodworker

View Holbs's profile

Holbs

1864 posts in 2024 days


#7 posted 08-13-2016 12:40 AM

I really have to get me this. I have my PM66 and Unisaw from the 80’s. As of right now, I rarely use safety gear which scares me since I came from a more dinky Bosch 4100 with loaded safety (guard, riving knife). Thanks for reminding me about these little guys.

-- The Carpenter Bee is derived from the Ancient Greek word wood-cutter

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4861 posts in 3043 days


#8 posted 08-15-2016 12:57 PM

Holbs, get it BEFORE the accident, that;s much better and cheaper.

-- Bert

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com