LumberJocks

Freud Quadra-Cut Roundover Bit "Wow"

  • Advertise with us
Review by Pete_Jud posted 06-18-2009 06:29 AM 2735 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Freud Quadra-Cut Roundover Bit "Wow" No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I just ran 300 feet of 1.5 inch doug fir stair treads over a 3/4 inch Freud roundover bit on the router table to bullnose the work. I was very concerned about “tearout” as the old growth doug fir had a lot of tight knots in it. I had no tearout at all, and the I cut the bullnose in just 1 pass per side. The work is ready to install without any sanding. Great finnish. And almost no pitch buildup on the bit. This is the first Quadra-Cut bit that I have used, and I am impressed.

-- Life is to short to own an ugly boat.




View Pete_Jud's profile

Pete_Jud

424 posts in 2499 days



11 comments so far

View patron's profile

patron

13169 posts in 2087 days


#1 posted 06-18-2009 06:35 AM

thanks , this sounds like a winner !
how many bits do they make like this ?

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View JimBuchanan's profile

JimBuchanan

27 posts in 2095 days


#2 posted 06-18-2009 01:43 PM

I’m glad you had a positive experience with these bits, too. They aren’t cheap, but they perform so well it’s worth it.

-- Jim

View spanky46's profile

spanky46

979 posts in 2137 days


#3 posted 06-18-2009 06:29 PM

Good to hear!

-- spanky46 -- Never enough clamps...Never enough tools...Never enough time.

View tenontim's profile

tenontim

2131 posts in 2491 days


#4 posted 06-18-2009 10:31 PM

I was impressed with the 3 wing bits that are out, so I can imagine the cut you get from the 4 wing. Thanks for the review.

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2568 days


#5 posted 06-18-2009 11:00 PM

Pete, thanks for the review. I have not purchased a lot of bits from Freud but I have been looking at these and wondering if they performed as well as advertised. Based on your review I will have to add some of these to my collection of bits.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Kent Shepherd's profile

Kent Shepherd

2698 posts in 2033 days


#6 posted 06-19-2009 12:10 AM

I have that same bit and I love it. I would highly recommend it. Of course I used it in a Festool Router (Hand held)——I guess that’s cheating, huh? I’ve used other quadra-cut bits in my “normal” routers, and they really are good (The bit, that is!)

patron, Looks like Freud makes about thirty-one bits right now in the Quadra-cut—-12 profiles (different sizes of several of those) I’m sure they will be adding others as time goes on.

-- She thought I hung the moon--now she just thinks I did it wrong

View Rob Drown's profile

Rob Drown

728 posts in 2579 days


#7 posted 06-20-2009 06:47 AM

I tried the roman ogee. It replaced a high speed steel bit. What a huge step up. Wow do they cut fast and smooth!!! They are a very good buy.

-- The expectations of life depend upon diligence; the mechanic that would perfect his work must first sharpen his tools. Confucius, 经过艰苦的努力的梦想可以成真

View a1Jim's profile (online now)

a1Jim

112854 posts in 2323 days


#8 posted 06-20-2009 07:08 PM

I have some there great.good review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Carl Henderson's profile

Carl Henderson

22 posts in 2009 days


#9 posted 06-21-2009 03:36 AM

I have about 30 Freud bits and have been very happy with them all. I also have about 1/2 a dozen from Lee Valley … they too have been very good. Have used these on pine, walnut, cherry, cedar and maple. I usually have to sand the end grain for most profiles..

-- Softouch

View Moron's profile

Moron

4724 posts in 2640 days


#10 posted 06-21-2009 05:48 AM

All wood that is “routed” needs sanding, regardless of the make, the feed speed, or the router

skipping sanding is just …............silly

-- "Good artists borrow, great artists steal”…..Picasso

View EPB's profile

EPB

2 posts in 2083 days


#11 posted 06-23-2009 03:02 PM

I have several of the Quadra bits now after my first experience with their reverse ogee bit. They do cost more but do such a good job and the sharp edge holds up.

-- EPB

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase