LumberJocks

Miterset Standard

  • Advertise with us
Review by Jim posted 06-16-2009 11:19 PM 5163 views 1 time favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Miterset Standard Miterset Standard No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I saw a review of this and decided to order and give it a try. It’s a fine product—accurate and simple to use. My kind of tool! What is it? It’s a jig that “sets any miter gauge to precise angles”. It’s pretty self explanatory in its use but the extra cool feature is the aluminum “step bar” that’s provided that allows the jig to set any 1/2° angle between 0° and 55°. Simple and time saving.

The inventor also has a miter setting jig for segmented cuts as well, but I’m afraid I didn’t get that one yet so I can’t comment on it.

Their website is www.miterset.com

Fine Woodworking had a review of it. And I think the latest issue of Wood Magazine had a review too.

Recommended.

-- Jim, www.greenteawoodworking.com




View Jim's profile

Jim

80 posts in 4070 days



11 comments so far

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 3879 days


#1 posted 06-17-2009 01:30 AM

Thanks for the review Jim.
I have one and it super great for setting angles, don’t know how I got along without it before.

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

117085 posts in 3570 days


#2 posted 06-17-2009 01:31 AM

Hey Jim
Interesting product thanks for the info.

-- https://www.artisticwoodstudio.com/videos wood crafting & woodworking classes

View cabinetmaster's profile

cabinetmaster

10874 posts in 3551 days


#3 posted 06-17-2009 01:33 AM

Thanks. I need to look into this one.

-- Jerry--A man can never have enough tools or clamps

View Sawdustonmyshoulder's profile

Sawdustonmyshoulder

475 posts in 3621 days


#4 posted 06-17-2009 02:10 AM

Oh, yeah. I got one! It is great for setting angles on your miter gauge.

Highly recommend you all get one.

I have the standard version.

-- The more skilled you are at something, the worse you are at it when someone is watching.

View Splinterman's profile

Splinterman

23074 posts in 3354 days


#5 posted 06-17-2009 01:04 PM

Cool looking tool….value added workshop addition.

View Don K.'s profile

Don K.

1075 posts in 3320 days


#6 posted 06-17-2009 08:49 PM

Thanks for the review…I will have to look into one.

-- Don S.E. OK

View OttawaP's profile

OttawaP

89 posts in 3720 days


#7 posted 06-19-2009 12:32 AM

Could someone explain to me why I didn’t think of this ? Brilliant.

-- Paul

View Sawdustonmyshoulder's profile

Sawdustonmyshoulder

475 posts in 3621 days


#8 posted 06-20-2009 02:39 PM

OttawaP,

Same reason I didn’t think of the pet rock or the Big Mac.

-- The more skilled you are at something, the worse you are at it when someone is watching.

View firecaster's profile

firecaster

572 posts in 3412 days


#9 posted 06-21-2009 10:28 PM

Thanks, I’ll be ordering one of these.

-- Father of two sons. Both Eagle Scouts.

View M1t3rS3t's profile

M1t3rS3t

1 post in 893 days


#10 posted 12-09-2015 03:56 PM

I wanted to let you all know that a new MiterSet is being manufactured. It’s made in USA from laser-etched, anodized aluminum. It has a 25-year product lifetime warranty for accuracy and ships in a protective plastic carry case.

There is also MiterSet Segments which sets a miter gauge to cut up to 20 wood segments with perfect angles. There is no need to calculate angles. Simply choose the number of segments required and lock down the angle.

www.miterset.com

View Peteybadboy's profile

Peteybadboy

281 posts in 1943 days


#11 posted 02-13-2018 10:55 AM

I just bought the set. Looking forward to trying it out.

-- Petey

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com