Miterset Standard

  • Advertise with us
Review by Jim posted 06-16-2009 11:19 PM 4047 views 1 time favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Miterset Standard Miterset Standard No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I saw a review of this and decided to order and give it a try. It’s a fine product—accurate and simple to use. My kind of tool! What is it? It’s a jig that “sets any miter gauge to precise angles”. It’s pretty self explanatory in its use but the extra cool feature is the aluminum “step bar” that’s provided that allows the jig to set any 1/2° angle between 0° and 55°. Simple and time saving.

The inventor also has a miter setting jig for segmented cuts as well, but I’m afraid I didn’t get that one yet so I can’t comment on it.

Their website is

Fine Woodworking had a review of it. And I think the latest issue of Wood Magazine had a review too.


-- Jim,

View Jim's profile


80 posts in 3501 days

10 comments so far

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 3309 days

#1 posted 06-17-2009 01:30 AM

Thanks for the review Jim.
I have one and it super great for setting angles, don’t know how I got along without it before.

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View a1Jim's profile


115177 posts in 3001 days

#2 posted 06-17-2009 01:31 AM

Hey Jim
Interesting product thanks for the info.

-- Custom furniture

View cabinetmaster's profile


10874 posts in 2982 days

#3 posted 06-17-2009 01:33 AM

Thanks. I need to look into this one.

-- Jerry--A man can never have enough tools or clamps

View Sawdustonmyshoulder's profile


397 posts in 3052 days

#4 posted 06-17-2009 02:10 AM

Oh, yeah. I got one! It is great for setting angles on your miter gauge.

Highly recommend you all get one.

I have the standard version.

-- Makin' Sawdust!!!

View Splinterman's profile


23066 posts in 2785 days

#5 posted 06-17-2009 01:04 PM

Cool looking tool….value added workshop addition.

View Don K.'s profile

Don K.

1075 posts in 2750 days

#6 posted 06-17-2009 08:49 PM

Thanks for the review…I will have to look into one.

-- Don S.E. OK

View OttawaP's profile


89 posts in 3150 days

#7 posted 06-19-2009 12:32 AM

Could someone explain to me why I didn’t think of this ? Brilliant.

-- Paul

View Sawdustonmyshoulder's profile


397 posts in 3052 days

#8 posted 06-20-2009 02:39 PM


Same reason I didn’t think of the pet rock or the Big Mac.

-- Makin' Sawdust!!!

View firecaster's profile


570 posts in 2842 days

#9 posted 06-21-2009 10:28 PM

Thanks, I’ll be ordering one of these.

-- Father of two sons. Both Eagle Scouts.

View M1t3rS3t's profile


1 post in 323 days

#10 posted 12-09-2015 03:56 PM

I wanted to let you all know that a new MiterSet is being manufactured. It’s made in USA from laser-etched, anodized aluminum. It has a 25-year product lifetime warranty for accuracy and ships in a protective plastic carry case.

There is also MiterSet Segments which sets a miter gauge to cut up to 20 wood segments with perfect angles. There is no need to calculate angles. Simply choose the number of segments required and lock down the angle.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics