LumberJocks

CBN WHEEL

  • Advertise with us
Review by Ken90712 posted 04-25-2016 11:52 PM 2896 views 1 time favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
CBN WHEEL CBN WHEEL CBN WHEEL Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’m pretty new to turning, I’ve been learning and listening to all the advice from all the veterans on here. I have a wet grinder but that was not working for sharpening my chesils. All the help on here and Dave from D – Way Tools recommended the CBN. I bought the 180 grit 8 inch for my new Rikon 1 hp slow speed grinder. I bought the Wolverine jig as recommended as well.

I have to say once set up this is amazing and everything everyone said it would be. My chesils are razor sharp in 8 seconds, worth every penny Thx eveyone.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"




View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

17570 posts in 3304 days



11 comments so far

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

10238 posts in 4168 days


#1 posted 04-26-2016 01:32 AM

Yep… You ARE having fun!

That is GOOD!

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View DocSavage45's profile

DocSavage45

8683 posts in 2958 days


#2 posted 04-26-2016 02:13 AM

Ken, I’ve not seen this before. Is it a diamond grinding wheel?

-- Cau Haus Designs, Thomas J. Tieffenbacher

View lew's profile

lew

12262 posts in 3871 days


#3 posted 04-26-2016 03:28 AM

Thanks for the review, Ken.

I have drooled over one of those wheel but they are $$. Guess I’ll continue using my old Tormek.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View jeff's profile

jeff

1097 posts in 3580 days


#4 posted 04-26-2016 10:15 AM

Your setup looks great.CBN wheels and the Wolverine jig make a fantastic combo.

-- Jeff,Tucson,Az.

View Roger's profile

Roger

20938 posts in 2919 days


#5 posted 04-26-2016 11:45 AM

Thnx for your review Ken. Turn on

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View TheDane's profile

TheDane

5515 posts in 3778 days


#6 posted 04-26-2016 01:40 PM


Ken, I ve not seen this before. Is it a diamond grinding wheel?

- DocSavage45

Nope. CBN (Cubic Boron Nitride) wheels don’t clog as easily as diamond wheels, and for HSS, carbide, etc. are supposed to last longer than diamond wheels.

-- Gerry -- "I don't plan to ever really grow up ... I'm just going to learn how to act in public!"

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

7739 posts in 2122 days


#7 posted 04-26-2016 04:02 PM

Oh great ! Now I have something ELSE to add to my wish list !

Thanks for the review !

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View stefang's profile

stefang

15881 posts in 3449 days


#8 posted 04-26-2016 04:37 PM

That looks real good Ken and should serve you well. I have a Tormek wet grinder and it really isn’t suitable for the initial grind on HSS lathe tools, so I when I change the angle or the shape of a bevel I first grind it on a regular bench grinder and then finish up on the Tormek. After that the Tormek works real well to refresh the bevels.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3530 posts in 3299 days


#9 posted 04-26-2016 05:06 PM

Looks great, wish I had one too.

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

View CyberDyneSystems's profile

CyberDyneSystems

288 posts in 2304 days


#10 posted 06-02-2016 06:04 PM

These are amazing!
I just got a set of CBN wheels from Cuttermaster for my Darex drill sharpener, and love them.

In fact, you’ve inspired me, I’ll have to put up a review :)

-- Without the wood, it's just working

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

17570 posts in 3304 days


#11 posted 06-03-2016 02:20 PM

Congratulations and awesome cyber, we all here about the next greatest tool. It have to say this one lives up to what everyone told me. These are amazing for sharpening turning tools.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com