LumberJocks

Woodhaven Shelf Pin Jig

  • Advertise with us
Review by Chris posted 05-25-2009 04:38 PM 6156 views 0 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Woodhaven Shelf Pin Jig Woodhaven Shelf Pin Jig Woodhaven Shelf Pin Jig Click the pictures to enlarge them

I was half way into my current project of building a pair of Chimney Bookcases when I realized I would benefit from a shelf pin jig instead of trying to make my own. I have very little time for my hobby lately and so using a pre-made jig is far more cost effective for me so I borrowed this Woodhaven jig from a friend.

The package comes with the pins that let you align it to the side of the workpiece (with extras) as well two other pins (5mm & 1/4”), the 1/4” is shown in the 3rd picture. These pins are used when you must drill a line of holes longer than the jig. You simply slide your jig down and insert the pin through the last hole in the jig and into the last hole in the work piece.

Simple and easy to use… It’s an especially good product for people, like me, who do not require one very often.

-- "Everything that is great and inspiring is created by the individual who labors in freedom" -- Albert Einstein




View Chris 's profile

Chris

1867 posts in 2642 days



11 comments so far

View lew's profile

lew

10024 posts in 2406 days


#1 posted 05-25-2009 04:51 PM

Thanks for this review.

I have a Woodhaven miter gauge, it is extremely accurate and well made. I like their products!

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Sawdustonmyshoulder's profile

Sawdustonmyshoulder

257 posts in 2279 days


#2 posted 05-25-2009 09:22 PM

Thanks for the review.

Please tell us more about this jig. Does it space the line of holes 37 millimeters from the edge? Are they spaced 32 mm apart?

-- Makin' Sawdust!!!

View SCOTSMAN's profile

SCOTSMAN

5361 posts in 2236 days


#3 posted 05-25-2009 09:57 PM

I wonder could you tell us the price and also how easy did you find it to use??It looks easy enough but I would make one if this was pricey.Alistair

-- excuse my typing as I have a form of parkinsons disease

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112066 posts in 2228 days


#4 posted 05-25-2009 10:03 PM

Thanks for the reveiw. For years I used a strip of peg board and a 1/4” forestner bit.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Karson's profile

Karson

34874 posts in 3051 days


#5 posted 05-26-2009 12:47 AM

I have the same jig and it works great. Just make sure that you hold it tight to the bottom and the sides. The human and still screw it up.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View emtwoodworker's profile

emtwoodworker

51 posts in 2146 days


#6 posted 05-26-2009 01:32 AM

I have a similar jig from rockler. Very easy to use and comes with a bit with a bushing to avoid chewing up the jig and the bit has a built in depth stop. The jig is $34.99. http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=5876&filter=shelf%20pin%20jig

View cabinetmaster's profile

cabinetmaster

10874 posts in 2209 days


#7 posted 05-26-2009 01:33 AM

I have never heard of this one. Looks good though. Price?

-- Jerry--A man can never have enough tools or clamps

View Emeralds's profile

Emeralds

143 posts in 2213 days


#8 posted 05-26-2009 02:22 AM

Is this a router based jig (if so does it have a collet with it?) or a simple drilling template?

Thanks for the info, it’s always useful.
—Joe

-- JMP

View Splinterman's profile

Splinterman

23058 posts in 2012 days


#9 posted 05-26-2009 01:07 PM

I like the peg board idea A1Jim…......quick, cheap and easy.

View Chris 's profile

Chris

1867 posts in 2642 days


#10 posted 05-26-2009 11:11 PM

For those who asked what it costs… I did not purchase this (as I stated in the review) I borrowed it; but, because I’m such a nice guy I googled it for you: Woodhaven Shelf Pin Jig

Offset from edge: 1 1/2”
Cost @ Woodcraft: $26.99
Used With: router or a drill; does not include the bits

Finding information on the internet: Priceless

-- "Everything that is great and inspiring is created by the individual who labors in freedom" -- Albert Einstein

View SCOTSMAN's profile

SCOTSMAN

5361 posts in 2236 days


#11 posted 05-26-2009 11:43 PM

Wow I thought your jig would have been much more money than that seems very fair to me the perspex one looks more breakable to me but Maybe I am wrong .Alistair

-- excuse my typing as I have a form of parkinsons disease

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase