LumberJocks

Wixey WR300 Digital Angle Gauge

  • Advertise with us
Review by Emeralds posted 05-20-2009 08:58 PM 4471 views 1 time favorited 31 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Wixey WR300 Digital Angle Gauge No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

The Wixey WR300 angle gauge is the perfect device for setting up a table saw, jointer table, bandsaw or any device that requires specific angle juxtaposition. Beyond setting your tool at a 90 degree angle, the WR300 allows you to get +/- 0.1º and for those in need of accurate angle cuts, this can only be a good thing.

Aside from setting the tools themselves this little device takes all the guess work out of jig construction, drill press hole angles and anything requiring a precise, repeatable angle.

The unit couldn’t be easier to setup. Simply place the WR300 in the upright position on your reference surface (the one from which you will measure the desired angle) and hit the zero button. It’s just as easy to set your angle which appears automatically allowing for on the fly adjustments to your tool.

The unit comes with two batteries and will, like most digital equipment, discharge the battery even when not in use so I recommend you remove the battery (an easy process) and store it empty between uses.

The WR300 takes all the guess work and uncertainty out of repeatable angles which can now be set to within +/- 0.1 degree accuracy with no more difficult than moving the table or blade itself. I wonder why I waited so long to get one.

-- JMP




View Emeralds's profile

Emeralds

143 posts in 2219 days



31 comments so far

View lew's profile

lew

10034 posts in 2412 days


#1 posted 05-20-2009 10:21 PM

I never knew how handy this little gauge could be!

Check your drill press table, Check the bandsaw table, Check the jointer fence. It really works!!

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Don Newton's profile

Don Newton

712 posts in 2275 days


#2 posted 05-20-2009 10:25 PM

That’s it….gotta get one!

-- Don, Pittsburgh

View PKP's profile

PKP

94 posts in 2103 days


#3 posted 05-20-2009 10:49 PM

i use one fo set up great device.

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2478 days


#4 posted 05-21-2009 12:03 AM

I have to agree with you on your review. I have one of these as well and use it to set up all my saws and my jointer.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112104 posts in 2233 days


#5 posted 05-21-2009 12:07 AM

I like mine it really help with getting dead on for box miters on your miter sled. Thanks for the review

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11659 posts in 2344 days


#6 posted 05-21-2009 12:53 AM

I’m still kicking myself for not getting one from WoodCraft on sale for $28 a short time ago : (

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View ellen35's profile

ellen35

2570 posts in 2089 days


#7 posted 05-21-2009 01:08 AM

Got one early on…worth it’s price and then some!
I love the thing and use it on all my blades.

-- "Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." Voltaire

View sIKE's profile

sIKE

1271 posts in 2410 days


#8 posted 05-21-2009 03:40 AM

I love mine too!

-- //FC - Round Rock, TX - "Experience is what you get just after you need it"

View pitchnsplinters's profile

pitchnsplinters

262 posts in 2094 days


#9 posted 05-21-2009 11:38 AM

Now you tell me to take the battery out. Thanks for the review.

-- Just 'cause a cat has kittens in the oven, it don't make 'em biscuits.

View Gary Fixler's profile

Gary Fixler

1000 posts in 2038 days


#10 posted 05-21-2009 01:20 PM

I’m adding my card to the hat full of people who have one and love it. It’s treated me well.

-- Gary, Los Angeles, video game animator

#11 posted 05-21-2009 02:53 PM

I also use the Wixey to set the table on the bandsaw. The Wixey magnets stick to the bandsaw blade like they do to the tablesaw blade.
It works well with the Miter saw, too.
If you think about it, this little unit is amazingly versatile.

d

-- Will trade wife's yarn for tools.

View Julian's profile

Julian

880 posts in 2182 days


#12 posted 05-21-2009 03:07 PM

I have one and love it also. I use mine when building stair rails too. It’s great for figuring out the exact miter angle for the cap, and rail, then repeating the cut on the miter saw.

-- Julian, Park Forest, IL

View RedShirt013's profile

RedShirt013

219 posts in 2318 days


#13 posted 05-21-2009 04:49 PM

I have the one sold by Lee Valley also and find that it’s extremely helpful also, although a bit slow to update its angle reading (the 1/50 degree on that one is hard to nail), especially in winter when stored in a cold garage. You can also use it to set the perfect bevel when sharpening your chiesels on a stone

-- Ed

View Splinterman's profile

Splinterman

23058 posts in 2018 days


#14 posted 05-21-2009 04:53 PM

Very versatile addition to the shop.

View khop's profile

khop

134 posts in 2332 days


#15 posted 05-21-2009 10:01 PM

Peachtree Woodworking has them on sale for $19.99 right now. Get em before they’re gone.

KHOP

-- How am I doing? Better than I deserve. Dave Ramsey

showing 1 through 15 of 31 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase