LumberJocks

powermatic benchtop mortiser

  • Advertise with us
Review by kosta posted 05-12-2009 05:37 AM 4324 views 0 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
powermatic benchtop mortiser No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I used this mortiser at my friends house today and it was sweet i am just used to putting a drill bit in the drill press and finishing it off with a rasp but this was awesome but its also a ton of money but its still really nice. Powermatic makes a floor standing model too but this is good enough to make good mortises.

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/




View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days



14 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile (online now)

a1Jim

112486 posts in 2295 days


#1 posted 05-12-2009 05:44 AM

There are a number of Mortisers on the market both bench and floor models , I would suggest looking into grizzlies models.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#2 posted 05-12-2009 05:49 AM

ok yea i have had a lot of demos with grizzly and powermatic tools and they are both great

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist's profile

Greg..the Cajun Wood Artist

5215 posts in 2026 days


#3 posted 05-12-2009 05:52 AM

I have the Powermatic desktop mortiser for about a yeat now and it really is a first class mortiser. Well worth the money. Heads above in quality over my previous Delta mortiser which had numerous problems.
You can’t go wrong with quality.

-- We all must start somewhere in our journey of doing what we love to do.

View Miket's profile

Miket

308 posts in 2490 days


#4 posted 05-12-2009 05:54 AM

I have the Jet version which like the Delta is relativity inexpensive.

-- It's better to have people think you're stupid rather than open your mouth and remove all doubt.

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#5 posted 05-12-2009 05:58 AM

yea i heard that the motors would go real fast on the deltas

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#6 posted 05-12-2009 06:01 AM

Greg how much was your powermatic mortiser

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2540 days


#7 posted 05-12-2009 03:38 PM

Thanks for the review. I am a PM fan and have found their tool line to be well worth the money and their customer service to be excellent. If I did not have the Jet version (which I bought at an estate auction) this is one I definately would have in my shop.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#8 posted 05-12-2009 04:11 PM

Yea powermatic and jet are both owned by WMH tool group and they are both really good

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View RBWoodworker's profile

RBWoodworker

418 posts in 2070 days


#9 posted 05-13-2009 04:28 PM

Has anyone ever used the brand “Multico” I believe it’s British?

-- Randall Child http://www.racfurniture.com/

View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2706 days


#10 posted 05-13-2009 04:53 PM

Interesting what you say about the motors going out in the Deltas. I have had mine for about 5 years and it still works great.

I think that the chisels matter as much as the tool itself.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2367 days


#11 posted 05-13-2009 05:07 PM

would you care to detail why this would be a 5 star as opposed to a 4 star? I see that you are comparing it to a method of drilling with a drill bit and cleaning with a rasp (why not a chisel?) which would obviously make a huge difference. but that would also be the case with using a mortising attachment in the drill press – I’m just curious as to what makes this particular model a 5 star machine? (I believe there’s more to a mortiser than just drilling square holes…. theres alignment issues, power, precision, stops, capacity, etc. – I’m interested to know more about those)

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#12 posted 05-13-2009 05:50 PM

well the alignment is really good and it has enough power to go through any type of wood

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View kosta's profile

kosta

946 posts in 2073 days


#13 posted 05-13-2009 05:51 PM

Hey Garry it depends what type of wood you are using if you are using poplar or pine then the mortiser will last longer if you are using epay then it will not last as long

-- kosta Virginia Beach, VA http://www.kostasworkshop.blogspot.com/

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11676 posts in 2406 days


#14 posted 05-26-2009 06:43 AM

” it was sweet ”
How about some details as to what makes it “sweet” ? This is supposed to be a review , not a taste test.
Other than your drill press , what do you have to compare it to ?
How long have you been using it to rate it at 5 stars ? What type of wood did you mortise ? How many mortises did you make ?
When you referred to “epay” , did you mean Ipe ? What have you built with Ipe that you had to mortise?
It is most commonly used as exterior decking due to its hardness and natural decay resistance.
Here’s a link for you with some Ipe info. http://www.advantagelumber.com/ipedecking.htm

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase