LumberJocks

Exactly What I Needed

  • Advertise with us
Review by smitty22 posted 02-24-2016 01:47 AM 2543 views 1 time favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Exactly What I Needed Exactly What I Needed No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This set of silicone chisel tips/guards is exactly what I’ve been looking for since I started using chisels for serious woodworking. They are rugged and feel like they will survive quite a bit of use, fit standard flat chisels nicely, and are bright red so they don’t disappear in a pile of shavings.

There are 10 of these in the set, about $10 or so. Shown here installed on a few of my chisels, at $10.00 for the set, not cheap, but sure helps keep the cutting edges from banging on each other.

I love ‘em!

-- Smitty




View smitty22's profile

smitty22

714 posts in 2947 days



7 comments so far

View Roger's profile

Roger

20928 posts in 2804 days


#1 posted 02-24-2016 07:18 PM

I seen those, but was afraid to pull the 10 dollar trigger..lol. Thnx for your review. Being made for each size specifically is a big plus

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View Mainiac Matt 's profile

Mainiac Matt

8047 posts in 2328 days


#2 posted 02-25-2016 09:39 PM

How do you like those Marples chisels? I have a similar (older) set that I like a lot and they came with the same black plastic protectors. Of course, I’ve lost half of them. But now I know where to get replacements.

Thanks for posting a useful review.

-- It’s the knowledge in your head, skill in your hands and motivation to create in you heart that makes you a woodworker. - Mainiac Matt

View Picklehead's profile

Picklehead

1041 posts in 1929 days


#3 posted 02-25-2016 11:25 PM

Glad you’re happy. What a profit margin, though.

-- You've got to be smarter than the tree.

View smitty22's profile

smitty22

714 posts in 2947 days


#4 posted 02-25-2016 11:36 PM



How do you like those Marples chisels? I have a similar (older) set that I like a lot and they came with the same black plastic protectors. Of course, I ve lost half of them. But now I know where to get replacements.

Thanks for posting a useful review.

- Mainiac Matt


Hi Matt, The Marples seem fine, backs didn’t need much flattening and they take and hold a really good edge. The only ones I use more are the Buck yellow-handled ones. The steel in those seems a bit softer but I just grab them first, not sure why!
Dale

-- Smitty

View REL's profile

REL

76 posts in 3657 days


#5 posted 02-26-2016 01:46 AM

Lee valley offers a version that are black for about $5.00, I think. I believe there sizes go up to 1 1/4”. Obviously tie in when they are offering free shipping.

-- REL, North Jersey

View REL's profile

REL

76 posts in 3657 days


#6 posted 02-26-2016 01:47 AM

I meant to say THEIR sizes_.

-- REL, North Jersey

View smitty22's profile

smitty22

714 posts in 2947 days


#7 posted 02-26-2016 04:47 AM



Lee valley offers a version that are black for about $5.00, I think. I believe their sizes go up to 1 1/4”. Obviously tie in when they are offering free shipping.

- REL


Thanks REL, I might order a set of those next time I get something from Lee Valley. I have a few other older chisels that could use them.

-- Smitty

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com