LumberJocks

Powermatic 1200 Air Cleaner

  • Advertise with us
Review by Scott Bryan posted 05-09-2009 07:02 AM 4550 views 1 time favorited 24 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Powermatic 1200 Air Cleaner Powermatic 1200 Air Cleaner No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Installation

Assembly of a tool could not have been simpler. The only real assembly consisted of attaching 4 anchor eye bolts to the tool’s cabinet. I chose to mount it to the ceiling in order to control fine dust within the shop. This is definately a two person job since the assembled cabinet weighs about 70 pounds. The unit has three fan speeds and can be set for either continuous operation or set via a timer for 1 to 4 hours.

Performance

The cleaner will remove 99 percent of 5 micron particles with the outer filter and 85 percent of 1 micron particles with the inner filter. The size of the outer filter is 12×24x1 which is a commonly available size and is easily replaceable. The inner filter is cleaned with either compressed air or washed out. The unit comes with a battery powered remote for activating the cleaner.

From my experience with the unit it operates well and does a good job of removing the really fine dust that poses a heath risk when inhaled.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine




View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2475 days



24 comments so far

View blackcherry's profile

blackcherry

3161 posts in 2476 days


#1 posted 05-09-2009 07:17 AM

Nice addition to anyone shop, enjoy the clean air thanks for sharing Blkcherry

View woodworm's profile

woodworm

14125 posts in 2244 days


#2 posted 05-09-2009 07:39 AM

This is one of shop’s necessity that enables a woodworker to work happier and healthier.
Healthy woodworking!

-- masrol, kuala lumpur, MY.

View dlcarver's profile

dlcarver

270 posts in 2383 days


#3 posted 05-09-2009 01:10 PM

Very nice machine Scott…wishI had one. I see those little particles floating in the sunlight.
Dave

-- Dave Leitem,Butler,Pa.,http://dlcarver.etsy.com

View Dave Haynes's profile

Dave Haynes

199 posts in 2007 days


#4 posted 05-09-2009 01:33 PM

That was also my experience when I got my Jet Model AFS1000B Air Filtration System. Just the four I bolts and an extra body to help do the “hanging”. You will be pleased with this piece of equipment. After a night sanding you can just leave the unit on and leave the shop and know that it will shut down later. Congrats on the new unit.

Dave

-- Dave Haynes, Indiana, http://www.oldaveswoodshop.com

View sharad's profile

sharad

1063 posts in 2458 days


#5 posted 05-09-2009 03:32 PM

A very important addition to a woodworking workshop and thanks for sharing it. What is the cost of the unit?
Sharad

-- “If someone feels that they had never made a mistake in their life, then it means they have never tried a new thing in their life”.-Albert Einstein

View Woodchuck1957's profile

Woodchuck1957

944 posts in 2417 days


#6 posted 05-09-2009 03:32 PM

Ofcourse a good dust mask should also be used. I’d also be a little concerned about all that exposed fiberglass insulation blowing around, thats not exactly good for you either.

View HokieMojo's profile

HokieMojo

2101 posts in 2381 days


#7 posted 05-09-2009 03:49 PM

just wondering how you decided on PM vs other brands. this seems like an item where the PM price premium might not be worth it, but you seem to think this stuff out thoroughly before buying . Just curious.

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2475 days


#8 posted 05-09-2009 04:02 PM

Good point, Woodchuck. I have considered putting up a ceiling of some type in there but simply have not gotten around to it. One of the problems that I have is that there is only 92” of clearance to the bottom of the joists. The joists had to be notched 1/2 inch to provide clearance for the garage door opener. But it definately is one my list.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View Woodchuck1957's profile

Woodchuck1957

944 posts in 2417 days


#9 posted 05-09-2009 04:08 PM

Scott, even some thick mil plastic would be an improvement, or better yet if your not strapped for cash, ceiling tiles between the joists.

View Roper's profile

Roper

1359 posts in 2366 days


#10 posted 05-09-2009 04:17 PM

i also just purchased the jet afs , wood craft has it on sale right now for $259, i couldn’t beat the price ,and as a turner i sand alot.

-- Roper - Master of sawdust- www.roperwoodturning.com

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2475 days


#11 posted 05-09-2009 04:18 PM

HokieMojo, as far as selecting the Powermatic I will freely admit to being a Powermatic fan. Whenever I look to purchase a tool I generally start the comparisons with Powermatic and have to have a strong reason to buy another brand. With this purchase they sent me a Powermatic sign, which I was more than happy to mount on my garage door. :) (CPO Powermatic listed it as a $69.00 freebie but even I would not pay this much for a sign!!)

I have always had excellent service from both the company and the equipment. And on-line reviews for this cleaner have all been positive. So part of the reason for buying is simply due to customer loyalty- the same reason I have always bought F150s. But another reason for buying the Powermatic was due to outer filter being a standard size that is readily available from Wal-Mart, Lowes, etc. I read reviews about the Jet, for instance, which uses an odd size filter that either requires modification of a standard filter (usually with duct tape) or buying it from Jet, which adds significantly to the cost. Not a big issue in the long run but just another reason, at least in my mind, to buy the Powermatic.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View HokieMojo's profile

HokieMojo

2101 posts in 2381 days


#12 posted 05-09-2009 08:25 PM

That is a perfectly fair answer in my opinion. Actually nice to see when cost isn’t the only factor. I’ll reward quality or excellent service with loyalty as well. Its not always an easy choice, but in my short time on this planet, I think it has paid off far more often than not.

View MedicKen's profile

MedicKen

1599 posts in 2115 days


#13 posted 05-10-2009 01:22 AM

Did you just come into some cash form an inheritance or did you rob the local bank?LOL…... Sawstop and PM aircleaner at the same time. What else have you recently purchased?

-- My job is to give my kids things to discuss with their therapist....medic20447@gmail.com

View Woodwrecker's profile

Woodwrecker

3607 posts in 2229 days


#14 posted 05-10-2009 02:49 AM

Great addition to your shop for safety week!
That’ll help keep the old lungs clean.

-- Having fun...Eric

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112086 posts in 2230 days


#15 posted 05-10-2009 02:52 AM

Good tool but it’s best if you don’t let the dust in the air to start with.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

showing 1 through 15 of 24 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase