LumberJocks

Branding iron on the go.

  • Advertise with us
Review by mafe posted 01-31-2016 06:25 PM 2980 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Branding iron on the go. Branding iron on the go. Branding iron on the go. Click the pictures to enlarge them

Branding iron
on the go


Do I need a branding iron on the go?
Naaaaaa…... but it’s one of those things that just needed me.
For others, it can be a fair priced way of getting a branding iron for your tools and projects.


So what is this thing?
A small 3D printed object that can be mounted on your BIG lighter and like this it will be able to make you smoke and look smoking hot (also wait for quite some time before it gets hot).
But: the iron gets too hot and melt the lighter, worst case a explosion, in my case just a BIG that did not work…


So: I made a wee rebuild to fit it onto a torch type lighter, like this I could speed up the heating part and mount it in a way where it did not get to hot and still worked as it should.
So yes a wee rebuild and it is a cool object.


Here an example of a branding.

So my jodgement…
As a branding iron for BIG lighters – failed, not even a star.
As a cheapo on the go branding iron after a wee rebuilding – super cool, four stars.
So three is what it gets.

Found mine here:
http://www.shapeways.com/search?q=branding+iron

Happy burning.

Best thoughts,
Mads

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.




View mafe's profile

mafe

11740 posts in 3169 days



8 comments so far

View Combo Prof's profile

Combo Prof

3616 posts in 1357 days


#1 posted 01-31-2016 06:30 PM

Interesting. Thanks for the review.

-- Don K, (Holland, Michigan)

View lew's profile

lew

12205 posts in 3835 days


#2 posted 01-31-2016 06:34 PM

Thanks for the information, Mads!

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View redryder's profile

redryder

2393 posts in 3182 days


#3 posted 01-31-2016 10:26 PM

But: the iron gets too hot and melt the lighter, worst case a explosion,

My shop’s been kinda boring lately. This product might pep things up….........................

-- mike...............

View Roger's profile

Roger

20931 posts in 2884 days


#4 posted 01-31-2016 10:46 PM

Very slick Mads. Thnx for the link also.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1520 posts in 1294 days


#5 posted 02-01-2016 03:15 AM

Very nice review.

-- Desert_Woodworker

View stefang's profile

stefang

15881 posts in 3414 days


#6 posted 02-01-2016 12:38 PM

Very handy? Clever conversion Mads. You have unbounded creativity.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

3524 posts in 3264 days


#7 posted 02-04-2016 11:44 PM

Mads, nice branding iron. I also drew mine in sketchup and got it made by shapeways with my dino skull logo and name. The text came out crappy, but the logo is great. I’m considering grinding off the text and leaving just the logo, but it works okay as-is:

I designed mine to thread onto my existing branding iron’s heating element (aka soldering iron). Cost me all of $14 (plus another $30 for the threading dye… it was a weird size).

-- Allen, Colorado (Instagram @bobasaurus_woodworking)

View mafe's profile

mafe

11740 posts in 3169 days


#8 posted 02-07-2016 05:48 PM

Cool, lovely you could use the old iron.

-- MAD F, the fanatical rhykenologist and vintage architect. Democraticwoodworking.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com