LumberJocks

Makita 4351FCT Whatajigsaw!!

  • Advertise with us
Review by matt garcia posted 04-05-2009 10:28 PM 9225 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Makita 4351FCT Whatajigsaw!! Makita 4351FCT Whatajigsaw!! No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I know there are a lot of Bosch lovers out there, but I took a chance on this jigsaw and man did it pay off! The website indicated it was 40% less vibration than other brands. When I received it, and chucked up one of the new Starrett Dual-Cut blades and turned it on, you could barely feel any vibration. What a huge improvement over the POS Craftsman jigsaw I received as a gift a few years ago.

This saw, in unison with the new Starrett blade yielded splinter free cuts on 3/4” oak veneer plywood. The cut was so effortless, that I am contemplating using it on decorative cuts on my next project that calls for them instead of my bandsaw. It has a 6.3 amp motor, and is illuminated in the front with a bright white LED.

My apologies for the less than crystal clear image of the cut.

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX




View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1832 posts in 2368 days



12 comments so far

View Beginningwoodworker's profile

Beginningwoodworker

13345 posts in 2369 days


#1 posted 04-06-2009 12:02 AM

Sounds like you got a nice tool, I order me a Freud JK85 6 amp jigsaw.

-- CJIII Future cabinetmaker

View Brad_Nailor's profile

Brad_Nailor

2531 posts in 2653 days


#2 posted 04-06-2009 12:56 AM

Thanks for the review..I was thinking of buying the Bosch that everyone raves about…I will have to check this one out first!

-- http://www.facebook.com/pages/DSO-Designs/297237806954248

View pitchnsplinters's profile

pitchnsplinters

262 posts in 2134 days


#3 posted 04-06-2009 01:36 AM

I really like a barrel grip jigsaw, looks like you found a nice one. I purchased a Hilti barrel grip about a year ago and it works like a charm.

I love Makita tools. Thanks for the nice review.

-- Just 'cause a cat has kittens in the oven, it don't make 'em biscuits.

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2345 days


#4 posted 04-06-2009 02:54 AM

Looks like a nice saw. I’m in the market for a barrel grip one, and am thinking about the bosch. This looks like a nice competitor – any mechanism to keep the blade ridgid and straight like the bosch? does the blade have a tendency to flex?

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View Eddy's profile

Eddy

25 posts in 2056 days


#5 posted 04-06-2009 06:28 AM

I have Makita cordless and they are great. I have the Bosch jigsaw though I really like it. If you buy the Bosch make sure its the one that spits the blades for easy change.

-- Edward

View bensaw's profile

bensaw

50 posts in 2156 days


#6 posted 04-06-2009 08:17 PM

Whoa!
I thought the only thing which would give me splinter-free cuts is my EZ-System track system. (Not an advertisement, I just love it. Hope to do a review soon.)
I’ve got to get this on the wishlist!!
Thanks for the post!

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1832 posts in 2368 days


#7 posted 04-07-2009 04:23 AM

PurpLev, this saw has a spring loaded retainer ring that locks the blade in place. It has the thrust roller behind the blade. While I was playing around with it, I never experienced any blade flex. I did start out slow, though.

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2345 days


#8 posted 04-07-2009 04:49 AM

Thanks Matt. looks pretty sweet, and that is one clean cut line indeed! :o) congrats!

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View woodworm's profile

woodworm

14129 posts in 2287 days


#9 posted 04-07-2009 10:09 AM

Looks impressive but with the handle like that I don’it think it fits my small palm.
Thanks for sharing.

-- masrol, kuala lumpur, MY.

View Dwain's profile

Dwain

323 posts in 2555 days


#10 posted 04-07-2009 11:51 PM

I have the Bosch barrel grip. I love the saw. It is a fantastic machine, and if I am lucky, it will be the last that I buy. That being said, I would have liked to compare it to the Makita. They have a great reputation. I hope you are very happy with your purchase. Can I be rude, and ask what you paid?

-- When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there is no end to what you CAN'T do

View matt garcia's profile

matt garcia

1832 posts in 2368 days


#11 posted 04-08-2009 04:41 AM

I paid $163.00 for it. Here is the link:

http://www.tools-plus.com/makita-4351fct.html?utm_medium=feed&utm_source=froogle&utm_term=MAK4351FCT

-- Matt Garcia Wannabe Period Furniture Maker, Houston TX

View Hacksaw's profile

Hacksaw

184 posts in 2072 days


#12 posted 04-29-2009 05:24 PM

Mkita getas a bad rap from a lot of guys.I myself don’t think anyone makes a better drill(not the home center makitas though)Nice to see they are building other good stuff.If I ever burn up my Bosch i’ll have to take a look at it…then again I have a D handle Bosch so maybe I need a Makita auto scroller(barrel grip)

-- Nothing's impossible...it just gets expensive

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase