LumberJocks

LOCKTITE POWER GRAB REALLY SUCKED .... * WORST ADHESIVE ON PLANET EARTH*

  • Advertise with us
Review by Dan'um Style posted 03-31-2009 01:31 AM 11256 views 0 times favorited 27 comments Add to Favorites Watch
LOCKTITE POWER GRAB REALLY SUCKED .... * WORST ADHESIVE ON PLANET EARTH* LOCKTITE POWER GRAB REALLY SUCKED .... * WORST ADHESIVE ON PLANET EARTH* No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

LOCKTITE POWER GRAB is crap.

I glued and clamped six large landscape tiles to a plywood board with Power Grab thinking it would be an improvement over my normal method of Gorilla Glue (sometimes a little messy).

NOT

I HAVE NEVER in all my years used anything that worked so poorly. REALLY REALLY BAD.

Last night I applied 3/4 a tube to fasten my tiles to a plywood backer board. I lightly clamped the tiles with spring clamps and let it setup OVERNIGHT ... (over 20hours).

Came home from work and removed the clamps.

When carrying the large framed piece from one room to the next I needed to lift it over my head to clear some cabinets. One of the tiles fell out and clunked me in the head.

Luckily the tile did not fall to the floor and break.

I sat the framed tiles on my table saw.

Every tile came loose with only finger pressure.

The adhesive (if you could call this crap anything close to that) did not stick to plywood at all

I’m in the process of scrapping the hardened CRAP off the back of the tiles to start over.

My only positive statement is I did not break any tiles.

There is no option for ZERO stars in the rating. That is the only reason I gave it a single star.

THIS IS NO JOKE. THIS IS THE WORST ADHESIVE ON PLANET EARTH.



-- keeping myself entertained ... Humor and fun lubricate the brain




View Dan'um Style's profile

Dan'um Style

13015 posts in 2649 days



27 comments so far

View Douglas Bordner's profile

Douglas Bordner

3966 posts in 2730 days


#1 posted 03-31-2009 01:43 AM

I tried a caulk tube of some of this to install beadboard. All it did was inspire a trip back to the big box for some good old toxic, non-water clean up Hansen’s Liquid Nails (likely known to cause three-headed salmanders AND Cancer in California). The stuff didn’t hang on long enough to get finish brads shot through it.

-- "Bordnerizing" perfectly good lumber for over a decade.

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19479 posts in 2517 days


#2 posted 03-31-2009 03:17 AM

Thanks for the tip Dan. Will be wary of that one. Sounds like a very sticky situation.
(c) TheBrotherhoodclub Pictures, Images and Photos

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19479 posts in 2517 days


#3 posted 03-31-2009 03:22 AM

because Mules are bad... Pictures, Images and Photos

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View Dan'um Style's profile

Dan'um Style

13015 posts in 2649 days


#4 posted 03-31-2009 03:29 AM



-- keeping myself entertained ... Humor and fun lubricate the brain

View oldskoolmodder's profile

oldskoolmodder

763 posts in 2346 days


#5 posted 03-31-2009 04:31 AM

Nice to know. Sad thing is, that at least Liquid Nails WILL WORK, toxic or not.

-- Respect your shop tools and they will respect you - Ric

View timbob's profile

timbob

6 posts in 2082 days


#6 posted 03-31-2009 05:43 AM

I got a tube you can add to your trash pile too. The stuff is useless, but the commercials were funny.

View Gary's profile (online now)

Gary

7291 posts in 2099 days


#7 posted 03-31-2009 05:50 AM

whats sad about Liquid Nails working? I like Liquid Nails. It’s great on pancakes. REALLY sticks to your ribs!!

-- Gary, DeKalb Texas only 4 miles from the mill

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2552 days


#8 posted 03-31-2009 06:11 AM

Did you contact Loctite customer service? If so what did they say?

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

14796 posts in 2342 days


#9 posted 03-31-2009 06:21 AM

Is that the stuff where they hang a hammer from the ceiling in the commercial?

-- "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

View savannah505's profile

savannah505

1703 posts in 2252 days


#10 posted 03-31-2009 06:56 AM

Epoxy works for me, liquid nails should do you okay too though.

-- Dan Wiggins

View Cory's profile

Cory

723 posts in 2085 days


#11 posted 03-31-2009 03:15 PM

Not sure what I’m doing differently, but I have had good luck with Loctite. I’ve used it in quite a few different situations and never had the bad results you experienced. Maybe it’s a bad batch?

-- The secret to getting ahead is getting started.

View PurpLev's profile

PurpLev

8476 posts in 2315 days


#12 posted 03-31-2009 04:56 PM

I have to second Cory – I have been using this stuff for several years with very good results for different applications.

-- ㊍ When in doubt - There is no doubt - Go the safer route.

View Frankie Talarico Jr.'s profile

Frankie Talarico Jr.

353 posts in 2022 days


#13 posted 03-31-2009 08:01 PM

I use Loc-tite heavy duty construction adhesive. its equivelent to Liquid nails H D. This tuff is very strong and has tremendous holding power. It comes in 19 oz. tubes. To put tile i’d use that and a trick is:
1. put the beads of glue where needed.
2. Press together
3. pull apart and let set 2 – 3 mins.
4 press back together and viola!

Works like contact adhesive this way. but use enough and don’t be skimpy.

-- Live by what you believe, not what they want you to believe.

View Don Niermann  's profile

Don Niermann

209 posts in 2638 days


#14 posted 04-01-2009 04:34 AM

I have had problems with epoxy from them and will not buy anything with that name.

-- WOOD/DON (...one has the right to ones opinion but not the right to ones own facts...)

View dusty2's profile

dusty2

318 posts in 2095 days


#15 posted 04-01-2009 04:13 PM

I have no experience with this product but -

If it stuck to the tiles as indicated in the beginning of this thread but did not stick to the plywood maybe, just maybe preparation is part of this problem and NOT the product itself.

It may even be that it is not intended to stick to wood. Loctite is a product line that has been around for a long time and I thought had a pretty good reputation. I suspect we have a premature, knee jerk reaction here.

-- Making Sawdust Safely

showing 1 through 15 of 27 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase