LumberJocks

Serious upgrade

  • Advertise with us
Review by Willowlane posted 10-18-2015 12:20 AM 5196 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Serious upgrade Serious upgrade No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Purchased this at the PA location during their going out of business sale. The retail price was $545 they sold it to me for $475 since they were clearing out the store. In the past I used a craftsman 10”. This new saw has plenty of power. It is covered in grease and assembly took about an hour. I can’t speak for the factory blade as I replaced it with a Timberwof blade. Cuts are clean and fence & table are sturdy and square. The only complaint I have is how difficult it is to get all the bearings tuned. When you set them they move easily while tightening them. Once set the saw performs well. I have used it to make a few bandsaw boxes and my daughters use it for making kid projects. I have resawed 5 1/2” oak, pine, and poplar. It does very well with a Timberwolf 1/2” blade. Keep the length around 3 feet and the pieces are easy to work with.

I am happy with the purchase and happy to be building my wood shop.




View Willowlane's profile

Willowlane

14 posts in 1320 days



7 comments so far

View pjones46's profile

pjones46

1001 posts in 2722 days


#1 posted 10-18-2015 02:56 AM

I also have one and is great. And agree about the blade quide bearings. Nice review.

-- Respectfully, Paul

View Pointer's profile

Pointer

427 posts in 1190 days


#2 posted 10-20-2015 12:45 AM

I have the 30th anniversary edition of this saw. I second the covered in grease. Once cleaned up, it went together fairly easily. I didn’t have any help so needed to cowboy up to place the saw on its base. I also needed to shim the bottom wheel as it was not in the same plane as the upper wheel. The guide bearings are a bit difficult to get right as others have mentioned. I bought an Olson blade to replace the factory blade. All said, I am satisfied with the saw and would buy it again.

-- Joe - - Don't be pessimistic, it never works works anyway.

View 308Gap's profile

308Gap

337 posts in 3082 days


#3 posted 10-20-2015 05:18 PM

Try setting the bearings with the table off, it helped me.

-- Thank You Veterans!

View 308Gap's profile

308Gap

337 posts in 3082 days


#4 posted 10-20-2015 05:23 PM

https://youtu.be/wGbZqWac0jU this video is the best thing I ever did with the bandsaw.

-- Thank You Veterans!

View Pointer's profile

Pointer

427 posts in 1190 days


#5 posted 10-22-2015 01:31 AM

That was a very informative video 308Gap. Thanks for posting. It appears that I have done a few things wrong.

-- Joe - - Don't be pessimistic, it never works works anyway.

View Ken90712's profile

Ken90712

17566 posts in 3267 days


#6 posted 10-22-2015 08:35 AM

Set up on this can be a little odd no doubt. I put the 6 inch riser on mine and feel it was well worth the price. This saw will perform well if like mentioned keeping the guides in tune. Carter Blocks are a little pricey but once you have them your like wow.

-- Ken, "Everyday above ground is a good day!"

View Jim Finn's profile

Jim Finn

2663 posts in 3001 days


#7 posted 01-18-2016 03:53 PM

“I didn’t have any help so needed to cowboy up to place the saw on its base.”

What I did when I assembled mine with the riser is: I assembled it completely , base and all, horizontally , laying on the floor. I then just lifted it to the up-right position. Worked well for me. I was younger then though (70). I do not have a need for a mobile base , and I am sure that would complicate this method a lot.

-- No PHD just a DD214 and a GED Website> https://craftingcouple.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com