LumberJocks

Freud 2 1/4 HP Variable Speed Router Model FT1700VCE

  • Advertise with us
Review by Straightpiped posted 02-21-2009 03:23 AM 7820 views 0 times favorited 13 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Freud 2 1/4 HP Variable Speed Router Model FT1700VCE Freud 2 1/4 HP Variable Speed Router Model FT1700VCE No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Just got this in the mail. Haven’t had a chance to use it yet. I wanted to get this up before the Woodcraft sale went away. $99 with free shipping. This is my second router, my first is a Black and Decker plunge router. This router appears to be quality built. Smooth base adjustment with two different style adjustment knobs that can be switched. Both 1/4” and 1/2” collets. Adjustable speed from 10,000-23,000 RPM. Also comes with a nice case, which is a huge bonus to me. Has a device to hook up to a Dust Collection source. Even comes with the screws to mount it in a table.

I am sure I will enjoy this router for some time.

-- T. Nelson




View Straightpiped's profile

Straightpiped

89 posts in 2244 days



13 comments so far

View pitchnsplinters's profile

pitchnsplinters

262 posts in 2190 days


#1 posted 02-21-2009 03:27 AM

You will have to let us know how it performs once you start making sawdust.

-- Just 'cause a cat has kittens in the oven, it don't make 'em biscuits.

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2638 days


#2 posted 02-21-2009 06:09 PM

I also purchased one of these but haven’t had a chance to do anything with it yet other than mount in a plate for my router table. Please keep us informed and thanks for the post!!!

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View gbvinc's profile

gbvinc

629 posts in 2699 days


#3 posted 02-22-2009 03:28 AM

My brother and I each picked up one of these about a month ago and have been quite pleased with it. The soft start and variable speed under load make for a smooth handling router. No problems with it so far.

View framergp's profile

framergp

2 posts in 2133 days


#4 posted 02-22-2009 06:57 AM

I just purchase the combo fix and plunge base freud Model FT1700VCE router from Home Depot for $99.00. Runs great.

View Todd Thomas 's profile

Todd Thomas

4969 posts in 2201 days


#5 posted 02-22-2009 12:24 PM

For $99 for the combo…I had to feed my addiction….haven’t tried it out yet…..keep us posted..

-- Todd, Oak Ridge, TN, Hello my name is Todd and I'm a Toolholic, I bought my last tool 10 days, no 4 days, oh heck I bought a tool on the way here! †

View Tony Z's profile

Tony Z

205 posts in 2543 days


#6 posted 02-23-2009 03:52 AM

I picked one of these up for my router table and I love it. I had a problem with the height adjustment button and I contacted Freud about it. They sent me out replacement parts 3 days later no questions asked. Great customer service.

-- Tony, Ohio

View John Gray's profile

John Gray

2370 posts in 2638 days


#7 posted 02-23-2009 03:59 AM

Tony, what was wrong with the height adjustment button???

-- Only the Shadow knows....................

View klpete45's profile

klpete45

15 posts in 2147 days


#8 posted 02-23-2009 05:09 AM

congrats on the new tool. Being a newby on LJ, I have a question about ratings – if you haven’t used it yet, how does it get a 5 star rating? Are there previous ratings by others that result in this rating? Thanks

-- Klpete45, Oklahoma

View Tony Z's profile

Tony Z

205 posts in 2543 days


#9 posted 02-24-2009 12:11 AM

John,
The lock button kept slipping when I tried to raise the collet out of the table to change bits. The new internal parts they sent for the button fit a lot tighter and the problem was solved.

-- Tony, Ohio

View wayner's profile

wayner

13 posts in 2420 days


#10 posted 02-24-2009 05:49 AM

Great router and a great price I got the fixed and plunge base
with case at Lowes for $99.00

-- Wayne, Kentucky

View Straightpiped's profile

Straightpiped

89 posts in 2244 days


#11 posted 02-24-2009 05:10 PM

Sounds like Home Depot and Lowes has a little better deal, Woodcraft is fixed base only.

-- T. Nelson

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

3570 posts in 1566 days


#12 posted 12-14-2010 08:22 PM

5 stars for me too. The full above-the-table adjustmsnts sold me. This is actaully a 13 amp router, and may be under rated at 2.25 hp. Very smooth, very powerful router. I use it in my table with great success, however it is a nice hand router too.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View woodchipper63's profile

woodchipper63

2 posts in 1775 days


#13 posted 10-02-2011 02:43 AM

Does anyone have a remedy for a slipping plunge clutch on a Freud VCE1700?

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase