LumberJocks

Great DVD's - Especially for those just starting out.

  • Advertise with us
Review by GaryK posted 02-19-2009 01:16 AM 2176 views 1 time favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great DVD's  - Especially for those just starting out. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

As one of the prizes for the Winter 2009 contest I received a pair of DVD sets from
Passion for Wood.

I wanted to give them a quick review.

For those just starting out, the DVD set on Jointer and Planer Secrets would be of great value.
The jointer can be a tricky tool to master and Hendrik goes into great detail on the subject.

You can save a lot of money buying rough lumber and this DVD will show you how to make
usable wood from it.

All in all a great 4 1/2 hour, 2 DVD set.

The Table Saw DVD is also very informative. It goes through set-up of the table saw
in very nice detail. Also shown are the basic uses and special cases, like large pieces.

As a bonus Hendrik goes step-by-step through building a crosscut sled. Every aspect
is addressed.

A great almost 10 hour, 5 DVD set.

-- Gary - Never pass up the opportunity to make a mistake look like you planned it that way - Tyler, TX




View GaryK's profile

GaryK

10262 posts in 2676 days



7 comments so far

View lew's profile

lew

10092 posts in 2443 days


#1 posted 02-19-2009 01:24 AM

Thanks for the review, Gary. BTW, congrats again on the win!

Lew

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Karson's profile

Karson

34891 posts in 3088 days


#2 posted 02-19-2009 02:11 AM

gary i have the Jointer set. A reat purchase. I guess I’ll need to get the table saw one.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View sharad's profile

sharad

1065 posts in 2492 days


#3 posted 02-19-2009 07:42 AM

Very useful review for the beginners. Congratulations for your double win in the contest. I would like to see one of your projects using only hand tools.
Sharad

-- “If someone feels that they had never made a mistake in their life, then it means they have never tried a new thing in their life”.-Albert Einstein

View Sac's profile

Sac

268 posts in 2321 days


#4 posted 02-19-2009 01:58 PM

Thanks for the reviews Gary. Was there any information on Lathe? The planer and table saw sounds like some good ones to look at. i’ll have to check out thier web site.

-- Jerry

View MJMeers's profile

MJMeers

29 posts in 2099 days


#5 posted 05-17-2009 03:31 AM

I have both of these sets. These are truly seminars in a box… I have never seen a DVD go into the amount detail that Hendrik goes into. I can not wait till his next DVD.

5 Stars…Simply excellent.

-- Matt, RI

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112313 posts in 2265 days


#6 posted 05-17-2009 03:35 AM

Thanks Gary, Hendrik is someone new to me,

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View bryguy22's profile

bryguy22

23 posts in 902 days


#7 posted 07-08-2012 04:57 PM

His dvds are the best out there. A little dry on presentation but the information is unreal. I have three of his sets and they are so informative I take notes and review the information at a pace I can digest. A class would be to quick to grasp this amount of information but wih the dvds you can review any part at any time and at your own pace. Blows all other dvds away in my opinion, and I have many different brands (authors).

-- Bryan, york pa

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase