LumberJocks

Grizzly G0555LX - 14" Deluxe Bandsaw - Love it

  • Advertise with us
Review by Kurt T. Kneller posted 08-14-2015 12:54 AM 5794 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Grizzly G0555LX - 14" Deluxe Bandsaw - Love it No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this bandsaw this past spring. I also bought the riser block to obtain a 12” cutting capacity.
I really like this saw, it has plenty of power, runs smooth with no vibration. Fit an finish was on the mark and assembly was straight forward. I did have to add shims to the riser block, other than that is has been performing well for me. It has cut everything I have asked it to (and some I didn’t ….. 9 stiches right index finger) from mdf to plywood to oak and I am sure more varieties to come.
For the money I think it is a solid tool and it only took 3 days to arrive from the time of order to opening the boxes.
Good bandsaw!

-- Start with ten, end with ten.......




View Kurt T. Kneller's profile

Kurt T. Kneller

126 posts in 1270 days



8 comments so far

View EricLew's profile

EricLew

199 posts in 1272 days


#1 posted 08-14-2015 04:49 AM

I completely agree Kurt. I bought the anniversary edition last Christmas and am also very happy with it. no complaints at all
Eric

-- I love the smell of coffee in the morning, and sawdust in the afternoon

View WoodNSawdust's profile

WoodNSawdust

1417 posts in 1082 days


#2 posted 08-14-2015 10:05 AM

Thanks or the review.

I have the larger 17” Grizzly and seem to be replacing one of the guide bearings per year. Have you had any problems with yours?

-- "I love it when a plan comes together" John "Hannibal" Smith

View Bob A in NJ's profile

Bob A in NJ

1211 posts in 3905 days


#3 posted 08-14-2015 05:51 PM

I have this one also and think its a very good saw, I tricked it out with carter guide bearings and made it even better.

Good lick with yours, its will serve you well.

-- Bob A in NJ

View crashn's profile

crashn

528 posts in 2371 days


#4 posted 08-17-2015 01:39 PM

well, stitches are better than no finger! be safe

-- Crashn - the only thing I make more of than sawdust is mistakes

View jimbolyy's profile

jimbolyy

3 posts in 918 days


#5 posted 08-19-2015 11:12 AM

Hope to have money to buy it quickly…

-- Codes

View Kurt T. Kneller's profile

Kurt T. Kneller

126 posts in 1270 days


#6 posted 08-19-2015 09:46 PM

When I ordered mine shipping was free, although I bought a jointer also. Get the “to house” delivery instead of the curb service. It was worth the $30 to have placed into my garage.

-- Start with ten, end with ten.......

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

321 posts in 2597 days


#7 posted 08-21-2015 06:50 PM

I have the same saw and love it, been a trooper no matter what I’ve done. I cut three of my fingers when a blade broke – and slammed my hand down and broke all 3 as well as cut them. Still have the digits, so I was lucky.

Bob A in NJ do you have the part numbers for the Carter guides?

-- Mike

View Jim Finn's profile

Jim Finn

2622 posts in 2828 days


#8 posted 01-03-2016 06:59 PM

I have this saw also, since 2008 I have had to replace some of the guide bearings that I bought locally a bit cheaper than from Grizzly. I had to replace the bottom wheel shaft because I was over tensioning the blade I think. I use it mostly for re-sawing. Nice saw.

-- No PHD, but I have a GED and my DD 214

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com