LumberJocks

They are finally here...

  • Advertise with us
Review by DKV posted 07-01-2015 11:15 PM 4856 views 0 times favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
They are finally here... They are finally here... No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

7/1/2015 – I will clean them up and start reviewing them tonight or tomorrow. All I know right now is they are very oily and the tips are covered in plastic. They will be rated 1 star until I find out different. More later…

7/2/2015 – Just got done testing 4 bits. Each bit was used to drill 5 holes. When the holes were measured each was small by 1/128-1/256. The dial calipers I used also come from Lee Valley. Since a woodshop is not a machine shop I am totally happy with the outcome. Four stars until I get a chance to see how they wear.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.




View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2504 days



18 comments so far

View jumbojack's profile

jumbojack

1676 posts in 2624 days


#1 posted 07-01-2015 11:25 PM

Chuck each one in your DP and check for run out. I had one that was unusable .04” wobble.

-- Made in America, with American made tools....Shopsmith

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2504 days


#2 posted 07-01-2015 11:32 PM



Chuck each one in your DP and check for run out. I had one that was unusable .04” wobble.

- jumbojack

Did you send them back?

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View RobS888's profile

RobS888

2411 posts in 1845 days


#3 posted 07-02-2015 08:38 AM

So they are packed well for safety and rust protection?

-- I always suspected many gun nuts were afraid of something, just never thought popcorn was on the list.

View ellen35's profile

ellen35

2738 posts in 3432 days


#4 posted 07-02-2015 11:38 AM

Have had them for about 3 years… they are my “go to” bits for precise drilling and they are perfect.
They hold their point and sharpness.
I have a “box” of those “200 drill bits for $69” from Woodcraft that I use maybe 3-4 times and throw away.
You get what you pay for.
Just my 0.02 cents.
I’ll be very interested in your analysis, DKV.

-- "Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good." Voltaire

View CooperDBM's profile

CooperDBM

31 posts in 2346 days


#5 posted 07-02-2015 11:43 AM

Guilty until proven innocent?

-- Dave, Ottawa, ON

View BinghamtonEd's profile

BinghamtonEd

2298 posts in 2369 days


#6 posted 07-02-2015 11:54 AM

DKV, I enjoy many of your posts, but not this review. 1 star for a review of a product that hasn’t even been used yet.

-- - The mightiest oak in the forest is just a little nut that held its ground.

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

7736 posts in 2007 days


#7 posted 07-02-2015 12:48 PM

You may not realize this, but your 1 point review will skew the scoring results (if in fact these turn out to be fantastic bits).

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2504 days


#8 posted 07-02-2015 03:00 PM

The one star review is not final as I tried to initially say. I wanted to open the review thread and there is no choice for a pending rating. The one star is temporary, I repeat, temporary. I will start the review tonight and probably finish in the next couple days. Guilty until proven innocent? Only a short time.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2504 days


#9 posted 07-02-2015 03:04 PM



So they are packed well for safety and rust protection?

- RobS888

Packed well for safety and very, very well protected against rust. Dripping well protected. A thin film would have been better.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View WoodNSawdust's profile

WoodNSawdust

1417 posts in 1176 days


#10 posted 07-02-2015 03:06 PM

Given they are from Lee-Valley I would probably have given them initially a four star rating or have held off on any review until I have actually used them for a few projects.

-- "I love it when a plan comes together" John "Hannibal" Smith

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2504 days


#11 posted 07-02-2015 03:08 PM



Given they are from Lee-Valley I would probably have given them initially a four star rating or have held off on any review until I have actually used them for a few projects.

- WoodNSawdust

Good suggestion. I will do that.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View ChuckC's profile

ChuckC

828 posts in 2935 days


#12 posted 07-02-2015 04:32 PM

Yeah, a 1 star placeholder (I guess 4 now) is a useless “review”. Let’s use the darn thing first and post something meaningful afterwards.

View Daruc's profile

Daruc

460 posts in 1132 days


#13 posted 07-02-2015 04:45 PM

Another Review without ever using them?
Maybe you should have put this in a different category until you have experience with them?
As you said, there is no option for a pending rating.

Funny, you complain about people asking what table saw to buy and you can’t even pick your own drill bits. LOL
FI,, (Friend Indeed)

-- -

View ChuckV's profile

ChuckV

3119 posts in 3527 days


#14 posted 07-03-2015 12:12 AM

You should make videos of the testing process. You could provide the first few videos, using the smallest bits, for free. Once everyone is hooked, hit ‘em with a subscription to see the larger bits in action!

-- “Big man, pig man, ha ha, charade you are.” ― R. Waters

View RPhillips's profile

RPhillips

1178 posts in 1836 days


#15 posted 07-03-2015 02:57 AM



You should make videos of the testing process. You could provide the first few videos, using the smallest bits, for free. Once everyone is hooked, hit em with a subscription to see the larger bits in action!

- ChuckV


genius….

-- Rob - Indianapolis IN - Learning... one mistake at a time...

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com