LumberJocks

Great cutting bits

  • Advertise with us
Review by DKV posted 06-20-2015 07:48 PM 3747 views 0 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great cutting bits No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought this set of drill bits because I was always needing a bit a tad larger or smaller than the bit I had available. This is a set from 1/16 to 1/2 inches by 1/64th. It’s the “by 1/64th” that I bought the set. Now I can easily go a tad bigger or smaller. The bits cut very clean holes entry and exit but all new bits probably do. The real test comes after a year or so of use. These bits get 4 stars until I see them holding their edge after a year’s use.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.




View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2585 days



9 comments so far

View Grumpymike's profile

Grumpymike

2281 posts in 2396 days


#1 posted 06-21-2015 07:26 PM

Unfair test ”The real test comes after a year or so of use. These bits get 4 stars until I see them holding their edge after a year’s use.”
The true test would be of how many hours of use does the tool stay sharp.

I was curious as to the life of the different manufacturers of router bits and their claims of longer life.
So I log booked the actual running and cutting hours of each bit.
(I quit the test after I realized how little time each of my bits actually run and cut in a 6 month time.)

“Ya get what ya pay for” is the bottom line here, Cheap tools will work fine a time or two. Quality tools will last me the rest of my life.

Irwin tools are a good utility grade tool and the amount that you use them will determine the life …
My 2 cent advise? ... buy a Drill Dr. to go with any drill set … or if your good enough you can sharpen them on a grinder … like planes and chisels drill bits will need to be sharpened every now and then.

-- Grumpy old guy, and lookin' good Doin' it. ... Surprise Az.

View Woodknack's profile

Woodknack

12222 posts in 2461 days


#2 posted 06-23-2015 05:50 AM

I have an old Craftsman set by 64ths from some dinky size that looks like a sewing needle up to 1/4”, then it jumps to 32nds up to 3/8”. I think, it’s something like that. It’s one of those things you use all the time but never really look at too hard. Anyway I’ve been thinking of buying a new set and will take a look at these.

-- Rick M, http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11819 posts in 3769 days


#3 posted 06-27-2015 03:28 AM

What have you drilled with them to rate 4 stars at this time ?

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2585 days


#4 posted 06-27-2015 03:32 AM

Dusty, hard maple, walnut, red oak and poplar. I used a drill press, advanced slowly, used a backer board and in all 200 plus tests the entrance and exit holes were clean and neat. Now I have to see if they hold their edge.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View SapDruide's profile

SapDruide

4 posts in 1143 days


#5 posted 06-29-2015 09:59 PM

Thanks for that review DKV, I guess I’ll invest a bit of money in these ones.

View NiteWalker's profile

NiteWalker

2737 posts in 2657 days


#6 posted 06-30-2015 12:09 PM

These are good bits. I’ve had them for a few years now and they stay sharp so long as you don’t abuse them.

-- He who dies with the most tools... dies with the emptiest wallet.

View marc7101's profile

marc7101

23 posts in 1148 days


#7 posted 07-03-2015 11:55 AM

looks like very good bits, but would like to see after a year’s use if they’re still sharp and checked for run out in drill press.

-- Marc- http://www.thediyhubby.com/drill-press-reviews/

View WoodNSawdust's profile

WoodNSawdust

1417 posts in 1257 days


#8 posted 07-03-2015 01:12 PM

Thanks for the review!

As stated the real test is how long they last. Please update us as time progresses.

-- "I love it when a plan comes together" John "Hannibal" Smith

View Dusty56's profile

Dusty56

11819 posts in 3769 days


#9 posted 07-03-2015 02:27 PM

Thanks for the info : )

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com