LumberJocks

Elbow Grease

  • Advertise with us
Review by Blake posted 12-10-2008 07:56 PM 1999 views 0 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Elbow Grease Elbow Grease No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I have used a lot of this stuff so I thought I would write a review.

Its good for just about everything. I have used it at work, at home, and even in my shop. I try to keep it with me at all times in case I need it.

It is especially useful for big jobs like waxing your car, installing a new roof, or chopping firewood. Its great for cleaning the entire home, and I even used it when I hung my Christmas lights last weekend. In fact there is no job, big or small, that Elbow Grease can’t handle. It is even delicate enough to handle small detailed jobs like removing grout from between your tile.

The only reason I had to give it 4 out of 5 stars is that it aways takes a LOT of work to use this stuff, but it gets the job done every time.

-- Happy woodworking! http://www.openarmsphotography.com




View Blake's profile

Blake

3439 posts in 2623 days



14 comments so far

View lew's profile

lew

10155 posts in 2504 days


#1 posted 12-10-2008 08:27 PM

Is this in the Whachamacallit isle at Lowes?

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Dadoo's profile

Dadoo

1776 posts in 2739 days


#2 posted 12-10-2008 08:39 PM

Good one Blake!

-- Bob Vila would be so proud of you!

View SPalm's profile

SPalm

4935 posts in 2630 days


#3 posted 12-10-2008 09:00 PM

I have used to grease the Mental Floss I use on my children. Works Great. From ear to ear.

-- -- I'm no rocket surgeon

View Kindlingmaker's profile

Kindlingmaker

2654 posts in 2275 days


#4 posted 12-10-2008 09:19 PM

I’m allergic to it myself!

-- Never board, always knotty, lots of growth rings

View Karson's profile

Karson

34915 posts in 3149 days


#5 posted 12-11-2008 01:48 AM

Is this the light or heavy duty stuff.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View Dominic Vanacora's profile

Dominic Vanacora

508 posts in 2618 days


#6 posted 12-11-2008 04:32 AM

I have the same brand in my tool box and you’re right this is great stuff. I would have given it a 5 star rating. I have been teaching my son how to use it. He’s a IT guy and does not use much of this at work but when he get home he has to use it….like it or not. I should have given my own review but sometime you take things for granted.
thanks for taking the time to open my eyes.

-- Dominic, Trinity, Florida...Lets be safe out there.

View DRdeveloper's profile

DRdeveloper

23 posts in 2214 days


#7 posted 12-11-2008 05:22 AM

I often find that when I run out of my own, it’s a good idea to buy some from a reliable source. However, invariably, I always have to buy two to match the strength of my own stuff. I don’t know why…

-- Mark, Dominican Republic

View scottb's profile

scottb

3648 posts in 3075 days


#8 posted 12-11-2008 04:24 PM

I too use this frequently… just wish I could find a “left handed” formula.

-- I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it. - Van Gogh -- http://blanchardcreative.etsy.com -- http://snbcreative.wordpress.com/

View dennis mitchell's profile

dennis mitchell

3994 posts in 3063 days


#9 posted 12-11-2008 04:56 PM

I had an old can from my Granddad. Now that guy could spread some grease. Kinda puts me to shame. This modern formula just isn’t the same after the EPA got done with it.

View Tony's profile

Tony

978 posts in 2779 days


#10 posted 12-11-2008 09:57 PM

I stopped using that stuff years ago, where can I buy some more – is it FDA approved?

-- Tony - All things are possible, just some things are more difficult than others! - SKYPE: Heron2005 (http://www.poydatjatuolit.fi)

View Steelmum's profile

Steelmum

355 posts in 2711 days


#11 posted 12-12-2008 03:50 PM

I do try to avoid that stuff. I think it would be a good Christmas gift for my husband though. When I don’t want to use it, I ‘ask’ him to.

-- Berta in NC

View Todd A. Clippinger's profile

Todd A. Clippinger

8791 posts in 2848 days


#12 posted 12-13-2008 10:24 PM

I found an old tin of this at a garage sale. It was about 1/2 full. The old lady said that her husband swore by it, but I found it to take a lot of energy.

It works on just about anything though – just like you said.

-- Todd A. Clippinger, Montana, http://americancraftsmanworkshop.com

View rikkor's profile

rikkor

11295 posts in 2623 days


#13 posted 12-13-2008 10:28 PM

I got the economy sized can. It’s very useful stuff.

View Napaman's profile

Napaman

5365 posts in 2825 days


#14 posted 01-05-2009 04:50 AM

where can i get some…?

-- Matt--Proud LJ since 2007

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase