LumberJocks

An Excellent, Inexpensive, Machine Lighting Alternative

  • Advertise with us
Review by DeLayne Peck posted 04-15-2015 06:25 AM 5015 views 5 times favorited 18 comments Add to Favorites Watch
An Excellent, Inexpensive, Machine Lighting Alternative No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I have frequently wished I could add extra lighting to some of machine tools in my shop. My band-saw was a leading candidate. I found an excellent alternative between old hot bulb and expensive high intensity work lights – LED sewing machine lights.

The unit I purchased is a generic Chinese make. It is durably constructed. There’s no heat and clumsy fiddling. A strong magnetic base stays put in any position. The 7” goose neck is highly adjustable and holds its position. An on-off switch is conveniently located.

The unit is 110 AC with a 5 ft. cord. I especially like that it light-weight, slim, out-of the way, and very portable. The 20 LED head cast a wide, bright, glare-free light.

Best of all. At $14.90, it is inexpensive!

Available on Amazon.

Important Update: Found and ordered a 30 LED model that I found on eBay. Arrived quickly. Has higher intensity LEDS with a longer cord. Available on eBay. Suitable for some applications were more light is required.

-- DJ Peck, Lincoln Nebraska. Lord, keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.




View DeLayne Peck's profile

DeLayne Peck

587 posts in 2348 days



18 comments so far

View robscastle's profile

robscastle

5313 posts in 2351 days


#1 posted 04-15-2015 06:48 AM

I had better check them out, I need one for my bandsaw also.
If I buy two I can get some extra points by giving the other to Aurora for her sewing machine

I am off!

-- Regards Rob

View DeLayne Peck's profile

DeLayne Peck

587 posts in 2348 days


#2 posted 04-15-2015 07:21 AM

Rob, I betting she will move your bowl back in the house.

-- DJ Peck, Lincoln Nebraska. Lord, keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.

View Jeff's profile

Jeff

70 posts in 1585 days


#3 posted 04-15-2015 12:03 PM

Thanks for posting this. I was looking for an inexpensive alternative to what the woodworker stores sell.

-- "...building is far more gratifying that consuming" - Chris Schwarz

View WoodNSawdust's profile

WoodNSawdust

1417 posts in 1323 days


#4 posted 04-15-2015 01:07 PM

Thanks for sharing. I will be ordering one.

-- "I love it when a plan comes together" John "Hannibal" Smith

View gfadvm's profile

gfadvm

14940 posts in 2837 days


#5 posted 04-15-2015 01:33 PM

Thanks DJ, The one I got at Wally World had a pi$$ poor magnet, fell off the bandsaw, and broke the first time I used it!

-- " I'll try to be nicer, if you'll try to be smarter" gfadvm

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4863 posts in 3195 days


#6 posted 04-15-2015 01:42 PM

Thank you for the very useful information

-- Bert

View johnstoneb's profile

johnstoneb

3014 posts in 2319 days


#7 posted 04-15-2015 04:01 PM

Thank You for the post. I have been looking for a light fo my drill press. At that price probably buy 2. Band saw coul use one also.

-- Bruce, Boise, ID

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

7739 posts in 2153 days


#8 posted 04-15-2015 04:15 PM

Hey thanks for posting this. On my bandsaw I’ve been using a clamp-style light with a gooseneck and the head is so heavy that I’ve had to prop it up. This looks like a good replacement!

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View philba's profile

philba

96 posts in 1519 days


#9 posted 04-15-2015 10:15 PM

Thanks for reviewing! Is the light bluish or warm white?

View wunderaa's profile

wunderaa

248 posts in 2349 days


#10 posted 04-16-2015 01:19 AM

have the same one on my BS…love it! Light is a bit too white, but FWIW, it’s pretty darn good for me!

View DeLayne Peck's profile

DeLayne Peck

587 posts in 2348 days


#11 posted 04-16-2015 03:31 AM

philba, it casts a neutral, white light. Bright enough in the 12 to 16 inch range.

-- DJ Peck, Lincoln Nebraska. Lord, keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.

View mandatory66's profile

mandatory66

202 posts in 2277 days


#12 posted 04-16-2015 03:53 AM

Thanks for the review and link, just ordered one for my bandsaw.

View ward63's profile

ward63

353 posts in 3234 days


#13 posted 04-16-2015 02:21 PM

I just get micro pen lights from the dollar store. some have micro batteries & some have AAA batteries depending on the amount of light you need. I have too many AC cords running in my shop.

View HighPointWW's profile

HighPointWW

50 posts in 1642 days


#14 posted 04-17-2015 09:50 AM

I’ve been using the exact same lights (20 LED) on my drill press, bandsaw, RAS and wherever I need to stick a light. Great price and they should last years and years! Completely white, pure light that’s just bright enough to light the business area.

View Roger's profile

Roger

20949 posts in 2950 days


#15 posted 04-17-2015 06:41 PM

Thnx for your review and link De. I’ve added it to my wish list.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

showing 1 through 15 of 18 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com