LumberJocks

Love this jig...Hate the dust storm

  • Advertise with us
Review by DKV posted 04-10-2015 01:22 AM 4537 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Love this jig...Hate the dust storm Love this jig...Hate the dust storm Love this jig...Hate the dust storm Click the pictures to enlarge them

I have never done dovetails upside down with a router table but it works great. You can see Roger Gifkin demonstrating the jig on youtube. I have used the jig twice so far. Both results came out with a tight perfect fit. Make sure your stock is square and flat. Follow the easy directions and be happy. This is a five star review…except for the dust storm which is caused by doing your dovetails on a router table. Mask and safety glasses are a must. As you lean over the jig to guide the work through the router bit you get the up draft from your router and the dust square in the face. I had to move off to the side a bit. Still there was a lot to cleanup when finished. The cleanup is a small price to pay for perfect dovetails.

-- This is a Troll Free zone.




View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2410 days



8 comments so far

View waho6o9's profile

waho6o9

8099 posts in 2483 days


#1 posted 04-10-2015 01:52 AM

Clean work with tight joinery, good job DKV.

Where did you purchase your A10?

TIA

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2410 days


#2 posted 04-10-2015 02:08 AM

Japan Woodworker

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5568 posts in 2719 days


#3 posted 04-10-2015 02:58 AM

Very nice results. I don’t think my router plate is centered perfectly enough for that jig.
Nice review, thanks for posting.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View dschlic1's profile

dschlic1

407 posts in 1875 days


#4 posted 04-10-2015 05:26 PM

Maybe add a down draft to your router table?

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1308 posts in 1120 days


#5 posted 04-10-2015 08:03 PM

I checked out some video on this- I am impressed. The negaive would be where do you get dovetail bits with an attached bearing, which is needed for this device. Price- some will say high- some its a deal.
Also, http://www.sears.com/gifkins-a10-box-makers-dovetail-jig-from-japan/p-SPM7792969027
Enjoy

-- Desert_Woodworker

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5568 posts in 2719 days


#6 posted 04-11-2015 01:16 AM

Oh, I see that it actually uses bearing guided bits so a centered router plate is not a concern. Even better!

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View DKV's profile

DKV

3940 posts in 2410 days


#7 posted 04-11-2015 01:30 AM

Pintodeluxe, did you see my dustdeluxe collector?

-- This is a Troll Free zone.

View OSU55's profile (online now)

OSU55

1522 posts in 1895 days


#8 posted 04-14-2015 01:47 PM

Especially since dust collection doesn’t work well with this jig, I’m struggling to see the benefit vs a porter cable type jig particularly since it is ~2x the cost? I get that it’s on a router table vs hand held, and doesn’t require the router plate to be centered.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com