LumberJocks

Review of Trend Tool & Bit Cleaner

  • Advertise with us
Review by Lee posted 03-25-2015 04:26 PM 3186 views 0 times favorited 15 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Review of Trend Tool & Bit Cleaner Review of Trend Tool & Bit Cleaner Review of Trend Tool & Bit Cleaner Click the pictures to enlarge them

After reading so many good things about this product, I decided to try it myself. I did a comparison using the Trend Tool and Bit cleaner and just some penetrating oil that I was using before.

First pic shows a saw blade that I’ve chosen to try the Trend on first. 2nd pic shows how I divided up the saw, into two sides. One side I cleaned with the Trend, and the other with just simple penetrating oil (like WD-40). This one from Ashburns. I let each half of the blade soak in each cleaner for about a half-hour. Wiped off with a cloth, and was pretty amazed on how well the Trend worked. I think I also used an old toothbrush on the tough spots. It also works really well on router bits. I will always keep some of this good stuff on hand!!

-- Lee




View Lee's profile

Lee

50 posts in 1338 days



15 comments so far

View BTimmons's profile

BTimmons

2303 posts in 2626 days


#1 posted 03-25-2015 06:56 PM

That’s something I definitely overlook, is cleaning my blades. Good to have some thought put into this, thanks for the review.

-- Brian Timmons - http://www.BigTWoodworks.com

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4863 posts in 3190 days


#2 posted 03-25-2015 07:52 PM

I have been using straight Ammonia for years it works great for me, it is very inexpensive and I do not mind the smell.

-- Bert

View Dj1225's profile

Dj1225

70 posts in 2361 days


#3 posted 03-25-2015 10:19 PM

Rockler makes another product that works very well. They have a kit that comes with a nice round container that you can pour the cleaner in. Up to a 12 inch blade sits up nice and it is easy to clean. I just leave the cleaner in the container. I also use the Trend, but usually on router bits. The other day I put some of the Rockler solution in a small plastic yogurt cup and dropped a pretty used router bit in it. I forgot and left it in the solution for a couple of days. It was almost shiny when it came out. I don’t think it effected the bit, but it definitely cleaned it up.

-- Dave

View longgone's profile

longgone

5688 posts in 3450 days


#4 posted 03-25-2015 10:39 PM

The best and really affordable blade and bit cleaner i have used is oven cleaner from the Dollar General store.
it has a strong odor but my simple solution is to use it outside. It works fast and I just let it stay on the blade a couple of minutes and then rinse off with water

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1613 posts in 1356 days


#5 posted 03-26-2015 01:29 AM

Currently, I use Simply Green, soak according to the build up. Then I use a brass bristle brush, very gently. This has been for saw blades. Now that I am using very expensive bits (Amana), and watching this Trends vid-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-E9Pdt9RYJk. I will order a 18oz of “Thrends” for it was from watching this vid that hooked me ( if you watch it notice that he isn’t wearing gloves ). Thanks for the review, for it brought to re-think “cleaning”

-- Desert_Woodworker

View sawdustjunkie's profile

sawdustjunkie

384 posts in 1858 days


#6 posted 03-26-2015 02:22 AM

Simple green works great. I try to keep them clean so there is very little buildup.

-- Steve: Franklin, WI

View timbertailor's profile

timbertailor

1594 posts in 1565 days


#7 posted 03-26-2015 02:47 AM

Simple green is great but do not soak your blades in it for too long. Wash with water once clean. It can eat into the bonding compounds if left on.

-- Brad, Texas, https://www.youtube.com/user/tonkatoytruck/feed

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1613 posts in 1356 days


#8 posted 03-26-2015 03:20 AM

thanks

-- Desert_Woodworker

View GFactor's profile

GFactor

80 posts in 1741 days


#9 posted 03-26-2015 09:53 AM



Now that I am using very expensive bits (Amana), and watching this Trends vid-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-E9Pdt9RYJk. I will order a 18oz of “Thrends” for it was from watching this vid that hooked me ( if you watch it notice that he isn t wearing gloves ). Thanks for the review, for it brought to re-think “cleaning”

- Desert_Woodworker

WOW! Very Impressive Video! I am now hooked as well and will be placing an order today.

Cheers!

-- To Steal Ideas From One Person is Plagiarism; to Steal From Many is Research…

View OSU55's profile

OSU55

1856 posts in 2131 days


#10 posted 03-26-2015 02:08 PM

Ammonia works great for me, is very cheap, and readily available at most grocery stores.

View abie's profile

abie

876 posts in 3912 days


#11 posted 03-26-2015 03:27 PM

Read the other reviews of Trend.
Better but much more expensive than simple green.

-- Bruce. a mind is like a book it is only useful when open.

View jakep_82's profile

jakep_82

105 posts in 2447 days


#12 posted 03-26-2015 04:50 PM

For anyone that wants a container to clean table saw blades, try an oil pan from Harbor Freight. With a 20% off coupon it’s under $5, and it’s the perfect size for 10” blades. I’ve been using one for a couple years.

http://www.harborfreight.com/oil-pan-with-spout-69467.html

View Lee's profile

Lee

50 posts in 1338 days


#13 posted 03-27-2015 01:44 PM

Glad to see my review was helpful! Thanks for the video DW! I forgot to mention the part about cleaning the router bits and it’s also suppose to help lubricate and prohibit rust, as well. I know since I’ve been using Trend, I see very little, if any, rust on my tools/bits. I spray my bits with Trend, after every use, and the residue just wipes off. Saw blades get cleaned, every so often, so they have to soak just a bit and then wipe off.

-- Lee

View Desert_Woodworker's profile

Desert_Woodworker

1613 posts in 1356 days


#14 posted 03-27-2015 04:25 PM

Thank you for posting, for I never would have thought of Trends. $20 for a bottle that will last for a long time.
Again, I have a lot of $$$ invested in Forrest saw blades and Amana CNC bits. A guy has to protect his investments.
Also, I will be using Trends as a rust preventer on my Table saw and Jointer beds (per the video)

-- Desert_Woodworker

View Lee's profile

Lee

50 posts in 1338 days


#15 posted 04-13-2015 04:17 PM

I did another blade this weekend. I had forgotten about this Freud plywood blade I had bought a few years ago and then put it away, without cleaning it (before I even had heard of Trend). It was gummed up pretty bad. So I sprayed some trend on it and let it sit for like 10 minutes, then used a plastic bristled brush and that blade looked like new when I was finished.

-- Lee

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com