LumberJocks

Back Savor (Needed this a long time ago!)

  • Advertise with us
Review by Les Hastings posted 2028 days ago 2343 views 2 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Back Savor (Needed this a long time ago!) Back Savor (Needed this a long time ago!) Back Savor (Needed this a long time ago!) Click the pictures to enlarge them

On my recent trip to the IWF in Atlanta I came across this little jewl. Its made by Southworth. Its an electric hydraulic lift table. Comes fully assembled ready to go, Just plug it in and your set. The lifting capacity is 1500 lbs. with the press of a foot pedal. The top measures 30’ x 60”. Starting at 6” off the floor and rasing to 42” at its tallest position. This is a jewl! I wish I had this a very long time ago. I’ve only been using for a few days so far and I’m already hooked on it. Just wish I had bought two of these. One for home and one for work. This little puppy is going to be a big back saver. I’m keeping it at work, but when I get home at night and go out in my shop to work. The first thing I think of is ( MAN I wish I had one of those here to!). I’ve had my share of back problems and think this will be one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. No bending over to install drawer slides, just raise it up a little. Putting on base, no problem. Raise it all the way up. For me this is fantastic! I think I even feel better at the end of the day, not quite so tired. Even if you don’t have back problems, you’ll love it! I added a 1” thick piece of mdf to the top and made it a 4’ x 8’ work surface. As soon as I get time I’ll be adding bracing on the under side with some 8/4 poplar to stiffin up the over hang and help keep it flat.

Try it you’ll really, really like it!

-- Les, Wichita, Ks. (I'd rather be covered in saw dust!)




View Les Hastings's profile

Les Hastings

1270 posts in 2276 days



11 comments so far

View ND2ELK's profile

ND2ELK

13495 posts in 2277 days


#1 posted 2028 days ago

What is the model # you got? Can a person buy direct? How much? Thanks!

God Bless
tom

-- Mc Bridge Cabinets, Iowa

View Les Hastings's profile

Les Hastings

1270 posts in 2276 days


#2 posted 2028 days ago

The paper work is at my work place, I’ll get that info and post it on here.

-- Les, Wichita, Ks. (I'd rather be covered in saw dust!)

View MarcInAylmerQC's profile

MarcInAylmerQC

16 posts in 2132 days


#3 posted 2028 days ago

Hi Les,

In the picture showing the lift at full height, things look “tippy”. How stable is the lift when raised that high?

Thanks
Marc in Aylmer, Qc

-- www.marc-prevost.com

View Scott Bryan's profile

Scott Bryan

27251 posts in 2325 days


#4 posted 2027 days ago

Nice review, Les. I would love to have one of these in my shop for exactly the reasons that you posted. I can see where it could also make a good adjustable infeed/outfeed table for the ts.

Thanks for the review.

-- Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful- Joshua Marine

View JerryS's profile

JerryS

216 posts in 2113 days


#5 posted 2027 days ago

Like Tom I would be interested in more information .

View NY_Rocking_Chairs's profile

NY_Rocking_Chairs

493 posts in 2100 days


#6 posted 2026 days ago

Agreed, I have a basement bilco door and have been on the lookout for a lift to put there. Getting the table saw in the basement wasn’t bad, but getting it back out…any info would be most appreciated.

-- Rich, WNY, www.nyrockingchairs.com

View Les Hastings's profile

Les Hastings

1270 posts in 2276 days


#7 posted 2026 days ago

Marc,,,,Actually its very stable. You can bolt it to the floor, but I don’t think I will. I think you would have to really trying hard to tip it over.

Sorry guys I get more info about it, I keep forgetting to bring the paper work on it home.

Ok I’m back,,,,southworthproducts.com Look under back saver lite lifts. They have several options.
I paid 2034.00 for mine at the show.

-- Les, Wichita, Ks. (I'd rather be covered in saw dust!)

View Karson's profile

Karson

34797 posts in 2903 days


#8 posted 2026 days ago

Les it looks great. I think I’ll go for a foot operated lift.

My back is killing me.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware karson_morrison@bigfoot.com †

View Critterman's profile

Critterman

595 posts in 2313 days


#9 posted 2023 days ago

I think anyone who does cabinets or furniture would want one of these, but $2K!! Yikes, too rich for a hobby operation, although I guess I can dream about one LOL.

Karson, you’ll have to get rid of some of that massive wood pile to make room for one….LOL

-- Jim Hallada, Chesterfield, VA

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19079 posts in 2354 days


#10 posted 2023 days ago

Les, thats a great aid to the shop. I like the storage idea as well.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View Russ Anderson's profile

Russ Anderson

46 posts in 1831 days


#11 posted 1745 days ago

This type of thing would be extremely handy if you had a lot of sheet goods to cut too, set it up in front of the saw, adjust the height and start ripping! Not practical for my garage shop though. I’ll keep using my cheep in-feed table that hooks onto my fence rail and a couple of saw horses.

-- Russ

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase