Gorilla Tape

  • Advertise with us
Review by Dan'um Style posted 09-28-2008 05:53 AM 5709 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Gorilla Tape Gorilla Tape No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I won a 2nd prize in Gorilla Glue Challenge.

Winners received Gorilla Glue’s products and a Gorilla Glue t-shirt.

Got a nice box of various Gorilla glues and a roll of tape. I’ve been using Gorilla Glue products for years, so it was a excellent prize. Peggy enjoys wearing the Gorilla tee-shirt too.

Today I used the tape and want to share a handy use for them.

My tile KILN needed an element changed . Kiln sits on the concrete floor of my back porch, It is a front loading kiln and sits only 8 inches off the ground. Changing an element involves intalling a 124 inch long 1/2” dia wire coil into a groove in the firebrick walls of the kiln.
I’m 54 years old, less then 6 ft tall and about 250. I knelt on the concrete for about 1/10th of a minute and figured I needed knee pads. Started out the door to Lowes and then remembered the Gorilla Prizes.

Peggy wasn’t home so my imagination ran wild. I dug around the kitchen drawers and found hot pads and oven mitts. Eight of them. Out came the tape. I sat in my chair and stacked the pot holders 4 high and each leg and taped them to my blue jeans. Worked perfect. Best knee pads I’d ever used.

I’ve been using Gorilla Tape for years. It is bar-none the best tape in its class.


Click for details: Only look at this if you  LOVE GREEN !!!  Back porch lattice work

-- keeping myself entertained ... Humor and fun lubricate the brain

View Dan'um Style's profile

Dan'um Style

14167 posts in 3404 days

10 comments so far

View Karson's profile


35032 posts in 3822 days

#1 posted 09-28-2008 06:04 AM

I would normally call that flying by the seat of your pants. But I guess that is not the right terminology.

Great review.

-- I've been blessed with a father who liked to tinker in wood, and a wife who lets me tinker in wood. Southern Delaware soon moving to Virginia †

View Mark Shymanski's profile

Mark Shymanski

5300 posts in 3134 days

#2 posted 09-28-2008 06:04 AM

Uhmmm, won’t they be missed? You may yet find new uses for Gorilla tape when she finds out how you’ve used her oven mitts and hot pads LOL!

-- "Checking for square? What madness is this! The cabinet is square because I will it to be so!" Jeremy Greiner LJ Topic#20953 2011 Feb 2

View bbqking's profile


328 posts in 3145 days

#3 posted 09-28-2008 06:53 AM

My wife’s hot pads, oven mitts, kitchen towels, and wash clothes have been a staple in my shop for years. Thank God for forgiving women and Fort Dodge tent & Awning. As always, bbqKing.

-- bbqKing, Lawrenceville

View Dusty56's profile


11804 posts in 3109 days

#4 posted 09-28-2008 11:24 PM

While the Cat’s away…......... We would refer to that as Yankee Ingenuity around here ! LOL

Did the tape remove easily with out leaving any residue behind for the Mrs. to notice ?

-- I'm absolutely positive that I couldn't be more uncertain!

View Grumpy's profile


21459 posts in 3272 days

#5 posted 09-29-2008 02:27 AM

Very cute Dan. Is that called keeping a finger on the pulse or lending a hand?. Just as well the wife was out or she might have clobbered you with that rolling pin.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View motthunter's profile


2142 posts in 3220 days

#6 posted 09-29-2008 09:58 PM

can I use it over my kids mouth sot hat I can get some peace?

-- making sawdust....

View RDS1's profile


24 posts in 3033 days

#7 posted 10-01-2008 05:53 AM

Heh heh heh

-- Bob Schilke

View Dan'um Style's profile

Dan'um Style

14167 posts in 3404 days

#8 posted 10-05-2008 05:18 PM

As a follow up to this review,

I stopped my Harbor Freight and bought and bought their deluxe brand knee pads for 4.99.

They work good, but the Gorilla-Glue-hot-pad- knee-pads are much more comfortable.

-- keeping myself entertained ... Humor and fun lubricate the brain

View tomd's profile


2022 posts in 3192 days

#9 posted 10-06-2008 07:37 AM

Is that your hand holding up the tape?

-- Tom D

View Dan'um Style's profile

Dan'um Style

14167 posts in 3404 days

#10 posted 10-06-2008 01:57 PM

yep… it is my hand…. in a gorilla suit

-- keeping myself entertained ... Humor and fun lubricate the brain

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics