LumberJocks

One of my best purchases ever

  • Advertise with us
Review by CharlesA posted 10-29-2014 02:12 AM 5014 views 1 time favorited 26 comments Add to Favorites Watch
One of my best purchases ever One of my best purchases ever No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Back in July Paxorion posted a review of the Preppin’ Weapon. I was suspicious that any sanding block could be worth $21.95, but he gave it such high praise, and I was frustrated enough with what I was working with, that I thought I’d give it a try.

This thing is great. I even sometimes reach for it when I might have grabbed my ROS in the past. I like the solid way it holds the sandpaper, the comfortable grip. the very even way it sands. I even waste less sandpaper because I’m able to tear off the precise size of the sheets and use them until their worn out.

Buy one—you’ll thank me after 10 minutes.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson




View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3341 posts in 1942 days



26 comments so far

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5757 posts in 2958 days


#1 posted 10-29-2014 03:13 AM

Thanks for the review. Do you cut strips from full sized sand paper, or do they come pre-cut?
Thanks

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3341 posts in 1942 days


#2 posted 10-29-2014 04:14 AM

I just fold over a strip that fits the sander from a full size piece of sandpaper and then tear it off.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View emart's profile

emart

445 posts in 2772 days


#3 posted 10-29-2014 04:16 AM

typically people just cut them from larger sheets. you can cut them to size on a shop jig that cuts the sheets using a hacksaw blade

-- tools are only as good as the hands that hold them https://www.custommade.com/by/emeraldcrafts/

View Picklehead's profile

Picklehead

1043 posts in 2074 days


#4 posted 10-29-2014 10:45 AM


I just fold over a strip that fits the sander from a full size piece of sandpaper and then tear it off.

- CharlesA

NO! You MUST use one of these:

-- You've got to be smarter than the tree.

View paxorion's profile

paxorion

1107 posts in 2190 days


#5 posted 10-29-2014 01:34 PM

Buy one—you’ll thank me after 10 minutes.

—CharlesA

So how many minutes did it take for you to thank me Charles?

-- paxorion

View timbertailor's profile

timbertailor

1594 posts in 1569 days


#6 posted 10-29-2014 01:34 PM


I just fold over a strip that fits the sander from a full size piece of sandpaper and then tear it off.

- CharlesA

NO! You MUST use one of these:

- Picklehead

I “saw” this post coming!

Thanks for the review Charles!

-- Brad, Texas, https://www.youtube.com/user/tonkatoytruck/feed

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3341 posts in 1942 days


#7 posted 10-29-2014 01:37 PM


Buy one—you’ll thank me after 10 minutes.

—CharlesA

So how many minutes did it take for you to thank me Charles?

- paxorion

It took me 6 days to post a thanks in a reply to your review, but that includes the time it took to order it and receive it. Thanks again.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View paxorion's profile

paxorion

1107 posts in 2190 days


#8 posted 10-29-2014 02:06 PM

Buy one—you’ll thank me after 10 minutes.

—CharlesA

So how many minutes did it take for you to thank me Charles?

- paxorion

It took me 6 days to post a thanks in a reply to your review, but that includes the time it took to order it and receive it. Thanks again.

- CharlesA

When I bought mine, it took 10 seconds to think “why didn’t I do this sooner!” But I think it took me 6 days to get to using it?

-- paxorion

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3341 posts in 1942 days


#9 posted 10-29-2014 02:14 PM

I think the price for such a simple tool makes it seem like a luxury item, almost. But it’s worth it. I’m making a bunch of earring racks for Christmas gifts. In the past, I would have been tempted to use the ROS, a task for which it is completely unsuited. But now I just use the Preppin’ Weapon (I really don’t like the cutesy name) and all is good.

I have to admit I’m tempted, as some have done, to buy a couple more for different grits, but so far spending another $45 to $70 keeps me at one.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View RCT's profile

RCT

89 posts in 3896 days


#10 posted 10-29-2014 02:28 PM

So I google ROS and git Robot Operating System (ROS) hmmmm..

-- "Ya but what does he know anyhow?"

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3341 posts in 1942 days


#11 posted 10-29-2014 03:19 PM

Okay . . . if I had a robot doing my sanding, I don’t think I’d need the Preppin’ Weapon.

ROS, in case that is confusing, is random orbital sander.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View paxorion's profile

paxorion

1107 posts in 2190 days


#12 posted 10-30-2014 03:42 AM



Okay . . . if I had a robot doing my sanding, I don t think I d need the Preppin Weapon.

ROS, in case that is confusing, is random orbital sander.

- CharlesA

Both are valid…http://www.acronymfinder.com/ROS.html

-- paxorion

View BikerDad's profile

BikerDad

347 posts in 3746 days


#13 posted 10-30-2014 07:05 AM



I think the price for such a simple tool makes it seem like a luxury item, almost. But it s worth it. I m making a bunch of earring racks for Christmas gifts. In the past, I would have been tempted to use the ROS, a task for which it is completely unsuited. But now I just use the Preppin Weapon (I really don t like the cutesy name) and all is good.

I have to admit I m tempted, as some have done, to buy a couple more for different grits, but so far spending another $45 to $70 keeps me at one.

- CharlesA


Having multiples is worth it. I’ve got one of each color, “normal” grit marked on them with a Sharpie, loaded with sandpaper. I just take ‘em out of the corral, use it and put it back, grab the next one if needed, use it, repeat. This is my corral.

-- I'm happier than a tornado in a trailer park! Grace & Peace.

View Arcola60's profile

Arcola60

95 posts in 2528 days


#14 posted 10-31-2014 02:21 PM

I bought two of them. Well worth it. It feels like part of your body.

View PCM's profile

PCM

135 posts in 3190 days


#15 posted 11-02-2014 02:50 AM

I have been using a product called the Sand Devil. It uses 3×21” belts instead of torn sand paper. The belts are easily reusable, extremely long lasting and economical. It’s very comfortable to hold and it’s configuration allows it to get into small spaces easily, yet it is also great for sanding large flat surfaces too. You can off set the belt and easily and effectively sand inside corners ( see the video on you tube). I bought mine a few years ago from peach tree woodworking. It has been reviewed on this forum in the past and received 5 stars which I completely agree with.

showing 1 through 15 of 26 comments

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com