LumberJocks

Nitrile With the Stretch of Latex

  • Advertise with us
Review by JAAune posted 10-25-2014 01:21 AM 2394 views 3 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Nitrile With the Stretch of Latex No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

At the shop we’ve been using nitrile gloves for many years in finishing or epoxy operations. For some time they were purchased from Lowes but they were flimsy and sold in $9 bags of 15 (for one-armed woodworkers?). Later we discovered Gemplers and their 8 and 4 mil gloves and were satisfied with those. They held up well and could often be used a couple times before tossing. We tried discounted gloves from Woodcraft but those were easy to tear and weren’t that much cheaper.

Then one day we realized that I’d forgotten to restock our glove supply and we needed them in two days. Gemplers doesn’t ship to us that fast so I placed an order for a few mystery boxes at McMaster-Carr and the next day we got 6 boxes of Ansell Touch-N-Tuff.

These are the absolute best nitrile gloves I’ve ever seen. They’re durable like the Gempler’s 8-mil gloves but unlike most nitrile products, these stretch. A lot.

They’re powder-free but getting them on and off is really easy which was always a problem with a conventional nitrile glove when worn on hot days.

The cost from McMaster is $14.54 per box when purchased in quantities of 6 but they’re cheaper elsewhere if fast shipping isn’t a necessity. Even at that price, they’re competitive with most other brands we’ve used and unlike cheaper gloves, they aren’t going to rip as they’re pulled on or fall apart at the touch of a screw.

If anyone purchases these, it’s not necessary to buy one size up. Just get your normal size and they’ll stretch and minimize impact on dexterity. I didn’t know this and got some extra large gloves. Next time I’ll get the large.

-- See my work at http://remmertstudios.com and http://altaredesign.com




View JAAune's profile

JAAune

1780 posts in 2223 days



11 comments so far

View DocSavage45's profile

DocSavage45

8459 posts in 2748 days


#1 posted 10-25-2014 02:24 AM

Thanks,

Running out and use them often. Just purchased from Amazon 19.95 free shipping.

-- Cau Haus Designs, Thomas J. Tieffenbacher

View timbertailor's profile

timbertailor

1594 posts in 1330 days


#2 posted 10-25-2014 11:54 AM

Thanks for the review. Always looking for a better product. MC seems to carry good products, as a whole. Good vendor.

-- Brad, Texas, https://www.youtube.com/user/tonkatoytruck/feed

View OldWrangler's profile

OldWrangler

731 posts in 1500 days


#3 posted 10-25-2014 02:54 PM

Jacob, thanks for the info. I wear xl gloves and would be happy to buy whatever you have left of the ones too big for you. That would give me a way to try the glove, see if the xl is the right size and take them off your hands if you don’t use them. Let me know how many you got left and what you want for them plus shipping.

-- I am going to go stand outside so if anyone asks about me, tell them I'M OUTSTANDING!

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

116906 posts in 3483 days


#4 posted 10-25-2014 03:04 PM

Thanks for the review Jacob,they sound great.

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View JAAune's profile

JAAune

1780 posts in 2223 days


#5 posted 10-25-2014 11:10 PM

Thanks for the offer OldWrangler. Fortunately, the guy who works with me has larger hands and can put them to use so they’ll serve their purpose one way or the other. We’ve got plenty of gloves on hand though so if you want to try out a pair I can stick them in an envelope and send them your way.

-- See my work at http://remmertstudios.com and http://altaredesign.com

View fuzzface's profile

fuzzface

67 posts in 1776 days


#6 posted 10-26-2014 10:43 PM

Thanks for the review. To toss out another option, you can buy powder free vinyl gloves at Costco, 200 gloves for around $8.00. Use ‘em all the time.

-- I'm a LumberJock and I'm OK.............. I sleep all night and I work all day !!

View philba's profile

philba

96 posts in 1278 days


#7 posted 10-29-2014 04:41 AM

Harbor Freight 7 mil nitrile gloves are pretty good 25 pairs for $10. I’ve reused them. Get the extra large, their sizes run really small. I got a box of larges and they are a tight fit for me. My hands are more like mediums.

View JAAune's profile

JAAune

1780 posts in 2223 days


#8 posted 10-29-2014 03:38 PM

25 pair for $10 would make them $20 for 100 gloves. Usually Harbor Freight sells for less but apparently that’s not the case here.

-- See my work at http://remmertstudios.com and http://altaredesign.com

View DocSavage45's profile

DocSavage45

8459 posts in 2748 days


#9 posted 10-29-2014 05:32 PM

Hey,

Wanted to let you know Amazon cancelled my order. No reason.

-- Cau Haus Designs, Thomas J. Tieffenbacher

View JAAune's profile

JAAune

1780 posts in 2223 days


#10 posted 10-29-2014 09:52 PM

I guess that’s one of the reasons I keep paying a few extra dollars for McMaster Carr. They’ve only let me down once in what’s probably been 100 orders over the past several years.

-- See my work at http://remmertstudios.com and http://altaredesign.com

View TopamaxSurvivor's profile

TopamaxSurvivor

18193 posts in 3582 days


#11 posted 11-08-2014 07:11 AM

thanks for the post. I have always wondered where you find some that last long enough to get them on ;-)

-- Bob in WW ~ "some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com