LumberJocks

Hand Forged Holdfasts

  • Advertise with us
Review by A Slice of Wood Workshop posted 10-18-2014 03:34 AM 3516 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Hand Forged Holdfasts No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Follow the link for a review on a set of holdfasts that I made. Click here for the video.

-- Follow me on YouTube- http://YouTube.com/user/asliceofwoodworkshop




View A Slice of Wood Workshop's profile

A Slice of Wood Workshop

1073 posts in 3259 days



7 comments so far

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3334 posts in 1884 days


#1 posted 10-18-2014 10:36 PM

I’m confused. I tried to find these holdfasts on the web, but couldn’t. Are these your own product or someone else’s?

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View A Slice of Wood Workshop's profile

A Slice of Wood Workshop

1073 posts in 3259 days


#2 posted 10-19-2014 12:32 AM

Charles- I make them. I was just sharing a review that someone has done on them.

-- Follow me on YouTube- http://YouTube.com/user/asliceofwoodworkshop

View Sawdustmaker115's profile

Sawdustmaker115

306 posts in 1807 days


#3 posted 10-19-2014 07:13 PM

Hey Tim,
how much do you charge for your holdfasts?

-- Anthony--http://knottywoodshop.weebly.com/

View Grumpymike's profile

Grumpymike

2284 posts in 2401 days


#4 posted 10-20-2014 06:03 PM

So, you review your own product?? Tacky.

-- Grumpy old guy, and lookin' good Doin' it. ... Surprise Az.

View Dallas's profile

Dallas

3599 posts in 2573 days


#5 posted 10-20-2014 06:55 PM

I’m with Grumpymike, This is like Festool or Sawstop making their own reviews.

I would have been interested if it was a review of something you actually tried, made by another entity.

-- Improvise.... Adapt...... Overcome!

View A Slice of Wood Workshop's profile

A Slice of Wood Workshop

1073 posts in 3259 days


#6 posted 10-20-2014 07:56 PM

Thanks for the comments, but I did not do the review. I was simply sharing it because I don’t believe he is on here. Sorry for sharing it, I know better for next time.

-- Follow me on YouTube- http://YouTube.com/user/asliceofwoodworkshop

View Sarit's profile

Sarit

550 posts in 3226 days


#7 posted 11-13-2014 09:20 AM

Unless you’ve found a way to sell these out for cheap, I don’t really see the point of the “hand-made” holdfasts. I know people pay a premium for handmade rasps because the slight irregularities in the teeth make the cutting action smoother. For that reason, being handmade provides a functional advantage for the rasp.
Does a handforged holdfast convey any advantage over a Gramercy Holdfast ?
Like if it could hold more pressure because of the steel/heat-treatment or if you added some artistic elements like this like this image below, I would say it makes sense to make an charge a premium for your product. However from the review its not clear that there are any advantages.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com