LumberJocks

Moffatt Task Lamp for Laguna 1412

  • Advertise with us
Review by smitty22 posted 10-17-2014 04:15 AM 3599 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Moffatt Task Lamp for Laguna 1412 Moffatt Task Lamp for Laguna 1412 No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Moffatt 95050 Task Lamp, Incandescent/Halogen Lamp Type, Direct Mount Base Type, 24” Arm Length, 100 Watts, 1690 Raw Lumens. About $52 on Amazon.

Here’s the Moffat task light mounted on the Laguna 1412 bandsaw, really works well. It’s very heavy duty, has a nice toggle on/off switch, takes a standard base 110v bulb, and made in USA. I used a Phillips 60-watt halogen flood bulb, nice ‘warm’ light which is kind to my old eyes! Best of all, it’s almost infinitely positionable to where you need the light, unlike the Laguna light kit which is fixed and as a result light is somewhat blocked when the blade guide is in lowered positions.

Might have given this a 4 1/2 star rating due to the plastic shade. It seems sturdy and looks like it could be easily replaced if needed. In any case, the lamp does exactly what I needed.

The Moffatt mounts with two 1/4-20 hex sockethead machine screws and lock nuts (furnished). Had to drill a hole in my new 1412 and enlarge one of the existing holes, but didn’t mind a bit after using the light!

Hope this might help someone ‘see the light’!

-- Smitty




View smitty22's profile

smitty22

714 posts in 2849 days



8 comments so far

View Dautterguy's profile

Dautterguy

51 posts in 3664 days


#1 posted 10-17-2014 01:09 PM

Very nice! I too am having a problem with the Laguna Lamp getting the light focused where I NEED it most. But my light came with the purchase, so I put up with it. I leave it in the out position,and my head reminds me to put it back against the frame. Thanks for the idea.

View timbertailor's profile

timbertailor

1594 posts in 1326 days


#2 posted 10-17-2014 04:01 PM

Just curious why you went with a dedicated light vs. the mobile\magnetic base one?

-- Brad, Texas, https://www.youtube.com/user/tonkatoytruck/feed

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3305 posts in 1700 days


#3 posted 10-17-2014 04:59 PM

I had the same question, Brad. Looking forward to that answer. In addition, one of the Amazon reviews complained about plastic construction of the “shade.” Any thoughts?

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View smitty22's profile

smitty22

714 posts in 2849 days


#4 posted 10-17-2014 06:04 PM

Hi Brad, Charles, I thought about the mag base for a bit, but plan on bending the flex shaft (it’s stiff) a fair bit and just didn’t want the base to come loose. From the front mounting position, the lamp can be positioned either on front or back side of the blade, high or low, or just moved completely above the saw and out of the way. I like the switchable mag base but didn’t notice it at the time with the 24” version, so just went with the cheapest option and I was just comfortable with bolt-on base.

Besides, the mag base is available separately in case I ever want to go that way, and the lamp will bolt right up to it.

Didn’t know about the plastic shade when I ordered it, seems sturdy, but I might have dinged it 1/2 star for that. I thought about changing the rating to 4 stars, but didn’t, then added a comment to the original review.

The lamp does exactly what I need it to do so will leave it at 5 stars unless the shade breaks or melts. Ratings seem to have both pro and con on the shade anyway.

Thanks for the input,
Dale

-- Smitty

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

3305 posts in 1700 days


#5 posted 10-17-2014 08:45 PM

It looks,like you have it mounted in exactly the right place. I’ve never understood why built in lights are always mount on the back of the saw.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View Dabcan's profile

Dabcan

255 posts in 2573 days


#6 posted 10-17-2014 09:41 PM

For those of you interested in a light like this…. I bought an led light at ikea for $15, it has a clip feature, it even came in a snazzy orange colour….

http://www.ikea.com/ca/en/search/?query=JANSJÖ+LED+clamp+spotlight

-- @craftcollectif , http://www.craftcollective.ca, https://www.etsy.com/shop/craftcollective?

View timbertailor's profile

timbertailor

1594 posts in 1326 days


#7 posted 10-18-2014 12:23 AM


I had the same question, Brad. Looking forward to that answer. In addition, one of the Amazon reviews complained about plastic construction of the “shade.” Any thoughts?

- CharlesA

I have not had a problem with mine but I am sure it will eventually crumble\break. I swap it between the drill press, band saw, planer, joiner, RAS and band saw. Maybe I should make an aluminium version while I still have a template that is in one piece. :)


For those of you interested in a light like this…. I bought an led light at ikea for $15, it has a clip feature, it even came in a snazzy orange colour….

http://www.ikea.com/ca/en/search/?query=JANSJÖ+LED+clamp+spotlight

- Dabcan

Not real keen on those really low Kelvin temperatures.

-- Brad, Texas, https://www.youtube.com/user/tonkatoytruck/feed

View gfadvm's profile

gfadvm

14940 posts in 2592 days


#8 posted 10-18-2014 12:39 AM

I tried the magnetic base light on my big Grizz (different brand of light) and it sucked! Wouldn’t stay put, fell off, and finally broke the base. I like yours!

-- " I'll try to be nicer, if you'll try to be smarter" gfadvm

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com