LumberJocks

Great performer. Zero problems. 5 stars.

  • Advertise with us
Review by JSB posted 10-05-2014 03:40 PM 6670 views 2 times favorited 14 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Great performer. Zero problems. 5 stars. No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I bought the Grizzly G0690 about 6 months ago and feel like that’s enough usage to talk about my thoughts. It’s a damn good saw. I don’t have any major complaints after using it for this long. Just a couple nit-picky things that I don’t think justify bringing this down from 5 stars. After comparing prices on similar spec saws I would definitely buy this saw again if I had to do it all over.

Pros:
strong motor
great fence
large cast surface
best value compared to other brands of same spces

Cons:
some of the finish on the insert plates has rubbed off onto my work piece.

For those who are interested I already put together a long picture filled article on the saw. You can find it here:
http://jayscustomcreations.com/2014/10/thoughts-on-my-grizzly-g0690-table-saw/

-- Jay - http://www.jayscustomcreations.com




View JSB's profile

JSB

737 posts in 1858 days



14 comments so far

View Roger's profile

Roger

20871 posts in 2583 days


#1 posted 10-05-2014 09:41 PM

Thnx for your review Jay. It’s good to hear good stuff from Grizzly. My 8” jointer is a Grizzly, and it’s a beast. After a bit of finessing, it’s okey dokey. Just make your own zero clearance plates. They’ll be better than the OEM ones anyway, imo. There’s a million vids out there on how-to make em. This price sure beats out the cost of a Saw Stop.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View Darryl Jones's profile

Darryl Jones

183 posts in 2948 days


#2 posted 10-06-2014 02:58 PM

Jay I read the post on your site, I have the 1023 saw and I love mine, wouldn’t change a thing! I just want to tell you that with these types of rip fences you can replace the rails with equivalent sized steel tubing for increased capacity. I increased my capacity on my delta T-2 system to 49” with square tubing and angle iron, and just used the old rail as a pattern to drill and tap mounting holes in the new rail, very easy and inexpensive. I also used the holes in the angle iron on the rear of the saw to mount my outfeed table to. I didn’t use bolts though, I just put pins in the bottom of the table top that just drop into the holes, so that I can just lift it off if necessary. You can check it out here:

Click for details

-- Dread Knot Wood Shop http://www.dreadknotwoodshop.com

View blackcherry's profile

blackcherry

3335 posts in 3602 days


#3 posted 10-06-2014 09:49 PM

Bought mine last fall and really pleased with the purchase, great saw love using. Enjoy your new beast!

View woodmaker's profile

woodmaker

321 posts in 2471 days


#4 posted 10-06-2014 10:17 PM

I’ve had mine for two years now and it has not missed a beat.
Wonderful table saw, I highly recommend it.

-- Mike

View panamawayne's profile

panamawayne

72 posts in 1238 days


#5 posted 10-07-2014 12:36 AM

I had mine shipped down here to Panama, it’s set up in an outdoor type shop and is faded from the sun, it’s been here 1 1/2 years and hasn’t missed a beat, I have WW2 blade which makes it that much better.

View Handtooler's profile

Handtooler

1473 posts in 1911 days


#6 posted 10-07-2014 02:36 AM

Jay, Thanks for the in-depth review on a great tool. I own the G0691 extended version and really love it. Use it almost daily. Passes the nickel test and no run-out. Five stars.

-- Russell Pitner Hixson, TN 37343 bassboy40@outlook.com

View Surfside's profile

Surfside

3389 posts in 1953 days


#7 posted 10-07-2014 09:02 PM

Thanks for the review. Looks solid.

-- "someone has to be wounded for others to be saved, someone has to sacrifice for others to feel happiness, someone has to die so others could live"

View hjt's profile

hjt

822 posts in 2918 days


#8 posted 10-08-2014 04:35 AM

Great review on your site. Photos really show it off.

-- Harold

View TheRabbit's profile

TheRabbit

3 posts in 1092 days


#9 posted 10-22-2014 02:21 AM

Seriously looking at buying a G0691 and have one quick question, in talking to the techs at Grizzly, I found out they do not sell a thin kerf riving knife. I have a few thin kerf high end blades. How does everyone get around this problem? Did you just buy and extra knife and have it machined down?

View JSB's profile

JSB

737 posts in 1858 days


#10 posted 10-22-2014 03:36 AM

TheRabbit – I use a regular Marples blade bought from Lowes. It’s much thinner than the blade that was included with the saw. I have no problems using the stock riving knife with it. The riving knife is too thick to use with a regular circular saw blade but a standard box store 10” blade will work just fine.

-- Jay - http://www.jayscustomcreations.com

View TheRabbit's profile

TheRabbit

3 posts in 1092 days


#11 posted 10-22-2014 05:39 AM

Can you mic the knife? It would be great to know thickness. The kerf on one of my blade is under .125. They sell a second knife for around $30. May cost as much to get it milled, but any problems would be solved.

I also need to know the depth of the roller stand. I need to add 2” net to the table to get it above my out feed bench. I learned the stand alone adds 3/4”. Need to add at least another 1 1/4”. I could cut the bench down, but prefer to keep all the height I can as I am 6’8”.

View JSB's profile

JSB

737 posts in 1858 days


#12 posted 10-22-2014 05:59 AM

TheRabbit – I couldn’t find my calipers but this is stamped on the knife itself

-- Jay - http://www.jayscustomcreations.com

View Handtooler's profile

Handtooler

1473 posts in 1911 days


#13 posted 10-22-2014 03:37 PM

I also have the G0691 and when using my Freud thin kerf blade I use a ZCI without the riving knife as if it’s used I get a binging at the out feed side of the blade. Maybe a little les safety but I hav not as yet experienced the least bit of kick back. KOW!

-- Russell Pitner Hixson, TN 37343 bassboy40@outlook.com

View TheRabbit's profile

TheRabbit

3 posts in 1092 days


#14 posted 10-22-2014 06:13 PM

Thank Jay for the info. As for using the saw without the knife, the only reason I am thinking of this saw is to get a saw with a riving knife. Already have a saw that I have modified several times and it works great, but I cut a lot of quartersawn red oak and it closes and bite on the blade sometimes. Now I need to go look up the real kerf of my blades.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com