LumberJocks

Expensive but Awesome

  • Advertise with us
Review by Manitario posted 09-04-2014 04:23 AM 2695 views 1 time favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Expensive but Awesome No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I hate emptying the bin on my cyclone, but I hate even more when I forget to and fill my filters with dust and chips; basically means an evening wasted cleaning out chips from the filters and then multiple rounds of blowing the fine dust out. I have my cyclone in its own room to keep the noise down so I can’t see the bin…I originally had a Oneida Dust Sentry, it was ok but was inconsistent. After moving to a new shop and filling the filters 3 times in a row, I looked for an alternate. There is a small but dedicated Clearvue owner community; this sensor was made by one of the Clearvue members, it worked so well that Clearvue has begun selling it on their website. I think that the guy still makes each of these sensors in his garage. Simple in design but works extremely well. Strobe light and loud siren goes off each time the bin is full. You can also wire it to automatically shut off the dust collector when the sensor is triggered.
Overall, expensive, but well worth the money.

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil




View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2363 posts in 1572 days



9 comments so far

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112325 posts in 2267 days


#1 posted 09-04-2014 04:29 AM

Thanks for the review ,Interesting idea, you say it’s expensive but don’t say how much it is ?

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2363 posts in 1572 days


#2 posted 09-04-2014 04:49 AM

$225

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112325 posts in 2267 days


#3 posted 09-04-2014 04:52 AM

Ouch! that is spendy

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2363 posts in 1572 days


#4 posted 09-04-2014 04:58 AM

yeah, it hurt, but only briefly…the concept is pretty simple; basically two infrared garage door sensors wired to a strobe light and a siren, if I was more technically inclined it would have been a simple project to make myself.

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View StumpyNubs's profile

StumpyNubs

6241 posts in 1490 days


#5 posted 09-04-2014 12:26 PM

I have one of these. Good stuff!

-- It's the best woodworking show since the invention of wood... New episodes at: http://www.stumpynubs.com

View Greg..the Cajun  Box Sculptor's profile

Greg..the Cajun Box Sculptor

5180 posts in 1998 days


#6 posted 09-04-2014 02:19 PM

I also bought one of the Oneida dust sentry units and it never did work very good and was a disappointment. I need to look into this model. It is easy to fill up the dust bin so very quickly because mine is in a separate room and I have dual air filters that have clogged up on more than one occasion because someone forgot to check the sawdust level.

-- We all must start somewhere in our journey of doing what we love to do.

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2363 posts in 1572 days


#7 posted 09-04-2014 02:56 PM

yeah Greg, there is no quicker way to ruin an evening than to fill up your filters with sawdust…

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

View Robw's profile

Robw

50 posts in 1381 days


#8 posted 09-04-2014 09:46 PM

Thanks for the review. I am on my 2nd dust sentry and it has quit. Where can I find this product?

Rob

View Manitario's profile

Manitario

2363 posts in 1572 days


#9 posted 09-04-2014 10:27 PM

http://www.clearvuecyclones.com/supporting-products/50-bin-sensor.html

-- Sometimes the creative process requires foul language. -- Charles Neil

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase