LumberJocks

3 styles of folding sawhorse

  • Advertise with us
Review by Loren posted 08-29-2014 03:24 AM 2227 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
3 styles of folding sawhorse No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I get sent products to review sometimes. I’m an amazon vine reviewer. If you review a lot of stuff they’ll probably invite you to be one too. I reviewed a lot of books to start with. I haven’t reviewed many books lately due to the time required to read them. Once in awhile something I can really use becomes available. Here’s my comments on the Portamate folding sawhorses (about $100 a pair) compared to other styles (about $60 a pair) I use as well.

-- http://lawoodworking.com




View Loren's profile

Loren

7808 posts in 2366 days



8 comments so far

View schuft's profile

schuft

123 posts in 1326 days


#1 posted 08-29-2014 06:35 PM

Nice info, thanks.

View Rob's profile

Rob

360 posts in 1789 days


#2 posted 08-29-2014 09:00 PM

Thanks for the comparison, Loren. Compared to other similar sawhorses, do you think these ones are worth the extra $40 a pair?

View Loren's profile

Loren

7808 posts in 2366 days


#3 posted 08-29-2014 09:11 PM

Yes. You could use them for scaffolding and I would be
wary of doing that with the others. While the legs on
the yellow ones “sort of” lock open, it’s not a positive
detent lock like on the Portamates. Adjusting the
legs on the yellow ones is a stupid hassle and they
don’t fold up well with the legs extended, but it’s
a useful feature sometimes.

Really any of these horse could be used for a scaffold
base, but I’d feel safest with the Portamates and I’m
not a heavy guy. In terms of woodworking I suppose
I load up a pair of sawhorses with 200lb. of rough boards
when I’m going through them and making crosscuts,
but any horse will handle that. 1000lb. capacity is
way more than I have ever needed.

For just grab ‘em and get to work, the plastic ones
are great. They are Stanleys. They unfold in about
2 seconds. They do not however fold up as compact
as the steel ones, even though I think the load
capacity is, in theory, comparable.

Again, 33” is kind of high. If you’re cutting up a full
sheet of ply for example, with a low horse you can
put your knee up there to finish a long cut but at
33” plus 1.5” for spacer 2×4s it’s just too tall to
do that.

It’s been awhile… I used to break up full sheets
with a track saw on the yellow horses set at
their lowest. I don’t remember if I would put
my knee on the board or not but in any case it
was easier to reach across with the lower horses.

-- http://lawoodworking.com

View Craftsman on the lake's profile

Craftsman on the lake

2408 posts in 2156 days


#4 posted 08-29-2014 09:59 PM

I have the yellow pair. One nice feature of them is that they can be adjusted really high and since the legs are independently adjustable you can get a level surface on a roof with a pitch.

-- The smell of wood, coffee in the cup, the wife let's me do my thing, the lake is peaceful.

View Loren's profile

Loren

7808 posts in 2366 days


#5 posted 08-29-2014 10:29 PM

Good point about that.

-- http://lawoodworking.com

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

3477 posts in 725 days


#6 posted 08-29-2014 10:56 PM

Thanks for the review/ If I hadn’t recently finished building myself a pair of folding wooden sawhorses, these would probably be on my short list.

Regarding you’re being an Amazon reviewer … Do they just send you random stuff to review? Or do they send you a list and you get to pick what you want to review?

And secondly … do you have to pay for (or return) the reviewed items? Or do you get to keep them in exchange for the review? I’d sure like to “REVIEW” a tablesaw if they’d send me one for free :-)

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

View Loren's profile

Loren

7808 posts in 2366 days


#7 posted 08-30-2014 12:25 AM

I get a list and get to choose.

I get to keep the items. I’ve never seen a stationary
power tool offered but I have seen cordless drills and
things like that come through the system.

-- http://lawoodworking.com

View JoeinGa's profile

JoeinGa

3477 posts in 725 days


#8 posted 08-30-2014 01:43 PM

Thanks Loren, I was curious about that, and never knew how it worked.

-- Perform A Random Act Of Kindness Today ... Pay It Forward

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase