LumberJocks

Acrylic Finish

  • Advertise with us
Review by Roger posted 08-20-2014 11:24 PM 2095 views 3 times favorited 9 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Acrylic Finish Acrylic Finish No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

Just my quick 2-cents on this Dr. Kirks Micro Magic 3-pack of wax finish. Very simple, after dry sanding up to 600 on any acrylic pen, or any other acrylic/plastic blank turned on a lathe, a little dab of this Red/White/Blue, in that order, (easy to remember), takes the place of the wet-sanding, and plastic polish I used to do to finish any acrylic blank on the lathe. Very simple, very affordable. I do want to thank a fellow LJ, James, http://lumberjocks.com/Thewoodman2000 for recommending this product. I’m gonna recommend it to anyone who would like to try it. You can get it here: http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/p/40/6059/Dr.-Kirk%27s-Micro-Magic-Polishing-Wax-3-Piece-Set?term=micro%20magic. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was I do think the wet-sanding gives just a little higher gloss finish then this does. Again, just my 2-cents. :) OH, and p.s. I only did this one pen so far… lol. I’ve been really busy

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net




View Roger's profile

Roger

14556 posts in 1456 days



9 comments so far

View HillbillyShooter's profile

HillbillyShooter

4565 posts in 944 days


#1 posted 08-21-2014 12:20 AM

Thanks for a nice review. It’s alwalys good to learn about alternate products. Also, glad you’re busy.

-- John C. -- "Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth." George Washington

View lew's profile

lew

10027 posts in 2407 days


#2 posted 08-21-2014 12:27 AM

Thanks for the review, Roger. I’ll have to try this stuff.

-- Lew- Time traveler. Purveyor of the Universe's finest custom rolling pins.

View Jerry's profile

Jerry

546 posts in 300 days


#3 posted 08-21-2014 01:08 AM

Thanks Roger, I’ve been wanting to get some information on these finishes. This is very helpful.

-- I have always wished that my computer would be as easy to use as my telephone. My wish has come true. I no longer know how to use my telephone.

View doubleDD's profile (online now)

doubleDD

2449 posts in 695 days


#4 posted 08-21-2014 04:13 AM

Good to know Roger. Will keep this in mind.

-- --Dave, Downers Grove, Il. When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams

View stefang's profile

stefang

13019 posts in 1986 days


#5 posted 08-21-2014 09:14 AM

So can you then wet sand to 600 and then use the wax polish? Your result looks great Roger.

-- Mike, an American living in Norway.

View Thewoodman2000's profile

Thewoodman2000

637 posts in 622 days


#6 posted 08-21-2014 12:34 PM

Roger,
Great review! You nailed it!
I do agree with you on the 4 star review but I have continued to work on getting it closer to the full 12,000 grit polish.
One thing I have been doing different (since we last talked) is using this sanding pad after sanding through 600 grit. I do a wet sand with this 1,500 grit and this step helps get it real close to perfect. I now would give this product/process 4.5+ stars.
http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2083057/33841/Norton-Softouch-Superfine-Sanding-Sponge-1200-1500-Grit.aspx
I know you are all probably asking why bother using this if you have to wet sand 1 step anyway. For me it does take out (set sanding steps) 9 steps in the process. I now longer wet sand with 1800, 2400, 3200, 3500, 4000, 6000, 8000 and 12000 grit pads + the final polish I would do at the end.

Here is a Plus these little containers of stuff last a real long time. A little bit does go along way!

Sorry Roger not trying to take over you thread.

-- (the only thing in there she says is...... saw dust) - James

View Grumpy's profile

Grumpy

19453 posts in 2503 days


#7 posted 08-23-2014 09:45 PM

Thanks roger. Must give it a go.

-- Grumpy - "Always look on the bright side of life"- Monty Python

View Roger's profile

Roger

14556 posts in 1456 days


#8 posted 08-24-2014 06:20 PM

Thnx everyone. All appreciated. James: Thnx for the extra info. It’s always helpful. :)

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Dave's profile

Dave

11168 posts in 1492 days


#9 posted 08-25-2014 12:15 PM

Kewl review and keep em coming LHCB

-- Superdav "No matter where you go - there you are." http://chiselandforge.com

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase