LumberJocks

Wood River #62 low angle Jack Plane

  • Advertise with us
Review by Florida_Jim posted 08-09-2014 06:26 PM 3197 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Wood River #62 low angle Jack Plane No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I’ve wanted a bevel up jack plane for a while. When Wood River brought out their #62, I agonized over paying extra for the lee valley.
I have a V3, #4, #5, and a low angle block plane that I’m very happy with.
I had a discount coupon so I bought the wood river #62.
Out of the box, it was a beauty. The sole was flat, and the sides were dead on square. I bought an extra 25 degree blade, and the 40 degree blade. I polished, and sharpened the blades. I sharpened the 40, and one of the 25’s with a little “camber”. Left the other 25 straight, for edge grain trimming. I put a micro bevel on all the blades, I used a VERITAS MK II honing guide for sharpening.
I was a little disappointed, when I tested it on the face of the board. I discovered a gouge in the wood
The front of the adjustment for the blade clearance evidently was burred. A little judicial stoning cured that.
The plane produces gossamer shavings. It made a scrap piece of maple glass smooth, even around a knot.
So far I’m pleased with the plane.
I’d like to see a tooth blade for it.




View Florida_Jim's profile

Florida_Jim

61 posts in 1601 days



8 comments so far

View bobasaurus's profile

bobasaurus

1386 posts in 1907 days


#1 posted 08-09-2014 09:03 PM

Looks like a useful plane after some tweaking. Always been impressed by the wood river V3 line, and this looks like another good addition.

-- Allen, Colorado

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4351 posts in 1772 days


#2 posted 08-13-2014 06:46 PM

Jim,
Thank you for the review.
What do you use a tooth blade for?

-- Bert

View Florida_Jim's profile

Florida_Jim

61 posts in 1601 days


#3 posted 08-14-2014 07:04 PM



Jim,
Thank you for the review.
What do you use a tooth blade for?

- b2rtch


You use a toothed blade to aggressively remove material with less effort. Use for flattening or thinning a board. Follow up with a regular blade.

View b2rtch's profile

b2rtch

4351 posts in 1772 days


#4 posted 08-14-2014 07:14 PM

Back home ( France) I saw people using a tooth blade before gluing veneer to get more glue surface.
This is why I was asking

-- Bert

View Florida_Jim's profile

Florida_Jim

61 posts in 1601 days


#5 posted 08-15-2014 01:39 AM

Lei-Nielsen makes fine toothed blades for their #112 large scraping plane, to use for veneering.

View OSU55's profile

OSU55

207 posts in 713 days


#6 posted 09-09-2014 12:02 PM

I’m curious what you paid. The Stanley SW #62 can be had for $137 and is comparable. The WR lists for $199.

View Florida_Jim's profile

Florida_Jim

61 posts in 1601 days


#7 posted 09-09-2014 12:45 PM



I m curious what you paid. The Stanley SW #62 can be had for $137 and is comparable. The WR lists for $199.

- OSU55

I wanted a low angle jack. I agonized for while over which one. I came close to buying the LN jack.
When I checked out the new Woodriver 62 at my local Wood craft, I was pleased with the appearance and feel. The Wood craft store guy said that if I wasn’t happy with it, I could bring it back no questions asked.
I compared the wood river to the Stanley 62 at the store. The Woodriver was noticeably better made.
The other reasons I didn’t like the stanley were, bad reviews on this site, and other places. Also the lack of available blades. When I bought the plane, I bought a couple of extra blades. I sharpened one of the 25 degree blades with a “camber” , left the other 25 degree straight. I use the straight on a shooting board, and end grain. I also sharpened the 40 degree with a camber. I’m thinking about getting another 40 degree, and changing it to 50 degree, to kinda use as a “scraper”.
I had a $25.00 valued customer coupon, so I paid about 175.00 + tax.

Jim

View who8it's profile

who8it

4 posts in 72 days


#8 posted 09-16-2014 05:40 PM

It’s on my short list!

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase