LumberJocks

New Oliver 4230 8" Jointer

  • Advertise with us
Review by bons posted 05-30-2014 05:00 PM 4404 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
New Oliver 4230 8" Jointer New Oliver 4230 8" Jointer New Oliver 4230 8" Jointer Click the pictures to enlarge them

Just wanted to post some pictures of new Oliver 4230 jointer I recently set up in basement workshop. I looked at a lot of reviews before pulling tigger on Oliver. Really liked the weight at 655 lbs, long bed and overall look of machine. Took 4 of us to get it around and into to back walk out basement door. My two sons at 6’4 and 6’2 and son in law at 6’5. I helped but but at 63 and 5’9, not so much. Moral support. Removed bed and moved in two stages. The machine comes basically assembled, which is nice. Just install fence system and a few odds and ends. I will write a full review when I start using. There were some machine marks on bed which I was not happy about but it won’t affect anything operationally. Look for my future review.

Chris




View bons's profile

bons

27 posts in 727 days



7 comments so far

View Ripthorn's profile

Ripthorn

815 posts in 1774 days


#1 posted 05-30-2014 06:41 PM

It’s a great looking machine. I’ve wondered about the new Olivers and if they are still good.

-- Brian T. - Exact science is not an exact science

View Ocelot's profile

Ocelot

681 posts in 1427 days


#2 posted 05-30-2014 07:04 PM

OK. I’m envious!

View freddy1962's profile

freddy1962

910 posts in 338 days


#3 posted 05-31-2014 05:48 PM

OH MY! Just got goosebumps…LOL

-- JEFF Illinois (Banks of the Mississippi)

View Roger's profile (online now)

Roger

15765 posts in 1593 days


#4 posted 06-01-2014 10:45 AM

Looks like a fine hunk-a-hunk-a beef.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View bowedcurly's profile

bowedcurly

509 posts in 518 days


#5 posted 06-08-2014 02:22 AM

that is some prime beef, lean castiron

-- Staining killed the wood<<<<<>>>>>Dyeing gave it life

View mpinjp's profile

mpinjp

11 posts in 1411 days


#6 posted 07-06-2014 10:19 PM

Hey Chris – that’s a nice looking machine. I hadn’t heard of Oliver before, but they have an impressive resume.
I am looking forward to reading your review of it when you post it.
I am currently in the market for a jointer, and so I was wondering where you got yours from, and if you would recommend whoever that was.

Thanks,
Myanna

-- Myanna, Boston http://www.myanna.com

View bons's profile

bons

27 posts in 727 days


#7 posted 08-14-2014 01:43 PM

Myanna—missed your post. Sorry. Cag Lumber in Gainesville, GA. It’s a wholesale lumber dealer in Gainsville, GA. Easy to do business with. Very happy with machine. Thx.

Chris

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase