LumberJocks

Fundamentals of Inlay: Stringing, Line & Berry DVD By Steve Latta

  • Advertise with us
Review by sandhill posted 05-18-2014 04:14 AM 2321 views 3 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Fundamentals of Inlay: Stringing, Line & Berry DVD  By Steve Latta No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I was really not going to buy the Tool kit but when it included the DVD by Steve Latta who actually was the one responsible for the development design with lie-Nielsen I decided to pull the trigger and invest in the kit. For me the DVD was worth the entire cost of the kit and the tools were the added bonus Steve spoke slow enough to leave time to grasp the topic and made each step clear. When explaining a new term he was easy to understand. Each section flowed seamlessly to the next and was laid out in a logical straight forward manner.

The DVD also contained a Glossary of terms that could be printed out for reference and a “Lay Out New York Leg Fixture” with pivot points also in pdf format.

At the end of the video Steve showed how to make your own stringing along with a table saw insert the safe way. He also covered how to sharpen each cutter which was a very important part. Over all I would give this DVD a 5 Stare rating do you a favor by adding this kit and DVD to your woodworking arsenal.




View sandhill's profile

sandhill

2128 posts in 2668 days



8 comments so far

View rustynails's profile

rustynails

485 posts in 1273 days


#1 posted 05-18-2014 02:11 PM

Bob thanks for the review. I to have found Steve’s DVD’s a great resource for information and an easy way to learn from a pro.
His one on making your own ornamental bandings is a great one too.

Richard

View helluvawreck's profile

helluvawreck

16033 posts in 1610 days


#2 posted 05-18-2014 02:24 PM

Thanks for the review, Bob. I’m going to check it out.

helluvawreck aka Charles
http://woodworkingexpo.wordpress.com

-- If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. Henry David Thoreau

View NH_Hermit's profile

NH_Hermit

391 posts in 1840 days


#3 posted 05-18-2014 04:20 PM

I also found his DVD very helpful and now add string inlays to almost all my furniture projects.

-- John from Horse Shoe

View Bigrock's profile

Bigrock

252 posts in 1706 days


#4 posted 05-19-2014 02:25 AM

Hi:
If you are of Fine Woodworking website, Steve just finished on building a Federal Table. The table has stringing, feet caps, as well as inlay. Yes, I like the way Steve speaks which makes it not as hard to do as you would think.

View emrhappy's profile

emrhappy

62 posts in 857 days


#5 posted 05-19-2014 12:51 PM

What kit and where’d you get it?

-- I cut that thing twice and it's still too short!

View sandhill's profile

sandhill

2128 posts in 2668 days


#6 posted 05-19-2014 02:33 PM

Lie-Nielsen Fundamentals of Inlay series
Brand: Lie-Nielsen | Category: DVDs
Check there
If you buy the “Kit” the DVD comes with it. Richard I will look at getting that DVD as well.
Your welcome everyone.

View emrhappy's profile

emrhappy

62 posts in 857 days


#7 posted 05-19-2014 02:53 PM

Thank you! Wow… that looks nice but 345.00.. put on the wish list.

-- I cut that thing twice and it's still too short!

View sandhill's profile

sandhill

2128 posts in 2668 days


#8 posted 05-19-2014 04:48 PM

It is a little pricy but I think it’s worth every penny. The tools are the highest quality but you maybe could buy the cutters or even make your own using an old band saw blade and make your own holder but it should be adjustable.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase