LumberJocks

Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc for 4 1/2" Grinder

  • Advertise with us
Review by Jim Jakosh posted 03-15-2014 03:20 AM 7752 views 3 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc  for 4 1/2" Grinder Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc  for 4 1/2" Grinder No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I had to carve 2” off the diameter of 4 1/2” pistachio tree that was 50” long and needed something to take off a lot of material without loading up or wearing out. So I tried one of the half donut shaped carving wheels from HF that has pieces of carbide embedded in it. I usually don’t like the cutting tools or sand paper from HF, but this carving wheel is one great abrasive tool. It cut all that wood away and is still sharp enough to do it again. I hate to say that I burned out a $10 HF angle grinder using it, but that would not hold up to work this wheel did. I finished the job with a Porter Cable angle grinder.

I also used it to carve some green mesquite wood and it loaded up the carbide after a while, but it was easily cleaned on a brass wire wheel and went back to some serious material removal.

I would highly recommend this $10 wheel !!

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!




View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19289 posts in 2886 days



11 comments so far

View Woodwrecker's profile

Woodwrecker

4071 posts in 3356 days


#1 posted 03-15-2014 03:43 AM

They have a few gems if you know what to watch for.
Thanks.

-- Eric, central Florida / Utor praemia operibus duris

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

6604 posts in 1823 days


#2 posted 03-15-2014 04:41 AM

I have seen these and wondered about their quality. Good to hear. So if I understand you correctly you had a 4 1/2’’ log and cut it down to a 2 1/2’’ log?

-- Dave, Downers Grove, Il. -------- When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams.

View Randy_ATX's profile

Randy_ATX

855 posts in 2222 days


#3 posted 03-15-2014 02:28 PM

Thanks Jim for taking the time to post this. Because of your review, I’m going to pick one up. I’ve been wanting to get into carving with my 4 1/2” Makita paddle grinder, and this is the perfect way to inexpensively test the waters.

-- Randy -- Austin, TX by way of Northwest (Woodville), OH

View luv2learn's profile

luv2learn

2648 posts in 2083 days


#4 posted 03-15-2014 04:21 PM

Hey Jim, FYI, that is the very same grinding wheel I used to take out the material when I built the rocking chair and the footstool. A friend of mine lent me his Holey Gallahad wheel that cost between $75-$85 but it didn’t perform any better than the HF wheel. I used the 4 1/2” 60, 80, & 120 grit HF flap wheels as a follow up.

-- Lee - Northern idaho~"If the women don't find you handsome, at least they ought to find you handy"~ Red Green

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

9917 posts in 3832 days


#5 posted 03-15-2014 05:36 PM

Very good, Jim!

That looks like it would be good for sculpturing Maloof chairs, seats, etc. WITHOUT a lot of fine dust displaced!

I will give it a try…

Thank you very much!

EDIT:
I went to HF, searched, searched, and SEARCHED… Could NOT find what you found.
Could you please provide the Item# and/or a Link to the product?

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View tefinn's profile

tefinn

1222 posts in 2217 days


#6 posted 03-15-2014 06:37 PM

Thanks for the review! I’ve been thinking of some projects with sculpted carving but the cost of the carving wheels has kept me from going ahead with it. For $10 I’ll give it a try.

Joe, here’s a link to the grinding wheel

-- Tom Finnigan - Measures? We don't need no stinking measures! - Hmm, maybe thats why my project pieces don't fit.

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

9917 posts in 3832 days


#7 posted 03-15-2014 07:20 PM

tefinn,

Thank you very much for the link… I wasn’t using the right words for the search! LOL
... sure makes a difference…!

Thanks again.

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View Roger's profile

Roger

20871 posts in 2584 days


#8 posted 03-16-2014 12:34 AM

Thnx for your review Jim. HF does have some diamonds in the ruff.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Keep your dust collector fed. Kentuk55@yahoo.com

View rrww's profile

rrww

263 posts in 1893 days


#9 posted 03-17-2014 09:28 PM

Thanks for this review – it will be nice to save the extra $60 over the brand name wheel.

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19289 posts in 2886 days


#10 posted 03-18-2014 08:29 PM

Glad to bee of help to you carvers out there.
Tom, thanks for the link right to Harbor Freight!!..................Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View WorksInTheory's profile

WorksInTheory

93 posts in 1382 days


#11 posted 03-25-2014 11:58 PM

Went to go buy it but can’t find it at all on the HF site. Any body have any luck?

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com