LumberJocks

Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc for 4 1/2" Grinder

  • Advertise with us
Review by Jim Jakosh posted 03-14-2014 at 08:20 PM 2144 views 4 times favorited 11 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc  for 4 1/2" Grinder Harbor Freight Carbide Faced Carving Disc  for 4 1/2" Grinder No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I had to carve 2” off the diameter of 4 1/2” pistachio tree that was 50” long and needed something to take off a lot of material without loading up or wearing out. So I tried one of the half donut shaped carving wheels from HF that has pieces of carbide embedded in it. I usually don’t like the cutting tools or sand paper from HF, but this carving wheel is one great abrasive tool. It cut all that wood away and is still sharp enough to do it again. I hate to say that I burned out a $10 HF angle grinder using it, but that would not hold up to work this wheel did. I finished the job with a Porter Cable angle grinder.

I also used it to carve some green mesquite wood and it loaded up the carbide after a while, but it was easily cleaned on a brass wire wheel and went back to some serious material removal.

I would highly recommend this $10 wheel !!

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!




View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

11341 posts in 1742 days



11 comments so far

View Woodwrecker's profile

Woodwrecker

3590 posts in 2212 days


#1 posted 03-14-2014 at 08:43 PM

They have a few gems if you know what to watch for.
Thanks.

-- Having fun...Eric

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

2410 posts in 680 days


#2 posted 03-14-2014 at 09:41 PM

I have seen these and wondered about their quality. Good to hear. So if I understand you correctly you had a 4 1/2’’ log and cut it down to a 2 1/2’’ log?

-- --Dave, Downers Grove, Il. When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams

View Randy_ATX's profile

Randy_ATX

673 posts in 1079 days


#3 posted 03-15-2014 at 07:28 AM

Thanks Jim for taking the time to post this. Because of your review, I’m going to pick one up. I’ve been wanting to get into carving with my 4 1/2” Makita paddle grinder, and this is the perfect way to inexpensively test the waters.

-- Randy -- Austin, TX by way of Northwest (Woodville), OH

View luv2learn's profile

luv2learn

1681 posts in 940 days


#4 posted 03-15-2014 at 09:21 AM

Hey Jim, FYI, that is the very same grinding wheel I used to take out the material when I built the rocking chair and the footstool. A friend of mine lent me his Holey Gallahad wheel that cost between $75-$85 but it didn’t perform any better than the HF wheel. I used the 4 1/2” 60, 80, & 120 grit HF flap wheels as a follow up.

-- Lee - Northern idaho~"If the women don't find you handsome, at least they ought to find you handy"~ Red Green

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7689 posts in 2689 days


#5 posted 03-15-2014 at 10:36 AM

Very good, Jim!

That looks like it would be good for sculpturing Maloof chairs, seats, etc. WITHOUT a lot of fine dust displaced!

I will give it a try…

Thank you very much!

EDIT:
I went to HF, searched, searched, and SEARCHED… Could NOT find what you found.
Could you please provide the Item# and/or a Link to the product?

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View tefinn's profile

tefinn

1207 posts in 1074 days


#6 posted 03-15-2014 at 11:37 AM

Thanks for the review! I’ve been thinking of some projects with sculpted carving but the cost of the carving wheels has kept me from going ahead with it. For $10 I’ll give it a try.

Joe, here’s a link to the grinding wheel

-- Tom Finnigan - Measures? We don't need no stinking measures! - Hmm, maybe thats why my project pieces don't fit.

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7689 posts in 2689 days


#7 posted 03-15-2014 at 12:20 PM

tefinn,

Thank you very much for the link… I wasn’t using the right words for the search! LOL
... sure makes a difference…!

Thanks again.

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View Roger's profile

Roger

14447 posts in 1441 days


#8 posted 03-15-2014 at 05:34 PM

Thnx for your review Jim. HF does have some diamonds in the ruff.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View rrww's profile

rrww

263 posts in 750 days


#9 posted 03-17-2014 at 02:28 PM

Thanks for this review – it will be nice to save the extra $60 over the brand name wheel.

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

11341 posts in 1742 days


#10 posted 03-18-2014 at 01:29 PM

Glad to bee of help to you carvers out there.
Tom, thanks for the link right to Harbor Freight!!..................Jim

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View WorksInTheory's profile

WorksInTheory

87 posts in 239 days


#11 posted 03-25-2014 at 04:58 PM

Went to go buy it but can’t find it at all on the HF site. Any body have any luck?

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase