LumberJocks

Best used Tool I ever purchased

  • Advertise with us
Review by steve posted 03-14-2014 10:43 PM 2715 views 0 times favorited 12 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Best used Tool I ever purchased Best used Tool I ever purchased Best used Tool I ever purchased Click the pictures to enlarge them

I got this Ryobi 1300 Planer 3 years ago…I took a shot at it for $100 used, but actually almost new…the owner passed away just after buying it, and his wife sold it to me, I would have given her more, but that’s all she wanted. I have the box, receipt, EVERYTHING!
I’ve had a Delta, and and an ole General…I gotta give this Ryobi the props though…and it is the ONLY Ryobi tool I own…I am not a big fan, but this older 1300 is a great design.

The lock is what does it justice…barely, if any, snipe…I was astonished.

It has performed stellar. I use it for everything. No issues, not one.

If you can find a 1300, give it a go…I was pleasantly surprised!

Chip/dust collection is superb (on a 4+” line) I did have to order new knobs for chute, they were lost… customer service (ordering knobs) – excellent
Snipe – nill to none
Power – more than enough – I run on it’s own circuit, but that’s just me, not necessary.
Noise – a bit noisy but tolerable
adjustments/repeat-ability – excellent
Tables – excellent/adjustable
Weight – not exactly light, but again tolerable
Knives – excellent, reversable, self setting, no effort at all
Reliability – ++++++ GREAT!

-- steve/USA




View steve's profile

steve

338 posts in 651 days



12 comments so far

View BoardSMITH's profile

BoardSMITH

85 posts in 921 days


#1 posted 03-14-2014 11:45 PM

Ryobi came out with the first portable surface planer, AP10, in the 90’s. They were almost indestructable.

-- David www.TheBoardSMITH.com

View jeff's profile (online now)

jeff

655 posts in 2123 days


#2 posted 03-15-2014 12:10 AM

glad you like it and thx for sharing…

-- Jeff,Tucson,Az.

View NormG's profile

NormG

4185 posts in 1662 days


#3 posted 03-15-2014 12:35 AM

Sounds like you are satisfied with your purchase and it has served you well

-- Norman

View cutworm's profile

cutworm

1064 posts in 1451 days


#4 posted 03-15-2014 12:47 AM

I had the Ryobi planer too. Good rugged machine. The one I had didn’t have infeed or outfeed tables – about the only area for improvement. Thanks for the post.

-- Steve - "Never Give Up"

View steve's profile

steve

338 posts in 651 days


#5 posted 03-15-2014 02:26 AM

that’s the 1301…w/o the tables it’s a struggle to get a “level” feed. But you can MAKE tables. GOOGLE it

-- steve/USA

View LyallAndSons's profile

LyallAndSons

53 posts in 1255 days


#6 posted 03-15-2014 04:56 AM

I still have the 1301 model I bought several years ago. I have to order knives online since Home Depot doesn’t stock them anymore but, other than that, its great. I have a 15 inch Delta so it doesn’t see a lot of work anymore but I’m sure it can handle almost anything I throw at it

-- Lyall & Sons Woodsmiths...Custom handcrafted woodwork since 1989

View patron's profile

patron

13034 posts in 1999 days


#7 posted 03-15-2014 02:39 PM

got both
the AP-10 (for job site work)
and the AP-1300 for the shop
both work super still
(got a 20” 4 knife grizlly too
with dispozablades)

having worked in many cab shops over the years
with different planers
(all with some glitches)

so long as i can find disposable knives for them
i’m good

the ‘stop’ lever on the Ap 1300
really comes in handy
when i need to make same thickness pieces
for later add-ons or repeatability

simple and reliable
good review

-- david - only thru kindness can this world be whole . If we don't succeed we run the risk of failure. Dan Quayle

View a1Jim's profile

a1Jim

112104 posts in 2235 days


#8 posted 03-15-2014 02:47 PM

Thanks for the review .

-- http://artisticwoodstudio.com Custom furniture

View dschlic1's profile

dschlic1

172 posts in 628 days


#9 posted 03-18-2014 05:22 PM

I purchase a used AP-12 planner. Just finished thickness planning about 12 yellow pine boards 40” x 8”. No snip, no problems and a smooth surface. Lots of chips on the floor through!

View steve's profile

steve

338 posts in 651 days


#10 posted 03-19-2014 12:16 AM

yup…I have a 4” DC hose, to a separator bucket, but get some chips out front as I am planing, still…I have to stay vigilant about the bed being clean b4 feeding, ha
thanx

-- steve/USA

View WoodyMO's profile

WoodyMO

5 posts in 866 days


#11 posted 04-17-2014 04:11 AM

Blades for the AP1301 are the same as the Ridgid TP1300

View Jim Finn's profile

Jim Finn

1678 posts in 1580 days


#12 posted 05-04-2014 01:11 PM

I had one of these that I liked. It did draw a lot of current when starting. Tripped the breaker a few times. Good cuts and lots of chips.I sold it when I moved. I should have kept it.

-- In God We Trust

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase