LumberJocks

Stanley Fat Max 15" handsaw - Fantastic!

  • Advertise with us
Review by Joe Lyddon posted 03-14-2014 01:05 AM 1979 views 0 times favorited 10 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Stanley Fat Max 15" handsaw - Fantastic! No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

I just received this saw, tried it out, and it cuts like a DREAM!

Easy start… cuts…. Very study blade… stays nice and straight.

Very comfortable hardwood handle with a nice rubber hand-hold. Super Nice!

One nice thing I just noticed, that I didn’t think was going to be there, the Handle-to-Blade at top is 90 so you can use it to draw a straight 90 line like a T Square.

At the bottom Handle-to-Blade is 45 so one can draw a 45 like a T Square.

I love it!

It has a nice hanging hole toward the end.

They are Ultra Sharp... I do NOT see this saw being sharpened… It is a disposable saw... When it ever gets dull (I don’t see how could), you just use the metal for something else and buy a NEW one!

They only cost about $15.
I included this with a few more items so I could get FREE Shipping, which was excellent USPS.

If you would like a COOL little 15” handsaw, I think you will LOVE this one!

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"




View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7718 posts in 2706 days



10 comments so far

View CharlesA's profile

CharlesA

1424 posts in 451 days


#1 posted 03-14-2014 02:41 AM

I agree with this review. Picked one of these up when I was away from home and needed a saw. I’ve started using it instead of “better” saws for some general cutting. The double teeth (whatever they’re called) are both very effective and, as you note, probably impossible to hand sharpen.

-- "Man is the only animal which devours his own, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor." ~Thomas Jefferson

View Rick M.'s profile

Rick M.

3961 posts in 1034 days


#2 posted 03-14-2014 05:35 AM

I have the older version before it was a “FatMax” and it is excellent for cutting laminate flooring, those hard little teeth just zip right through it, but once you get into anything much bigger it’s a slow job. They’ve probably improved them since mine.

-- |Statistics show that 100% of people bitten by a snake were close to it.|

View kooldecker's profile

kooldecker

28 posts in 222 days


#3 posted 03-14-2014 01:36 PM

I have had one of these for about 8 years now. I am hard on my regular saws. mine has cut everything from purpleheart for woodworking projects…....all the way to concrete formwork with dried concrete on them. cant say enough about it. its JUST finally showing signs of needing replacement and ill be getting another for sure!

-- " I dont understand......I cut that board AT LEAST 4 times and its STILL too short!"

View Grumpymike's profile

Grumpymike

1084 posts in 969 days


#4 posted 03-14-2014 05:37 PM

I think what I liked about this saw best is that it was sharp.
After using it for a couple of years, for everything in the world, it seemed to slow down a bit.
About then, I sent my Diston D-95 and the D-45 out for sharpening and was amazed at how they out performed the Fat Max.
So, off to the big box to replace the disposable Fat Max … Yep the new one works just like the way the old one used to … And now I can keep the “good” saws for good and the Fat Max for all the other stuff.

-- Grumpy old guy, and lookin' good Doin' it. ... Surprise Az.

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7718 posts in 2706 days


#5 posted 03-14-2014 06:20 PM

The next saw I want to get is the 14 inch Back Saw...

Probably the next time when building an order for Free Shipping :) LOL

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

View Brrman's profile

Brrman

59 posts in 1326 days


#6 posted 03-14-2014 07:20 PM

I have had this saw for a couple years now. It got some extensive use when I built my deck and then my backyard fence the following summer. Still ultra sharp. Love that little tool. My guess is I’ll get a couple more years out of it before it needs replacing.

-- "Being a perfectionist does not make one perfect..."

View Roger's profile

Roger

14566 posts in 1458 days


#7 posted 03-15-2014 12:37 AM

Thnx for your review Joe. A saw like this is always handy/dandy to have around.

-- Roger from KY. Work/Play/Travel Safe. Kentuk55@bellsouth.net

View Oldtool's profile

Oldtool

1824 posts in 844 days


#8 posted 03-15-2014 12:30 PM

Agree with all above, great saw for the money. I dedicate mine to breaking down & rough dimensioning lumber, cuts fast, but leaves a bit of tear out on the bottom side. Save wear and tear on the good saws though.

-- "I am a firm believer in the people. If given the truth, they can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The point is to bring them the real facts." - Abraham Lincoln

View CFrye's profile (online now)

CFrye

3044 posts in 494 days


#9 posted 03-15-2014 01:44 PM

Thanks for the review Joe! I keep this in the back of the Explorer to cut down 2×4’s etc to fit inside the vehicle during inclement weather. I did not realize the 90/45 degree part of the handle, great little tidbit. I am surprised it’s not on the packaging more prominently than it is (I finally found it-talk about fine print!).

-- God bless, Candy

View Joe Lyddon's profile

Joe Lyddon

7718 posts in 2706 days


#10 posted 03-15-2014 11:38 PM

Candy… I almost missed it too…
Very small print on the packaging…

To me, they’re missing the boat in NOT tooting their horn about such a cool feature!

-- Have Fun! Joe Lyddon - Alta Loma, CA USA - Home: http://www.WoodworkStuff.net ... My Small Gallery: http://www.ncwoodworker.net/pp/showgallery.php?ppuser=1389&cat=500"

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

GardenTenders.com :: gardening showcase